We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming family-run hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colli San Pietro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Colli San Pietro to your Saves list
Hotel Colli San Pietro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Meta Amalfi 84, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming family-run hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This appears to be a family-run business, and we were definitely treated like family for the duration of our short stay.

The owner was the kindest, most accommodating man -- really went out of his way to make sure we were taken care of. We arrived after a very long travel day, starving, and the kitchen was closed. Even though the kitchen was closed, he had the cook prepare some food for us. I so appreciated the gesture. We also partook in the prix fixe dinner that evening (4 courses and wine for 15 euro pp) -- such a great deal. Food was great, obviously prepared with love. Breakfast was also amazing, and included in price of room. The room was clean and exactly as pictured. Really enjoyed our stay.

We took the SITA bus from Sorrento and the bus stop is right across the street from the hotel. We caught a bus the next morning to Positano. It's a little isolated for an extended stay, but a great little stopover spot if you're en route to the Amalfi Coast. Very affordable for the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColliSanPietro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colli San Pietro, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear StephCash,
thank you very much for sharing publicly your feelings about our Hotel.

We really appreciate when our guests understand the way we try (and strive sometime) to make their stay most comfortable and warm as possible, like they would be at their own homes with their own family, which is one of the daily reasons of our work.

Colli San Pietro lies on the hills around Sorrento with the pros and cons of the place which everyone can evaluate, depending on the personal preferences.

As you said the bus station of the line from Sorrento to Amalfi is just in front of the Hotel and can conveniently be used in place of a car. A good alternative is a scooter or an electrical bike by which you can reach everywhere around anytime.

We hope to see you again sometime on the Amalfi Coast and send you our warmest "thank you"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    32
    17
    2
    8
See reviews for
19
40
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Me and my girlfriend have just recently returned from a week stay here and it's safe to stay if was a very 'interesting' experience. First of all I want to say that we do not stay in 5 star hotels every single time when we travel but there are just some standards you come to expect from hotels, these expectations were not met by this hotel. For example, the day we arrived the front door to the hotel was locked and there was no one about to greet us, which I don't understand why as the hotel must of been aware we were arriving on that date and at that time as it's all on a computer system... ANYWAY I continue, we must of waited outside for a good half an hour, there was a phone number on the door which is assume you were meant to ring if the door was locked, this phone number didn't work so that was a waste of time, secondly there was a door bell which we must of rang a good 10 times, still no answer. When the manager finally answered (I assume he was the manager) he checked us in and showed us to the room, the room it's self was the wrong room for a start and it had two single beds when we had asked for a double and it had no safe at all and when I asked the manager if we could change rooms he told me 'You don't need a safe, nothing will happen' but still thats not the point who would want to leave all their money and passports out in the open... when we finally got a new room (with the correct sleeping arrangement and a safe) it was lovely, the view was incredible and the room was spotless and to top it off their was maid service everyday which was great. On the subject of the staff, I don't actually know what their official job titles were for example, sometimes the women who was the maid would be cooking dinner in the restaurant, a women who would sometimes work the front desk would be in the bar and also serving food in the restaurant and finally the man who I thought to be the manager would just stand around and watch you eat waiting to take your plates and if you didnt eat all the food he served you he would remark that you didn't like the food which was just incredibly awkward. Also the language barrier was incredibly awkward to overcome, don't get me wrong I understand we are in Italy and the people working will be fluent in Italian but if they are running a business that would accommodate all types of nationalities you would expect them to be able to speak a little bit of English but alas, I found myself on several times having to communicate though Google translate (Google translate you've got to be kidding right?) which was just ridiculous and another time the man who I assume is the manager made me speak to his wife on the phone because apparently she could speak English, no, no she could not. I've seen a lot of people on here talking about a 'Bus station' directly outside the hotel this is a total lie, there is a few bus stops located outside and they are no use nor ornament, you'll be lucky if you see 1 bus every 2 hours and you'll be lucky to actually get on it since all the buses are crowded beyond belief, overall I would never return to this hotel it's just totally different from any hotel that either of us have experienced before, I just don't understand what it was trying to achieve.

Room Tip: IF you do stay at this hotel and its a BIG if, make sure you get a room overlooking the hills as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColliSanPietro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colli San Pietro, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear BarrackOb,
in spite of your very young age and your appearance as a quite and somehow scared person, in need of a guiding hand, it seems you feel very strong on the web by choosing an interesting name and conveying messages as you were very expert on how to manage hotels.

We are happy you said you had an interesting experience at our Hotel and we hope this has been for you the first in our Country with more to come, so that you might sooner or later understand our way and be able to communicate in a more efficient way by being able to have yourself understood without a Google translator and fogetting about language barriers.
For sure our personnel could speak a better English, but so far we rarely had communication problems with our guests and as you can see we can very well answer your review :-)

Despite your stay of one week, we are sorry to inform you that the bus station is definitely in front of our Hotel and, as written on our website, is a bus stop ON REQUEST as often can happen to extra-urban line buses all over the world.
Buses in both directions (Positano-Amalfi or Sorrento) stop there and our Manager took the time to go there with you and explain where and how it stopped, as it is very simple once you get to know where to stand and how to stop it.

It seems very strange to us that you found a closed door at your arrival as the Hotel is usually open 16 hours a day and we close the doors only during the night, reason why the phone number is there, for those people who come in at night. We can assure that the phone number shown there is correct (otherwise it would not make sense to hang it there), but you might have not dialed the Italian prefix +39 or had a SIM card not allowing calls to Italy at the moment of your arrival. It also seems strange to us that there was nobody noticing you on site as we never had this experience with anyone before.

About your room, reason why you got a twin room instead of a double room was your booking by Kuoni had this statement on it and we did exactly as requested on your reservation. As you saw, however we flexibly could adapt to your change of mind and provided a double room also being able to provide one with a safe, as you explicitely asked for it.
Not all our rooms have a safe and as the Manager explained to you, there is actually not a real need for a safe in our area but you got an upgrade to a room with view and safe, what was not exactly what you booked and paid for, but it made you happy.

As I commented to your girlfriend's review, our Manager was very much concerned about your well being at the Hotel during your stay and tried also to prepare the dishes you might better like, therefore trying to understand if you liked those you had or not.

Usually our staff loves taking care of its guests and is very happy when they are happy about their services, as a Hotel Staff and Manager should be as they are there for their guests.
Our guest's happiness during their stay is the target we are trying to achieve, but it seems we were not so succesfull with you both.

We keep hoping you will sooner or later have a great memory of your stay on the Amalfi Coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend have just returned from a weeks stay here and we can honestly say there were good and bad points about this hotel. The staff were friendly and attentive although there is a language barrier but there aren't enough of them and were never around, we found they'd try to be in the bar, restaurant and lobby all at once or they'd just be sat outside doing nothing, on several occasions the main door would be locked and we couldn't get into the hotel. The food in the hotel was very traditional but never what you have in mind and the breakfast was all over the place and average. The rooms were clean with a comfy bed and maid service every day. They can also help with excursions if you'd like to go anywhere because buses are extremely irregular and you're lucky if you could even get on one. The view is absolutely amazing if you're at the back of the hotel facing the hills. The hotel was very loud at night, as expected, but we were woken up several times by people screaming and shouting at the top of their voices leaving us rather scared. Finally this hotel is VERY out of the way, there is nothing for miles besides a small shop at the end of the road which was a god send, don't bother trying to go anywhere on foot. Also there is no bus station, there are a few bus stops and the buses don't even stop there they stop anywhere in the road! When we went to check out there was no one there as usual. A decent hotel but probably wouldn't stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColliSanPietro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colli San Pietro, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Effy,
reading your review it seems you have been in a witched hotel, which seems quite unusual for us, who live there :-)

You and your boyfriend, of a very young age, seemed to be very lost at arrival and during your stay around Sorrento. The Manager tried to help as best as he could, taking you for example to the bus station and showing you exactly which bus to take and where (by the way, the bus at that time stopped exactly in front of you and the driver kindly asked you if you wanted to go to Positano, although the stop is on request).
Although the area is outside the city centre you can have very beautiful walks on foot, as we are near to one of the "God's path" accesses and one could for example walk to Positano although you would need hiking shoes to do that.

Besides the various helping hands he offered as he saw you going around without knowing where and what to do, the Manager also tried to help you in proposing places you could go to and excursions to do during your stay as it seemed you were traveling without a target and any idea of what you could visit in our rich area, where shopping in Positano is only one of the hundred things you would do.
Finally you ended up booking a transfer from an agency without asking if we could arrange that and spending a lot more money you could have saved just by asking information at the Reception.

Our Hotel is quite a small one (around 20 rooms) and is a family run Hotel, therefore the personnel is in many cases from the family and has to work very flexibly to make guests happy. Unfortunately, it appears you have not understood that during your week's stay at our Hotel, what a pity!

About the food, our menu features Mediterranean dishes, not really what you can define "traditional", but very local and fresh, mainly based on local vegetables and fish.
Of course for customers like you, considering the age and the fact that you come from England, we also proposed "Bolognese" or "Carbonara" which are traditional Italian dishes.
It would have been nice to know what you had in mind to eat and if you would have communicated this to us during your lunch or dinner, we could have prepared for you what you desired with our usual love, as other guests noted in their reviews.

Concerning the loudness of the place, actually it is located in a quite place and you even got an upgrade to a comfort room on the second floor (at no expense for you) with view to the hills and the sea which is the quitest side of the Hotel, therefore we cannot believe it was loud in general. Imagine you would have been in Sorrento city centre, then the noise would have been very different!
What happened during your stay was a first time case for us, i.e. two customers (just arrived) in a nearby room had a loud broil during one night. When the Manager was called from the nearby rooms, he immediately stopped the two customers and had one of them leave the Hotel for the relief of the remaining guests. Luckily for you they did not return, therefore the next night you shouldn't have felt scared anymore.

Concerning the doors it seems strange that they were locked several times during your stay. We wonder what door in your view was the main door, as we usually close the Bar door at the ground floor during some hours in the early afternoon, as any Bar would, but for sure not the Hotel Entrance which is open at least 16hours a day as the Italian law forsees for 3 star Hotels.

Should you be around for a next trip to Italy, we hope you get a better communication channel with the Hotel staff you will meet after this experience.

Kind regards from the Amalfi Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We have just returned from a 4 day stay at the Hotel Colli San Pietro. I would recommend this hotel, it was very clean and our room had an amazing view over the hills. The staff were excellent and most helpful. The hotel is situated right near the bus stop which we used regularly. All I would say is don't plan a big trip on a Sunday as the bus timetable is limited. There is an excellent outdoor pool just up the road, brilliant for a day out, and the road leading up there was brilliant, beautiful villas and vineyards not to be missed.

Our room was lovely and airy and the bathroom was first class. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they were excellent.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel if you would like a nice quiet location with good nearby transport.

Room Tip: I would recommend a sea view as the other side is on the side of a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRManagerCSP, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colli San Pietro, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your kind review about your stay at our Hotel.

We are very happy you had a great time here in the relaxing area of Piano di Sorrento and hope to have the possibility to see you again as a guest on the Amalfi Coast . May be in the meantime the bus service on sundays will become more reliable, but this unfortunately cannot depend on us, we can only help pushing for it to improve....

Greetings from Italy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The location is good because you can easily go to Sorrento, Positano or Amalfi. The room was nice and clean, but near the road so it was a little bit noisy. You can park your car along this road. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was excellent. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRManagerCSP, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colli San Pietro, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thanks a lot for recommending our Hotel publicly via this channel.

We hope to be able to host you as a guest another time in one of our comfort rooms located on the opposite side off the road.

Happy Summertime from the Amalfi Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Nothing like being treated like family by a local when you travel!
Great value and convenient central location; talk to the staff to get the tips on how to visit all the beautiful spots nearby.
Beautiful view, amazing food, the best service!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRManagerCSP, Direttore at Hotel Colli San Pietro, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hello Ursula,
thank you very much for your appreciation. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Colli San Pietro and appreciated the family atmosphere you found.
We hope to be able to host you again in future and wish you all the best!

Hasta otra
Tonino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We do recommend Hotel Colli San Pietro! It has very nice view over Piano di Sorrento as well as the gulf of Naples. Moreover, it is located in quiet area on the top of hill. The owner and the staff were very friendly and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over Piano di Sorrento.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRManagerCSP, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colli San Pietro, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and hope to welcome you again soon on the Amalfi Coast.

Kind regards
from Sorrento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Colli San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colli San Pietro

Address: Via Meta Amalfi 84, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colli San Pietro 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colli San Pietro is located on the hills surrounding the town of Sorrento, along the way to Positano, just a few steps away from one of the most renowned Italian UNESCO heritage sites: the Amalfi Coast. We are precisely midway between Positano, the Amalfi coast pearl, and Sorrento, the sunny harbor town from where you can board the ferry or hydrofoil towards the islands of Capri and Ischia.Completely refurbished and elegantly furnished, this small family run Hotel offers the possibility of a relaxing stay, out of the traffic of the coastal towns and fully immersed in the green hills of the Sorrento peninsula. From the solarium-roof terrace you can overlook the two gulfs: southwards, towards the open sea of the Gulf of Salerno and westwards towards the Gulf of Naples, with the imposing profile of the Vesuvius.The 25 rooms of the hotel are fitted with the main comforts: Air Conditioning and heating, LCD TV, safe and en-suite bathroom with shower. The Hotel features a Bar service with an open air garden and a Restaurant with an excellent local cuisine made by genuine produces.This friendly Hotel is located in front of the bus station on the line between Meta and Amalfi by which you can easily reach all places of the Amalfi Coast and the Circumvesuviana Railway in direction of Pompei, Ercolano and Naples. If you love hiking you might enjoy starting your day directly out of the Hotel on the trails leading you on the Monti Lattari (Lattari Mountains).Furthermore, we offer a competent travel office within the hotel that can help you organizing and booking excursions, guides, transfers, events or night activities, boat trips and whatelse you would like to do or would like us to suggest you to do during your sunny holidays on the two gulfs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Colli San Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colli San Pietro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.