We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Ripetta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Ripetta to your Saves list
La Ripetta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ripa di Cassano 4, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We took 21 students (aged 12-14) for a 5 day trip to visit the historic sites.
The hotel were pretty helpful, giving me walking directions to the train station and checking up on things for us.
There wasn't really a room that we could use for entertainment/group stuff, but outside our rooms there was some space and just above reception the mezzanine was pretty useful.
The beach is a trek down the hill, but was worth it to get them to run off their energy.
The ice cream shop opposite is fantastic, kids loved it!
Food at the hotel was pretty basic, but then we were on a school trip.
Rooms were generally clean, and cleaned daily.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    63
    27
    26
    31
See reviews for
18
92
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights with a group of 22 high school students during a 19 day tour of Italy. The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and the restaurant was wonderful. Everyone there treated us well and the kids loved it. The balcony is beautiful and the adults watched the sunset every night while enjoying a glass of wine. Street side rooms are definitely noisy - I had to use headphones! The location is great - beach is down the hill and downtown shopping isn't too far away. WIFI was 2 euro per day and not very good. The little pizza place next door has free WIFI that is excellent and the kids quickly began going next door for a pizza or Coke and getting their WIFI fix there!

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the street side rooms. The street noise is quite loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Pictures online make it look like there is a pool and jacuzzi but we never found either. get a seaside room, best view of anywhere in the world. street side overlooks bars and is exceptionally loud. staff very friendly. food in hotel delicious, carbs and decent dessert. ants in room a definite problem. took 37 american high school students there, perfect location to let them roam free at night unchaperoned for a few hours, mostly they get gelatto or go to the beach. Far enough from Sorrento center that they can't easiky get into "real" trouble.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We spent three nights in the hotel this June. The situation is beautiful - The terrace looks out over the Bay, and is a great place to sit and have dinner or a drink. There is a small beach right beside the hotel where people go swimming.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a family hotel and would be great if you are looking for somewhere to stay on a budget. On our last morning we asked for a taxi but one of the owners insisted on giving us a lift to the train.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone! I went there with a tour group and we got there at about midnight. The man at the front desk repeatedly shushed us even though we weren't being very loud at all. I never once saw any of the hotel staff smile or even be nice for that matter. Maybe it's because I am American and am in school studying Hotel Administration so I expect a lot from places I stay but this was the worst hotel experience I have ever had. Don't let the pictures online fool you - it looks NOTHING like that in person. The lobby and living room area are nice but other than that, it's horrible and cheap. The lights in our room didn't work so we told the guy at the front desk and he just kept saying "yes they do yes they do" and did absolutely nothing about it. Our room also had an ant infestation! I wish I knew his name but he's an older guy who is balding. Every staff member (all maybe 3 of them) seem like they genuinely hate their job. If you're going to be in the hospitality industry, you need to love people. Do not stay there! Lights in room didn't work, bathroom in the lobby didn't have toilet paper or hand soap, it's far from Sorrento, the staff is horrible, and you can basically count the springs in the bed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my school. The food was tasty but nothing special and everyday was the same meal: pasta with a plain sauce, chips and cheese and then dessert (cheap icecream). We had to pay for our packed lunches (£5 a meal) and it consisted of 2 stale sandwiches of plastic-like cheese, a small cake and a bottle of water, hardly worth it. One time, I found a dead fly in my sandwich, and another person found a hair.

The hotel does have some nice rooms, but only some of them. The rooms I received did not have any view and were dark. It only had two high windows which would have over looked a balcony, but didn't as it was barred off. The bath room was very small with no window meaning that if you wanted to have a shower, the condensation left everything damp. The beds weren't too uncomfortable. However, the room I was in was for 2 people, but the hotel had put in another 2 beds to make it for 4, giving us much less space.

The phone would ring as an alarm but it was not loud enough. We used our own phones and alarm clocks instead so luckily we always woke early enough - we were 4 girls who needed to have showers in the morning (rather a long process).

In our room, we did have a slight ant infestation, but once we told the hotel staff they came a long and sorted it out straight away. On the other hand, they didn't clean up the dead ants so they were left there.

The hotel did have a spa and pool but we were told that we could not use it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here as a group of students, and it was everything you would expect from a relatively cheap hotel.
The beds were quite hard, and the sheets weren't enough to keep us warm, however we used the duvets in the wardrobe, which was fine!
Our room was on the front street, so was a little loud in the morning at rush hour, but was otherwise alright.
The location was great, it was only a short walk into the walk to the railway that can take you anywhere you want if you're after seeing the sights!
Would definitely come again, was generally very friendly and welcoming. The staff were proficient in English, (As ignorant tourists we know little Italian!) and were willing to help with anything.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Ripetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ripetta

Address: Via Ripa di Cassano 4, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Ripetta 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Ripetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ripetta Hotel Piano Di Sorrento
La Ripetta Piano Di Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Ripetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.