We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy restaurant with kind staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Ripetta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Ripetta to your Saves list
La Ripetta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ripa di Cassano 4, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Cosy restaurant with kind staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at Ripetta restaurant for a dinner, so I cannot comment the hotel.

Four of us all had fried starters and a pizza, fish first dishes, and in four we had two second dishes. We also had two deserts.
The starters were very tasty, as were the first dishes, but what was amazing was the sausage and fried potatoes – the sausage was not heavy and not too greasy, while the potatoes were a revelation, as they were freshly made and not a frozen product.
We had a few liters of water, and paid a bit over 100 EUR total.
The restaurant boasts spectacular views over the bay of Sorrento. It is a family run place, with kind and knowledgeable waiters, definitely worth a second visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    63
    27
    26
    31
See reviews for
18
92
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I went to Sorrento on a school trip, so I didnt see much of the hotel, but the rooms were spacious, and reasonably comfy. There was some noise at night but it hardley bothered me and my room mates. The balcony at the top of the hotel had an amazing view and was very relaxing. The rooms were clean and the lunches and dinners were amazing!! And delicious!!! The breakfasts werent the best, but they were certainly decent enough. The staff were very helpful and very friendly. It was a very enjoyable holiday!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiryat Tivon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Great value for money , if your with car then its location , that is a bit far from the center is irrelevant , we got great tips for restaurants , where to park and what to see from the lovely receptionist.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

1. The hotel is located on the rock above the Piano di Sorrento beach and gives you amazing view on the Sorrento bay (especially in the evening). If you want hotel from the same kind in Sorrento you will have to spend two-three times more money then here.
2. The personnel of the hotel is very kind and responded to any our requires.
3. Due to our poor Italian we parked our car on one of the close to hotel streets and didn't notice that there is a market each Monday morning. Eventually we came on Monday morning and found a market and no evidence of our car! We rushed back to the hotel to see what happened to our car!! Hotel personnel helped us to find the car and to arrange all beaurocratic procedures and even took us with one of the workers car to the police station. Lets say if we weren't getting help from the hotel it could have took all the day long to get our car back. In this case it took 2h (including 30 minutes in police station) and 100 euro.
4. Hotel has a very easy breakfast. It was a bit strange in the beginning, because we are usual for very massive breakfast in European and Israeli hotel. But eventually it was OK and we didn't suffer from starving :-) And most important - we came back home with the same weight!
5. The only low light I can recall is the bad - it was not so comfortable for us. May be because we have orthopedic mattresses at our home.

To summarize the review - we got and excellent vacation and hotel was excellent per the money we paid for.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

This was a school trip. 11 year old kids and several staff members.

Accommodation was basic but fine. Rooms at the front of the hotel were horrendously noisy and rooms at the back were peaceful and had sea views.

Basement rooms were not pleasant because we had to have the windows shut for safety reasons. They were like saunas.

There is no airconditioning. In June this was an issue...I dread to think what it will be like in July/August.

However, the rooms were large and clean. The hotel was able to accommodate the school group successfully.

Staff were friendly and approachable.

Breakfast, dinner and packed lunch were basic but fine. Simple but palatable. There is a bar and a pizza service later at night which was nice.

The hotel is on a busy road which can be challenging with school groups but it was handy for the little beach and was about 10 mins from the train station to get the train into Sorrento proper.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st floor + at the back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford Essex
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Like some others of your contributors, I was at La Ripetta with a school group.
The staff were helpful and friendly, and the dining rooms had good views of the bay. Some of the bedrooms, too, though some looked onto a road.
There are a couple of bars and small shops near the hotel, but the town is a good 15 minutes' walk away.
It makes no claims to be a luxury hotel, and the breakfast, as least for us, was meagre, but nontethless I felt we had good value, and would return alone, just for the view.

Room Tip: Insist on a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

The rooms were infested with swarms of ants, the floors were as dirty as the streets, the beds were like sleeping on a pavement, the pillows were like resting your head on rocks, there was very limited hot water for showers and the rooms were very cold. When you woke up it felt like you was in a freezer and was on the brink of getting frost bite. Not very nice at all.

When informing the manager it was possible to mistake him as a tramp and was dressed like someone who was homeless. He issued a brush to deal with the ants and along with some ant killer. He made no effort to take a look at the situation and quite clearly didn’t care.

The manager did nothing but moan. He was badly mannered and nothing but annoying. Downstairs was a seating area with sofas but if you were to use them you must remain in dead silent as if you were at a funeral or he would start complaining and say there was a charge for excess noise.

In terms of meals it was shocking. Breakfast was just bread rolls and a drink which was hardly going to fill you up especially when the manager limited it to 2 per person. The evening meal wasn’t much better. The menu was fixed and you had no choice it was a starter and a main meal so if you didn’t like it you had to starve. Additionally everything was served drowned in olive oil which made it very greasy and sickly.

Upstairs where the owners of the hotel lived, there was constant noise and along with this the traffic outside was horrendous. Anyone would think there was a football match on with bobozela horns going off. All of this made it very difficult to sleep as you were constantly been disturbed.

I’m sure there must be much nicer hotels in their area where you get better value and services. Visit at your own risk.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Ripetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ripetta

Address: Via Ripa di Cassano 4, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Ripetta 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Ripetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ripetta Hotel Piano Di Sorrento
La Ripetta Piano Di Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Ripetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.