We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good points and Bad points” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Albatros

Save Saved
You added Hotel Albatros to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Albatros
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Madonna di Roselle 104, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good points and Bad points”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel was very nice, the rooms were very clean and very spacious. However, the rooms were very hot and the air conditioning wasn't working and a church bell chimes every 15-20 minutes which is as you can imagine, very irritating. The food was rather poor, there was an unappetising continental breakfast buffet and the evening meal was rather poor. But overall, It was a fairly nice and we all had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    30
    26
    18
    20
See reviews for
17
27
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

First of all this hotel in not in sorrento and therefore away from everything. The only way to get to sorrento is by taxi at 30 euros a time which is 60 euros return which becomes very costly if you go there every night. The hotel was tired and the rooms were dirty and most facilities didn't work. There was no air conditioning and if you are at the front of the hotel a clock chimes every 15 minutes that can become very annoying. The Guests at this hotel are 90% Italian and this is reflected upon in the food which is an awfully cooked continental buffet which wasn't very appetising. Overall I would reccommend staying in the centre of sorrento as you spend the extra money on taxi fares anyway I would not reccommend this hotel as it was not an enjoyable stay and the staff didn't do anything to change that

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend spent a lovely weekend in this hotel where we had a chance to Visit this lovely village, the room was clean and the service very good!! The hotel is located close to the beach and there are many bus stop direct to the centre of the town. The food was delicious and the personal was hospitable.
Definitely the perfect weekend ever!
We hope to go back there in summer time to join the village and the hotel with nice weather!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I were part of a group of +24 people that stayed at this hotel. Although Porter service was to be expected, it did not materialize. The gal at the front desk did not come away to speak to any of us or offer any assistance. There is one tiny elevator that could take two people and their luggage up at a time (at best). Needless to say that the check in process took easily over an hour. The staff at this hotel was MOST unwelcoming and at times rude. The room was okay but just okay, the location was not good, the pool was closed at 7 p.m. every day, the service was at best, grudgingly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtice Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

What can you say about this place. Ive been taught if you cant say anything nice, say nothing. Im ignoring that only to hopefully save someone else from this place. Firstly, its not in Sorrento. No shuttle to the city. Cab or public transit. The rooms were tired. Thank goodness ours at least had a balcony. No safe, no fridge, no restaurant. Ughh. What an ugly experience. This is not a 3 star hotel. Probably not even 2.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The rooms were okay but some where a lot better than others. I would recommend a room with a big window because I had a room that wasn't very satisfied, the floor was outdated and the hotel through out needs updating. I went with a school and after we ate we all from our seats and the manager all yelled us to be quiet all we were doing was going back to our rooms. The pool was okay, nice shop nearby and there's also a train station too. Its not 4* stars standard but decent for school trips.

I'd give it 3* stars.

Room Tip: Get a room with a good window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I've been taking large (48 students this year) A level Geography trips to this part of Italy for a number of years and this is definately the best hotel we've stayed in. A pleasant, relatively quiet (for Italy) location, although the coach has to go around the houses to get close; excellent rooms (spacious, clean and modern); very friendly and helpful staff, waiters and night porter; good student-style food (the pasta was particularly popular) although the packed lunches were not great - but we've had worse; the pool was excellent and perfectly clean with lots of space to relax around it; 15 min walk to the beach; lots of nice, friendly and safe cafes locally; no noisy groups of badly behaved students keeping everyone awake at night!! We had an excellent week and will definately be returning next June.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool and away from the road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albatros

Address: Via Madonna di Roselle 104, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Albatros 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers the most modern and functional facilities to ensure the quality of living for those who want a simple but elegant, intimate, quiet and family. Situated in a central location of the Sorrento Peninsula, just 3 km from Sorrento is the ideal place for those who want to combine a stay of sun and sea can also make excursions such as Capri, Pompeii, Amalfi Coast, etc.. The property may provide for the reservation of transfer from the airport to the hotel, and vice versa. The hotel Albatros in June has an agreement with the shuttle service that accompanies clients from the hotel to the beaches of Meta at a very advantageous ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Hotel Piano Di Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Albatros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.