We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting traditional hotel !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Resort to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nastro Azzurro 20, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
STAFFS UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
373 helpful votes 373 helpful votes
“Enchanting traditional hotel !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Review of this wonderful hotel.
To be informative and not repeat everything others have said, we stayed in the main hotel and had a massive balcony in room 520 which was underneath the main outdoor terrace so could pick up the free WiFi whilst sitting outside on our terrace.
An advantage of being in the main hotel was that we were close to the restaurant, reception and bar and so we could go to the bar and take drinks down to our room so always had a stash of drinks in our fridge !
There is a kettle and cups coffee and tea etc if you need extra milk just ask for a glass from the bar.
We were late arriving at the hotel but there was wonderful platter of antipasti and 2 bottles of wine waiting for us in the dining room which we were asked to go straight in and eat whilst the cases were delivered to the room. Wonderful bread !
The room was perfectly fine- beautifully maintained- only problem was the shower over the bath which was positively lethal. There is nothing to hold onto and the glass screen is fixed to the bath so to get a good shower you either flood the bathroom or risk slipping over. The hotel would benefit from taking out the baths and replacing with double shower cubicles. Selection of soap and toiletries were provided. Bed had amazingly soft duvet and linens – couldn’t fault but had to request more pillows. Mood lighting is an excellent addition !
The room has loads of storage- BUT Coathangers were a nightmare ! We didn’t expect a concoction of what other clients have left behind ?? If you want trouser hangers or dress hangers that actually serve their purpose – take your own !!! Might sound trivial but expected better !
The bar service was generally good however the waiters serving the terrace didn’t show quite as much initiative as the ones in the dining room or the pool bar ! We often waited at night and in the end would go and get our own drinks from the bar which was quicker !
If you want named spirits eg Ballantines, Bacardi etc then you need to order by name. The sparkling wine (which is all I drink), I was quite worried about, but once there, realised that they actually serve Spumante ( like Asti and very sweet ) and Prosecco Brut (Dry) . If you prefer Prosecco ask for it by name otherwise you will get the sweet cheaper stuff !
Disadvantage of Terrace/ Verandah area is the smoking as when they pull down the blinds to stop the breeze, all the smoke form the smoking area is trapped inside and not pleasant is you don’t smoke!
At meal times you are given the entire bottle of white, rose, red or spumante. Prosecco you only get by the glass. If you drink different wines that doesn’t matter you are given 2 bottles !
The food as many others have said is to die for- enough said - my husband put on a stone in 10 days You are forewarned !!! Food is amazing.
Possibly the worst meal is breakfast as hot food wasn’t particularly warm. Minor hiccup. They do serve bacon, beans, eggs a type of sausage, mushrooms etc but when they are luke warm they are not nice. Also they only have tiny side plates which makes eating hot food quite difficult !
As a Coffee addict- I was very disappointed – at breakfast it was like Mud - No ground or equivalent - Had to drink tea !
If you need a packed lunch just pre order the night before from reception and collect from the dining room in the morning – We had the Best Mozzarella Cheese Tomato and Pesto rolls I have ever had ! You get a carton of juice and bottles of water included as well with some fruit.
The staff at this hotel make it what it is – the Maitre D and ‘El Capitano’ kissing the ladies hands and welcoming everybody into dinner reminds you of a bygone age where manners and decorum reigned ! It was lovely to be served, have my chair pulled out and sit down to a beautifully presented table.
The specialty evenings were wonderful- the hotel encourages you to join in the themes – Black & White Film Night, RED Carpet night and Italian Night ( Orange, Red and Yellow clothes requested ). Take Long dresses and high heels and ‘ Glam Up Girls ‘- you rarely get chance to do this in the UK nowadays ! I’ve never taken so many clothes on a holiday but by jove, I wore them all !!!
You are presented with fresh flowers, and the photographer takes loads of pictures and you have a choice on all courses including a Pasta course that is wonderful.

The entertainment is now provided by Ellie and Harry otherwise known as ‘Switch Duo ‘ – look them up on ‘YouTube’ ! This couple of extremely talented young musicians we were fortunate to see in Benalmadena earlier in the summer at the Riviera Hotel. Ellie has the most amazing voice and together with Harry’s pianist skills were absolutely superb. Without them at this hotel the evenings would not have been so wonderfully relaxing.

The walk up to the pool from the main hotel is about 10 minutes and quite steep so take your time and take care. We found the safest route although longer, was down the side of the drive past the tennis courts and then up 2 flights of steps.

As others have said, sunbeds cannot be reserved til 9am this wasn’t a problem as there were so many people going on trips every day, there always seemed to be sufficient around. My Biggest complaint was the pool temperature. I am quite a hardy swimmer and on my holidays I normally swim a great deal but even I had to give up one day, as I was literally frozen stiff. Such a shame as many people wanted to use the jacuzzis in the pool but couldn’t. There were 3 hot Jacuzzis in the wooded area under cover but that rather defeated the point of being in Italy in the sun??

The lunches served outside are also exceptional- massive choice and wonderful desserts and fruit.Loads of choice and of course the hand made pizzas which you could choose your ingredients if you wished and he would make them to order including Calzone ones.
Disappointment – they only served the ice cream at the lunch time not all afternoon. I would have liked to have seen them serve it all day. There is a big tub which they fill up with bottles of water in ice which you can help yourself to all day.

The sunset bar is at the top of the annexe which is a few minutes walk from the main hotel. There is a lift up and the views are truly fantastic Worth going up but take a camera and a light jacket in October as it can get cool.

We did a couple of trips the Select Herculaneum and Pompeii trip for smaller group- this is hard day walking all day and you don’t get back till 5 pm ish. Don’t book a packed lunch for this as the light lunch that is provided was a 3 course lunch of pasta and pizza (Not so light !!) in a restaurant right next to Pompeii Extremely clean with toilets where they ask for money to use them !!!

The other trip we did was the day trip to Capri and AnaCapri – this was a long and hard daytrip and we didn’t get back till after 715pm . You do need a packed lunch for this trip- the ferry was crammed with people there and back and it was so busy ! Got the funicular up to Capri Town which was an experience and the views were amazing. Very expensive 1 Peroni and 1 Lemon soda 14 euros but well worth the experience ! Shops are nearly all designer so take a fat wallet !!
You can take the cable car up to the top and you are left to wander round the shops if you wish. Best Hazel Nut ice cream was here ! The return journey back to the harbour was by mini bus but waiting for the return ferry was quite daunting with everyone pushing you trying to get to board the boat. This was a tiring day but well worth it .

To sum up, We had a lovely holiday but the hotel is way out of the way of civilisation – if you wanted to go to Sorrento you had to book the mini bus the previous day which we thought was too restrictive on holiday . If you need Cigarettes or Cigars etc take them with you as the hotel do sell Marlborough at 7.50 eu a packet but there is nowhere close by to buy anything. There is a small shop in the middle of the woods at the hotel selling toiletries, clothes, sandals and basics but that is all. Take everything you are likely to need with you !
There are loads of biting insects- take insect repellent and use it at all times even by the pool in the day I was bitten !

The transfer back to the airport was on a Monday morning we were picked up at 0630 and didn’t get to the airport until around 0900. The Journey was awful, stuck in traffic trying to get into Naples. It took us longer to get to the airport than it did to fly back to Birmingham !
As much as this was an amazing hotel, the transfer has completely put us off from returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    182
    53
    24
    15
See reviews for
31
897
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed 30/9 - 4/10 and had lovely relaxing time. Booked superior room with sea view which was on second floor of annexe, not overly big but wonderful views seaward and into the hills on the side. Lovely to wake up watching the sunrise when the weather was good or the clouds floating across the valley when not so good. All inclusive good value with good food and plenty to drink. The staff on reception, in the restaurant and bar were all excellent and made this hotel a pleasure to stay in. The occasion nights were well planned and enjoyable with entertainment provided by in house duo who accompanied themselves with keyboard and saxophone plus a varied repertoire beautifully performed. The grounds are landscaped with lots of steps which was ok for us but may be challenging for those less able. The courtesy bus provided good access into Sorrento but it was always good to return to the calm of the hotel setting from the bustle of busy streets. (Towels in room poor quality so did change them every day.) Overall a good holiday with lots of personal service making up for any little shortcomings.

Room Tip: Our first stay was in standard room in main building with no balcony at back of hotel with no view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have just returned from our honeymoon in Sorrento. We had a wonderful stay in this hotel. The place is beautiful (hotel and views), the staff extremely attentive and friendly, the food lovely, the pool wonderful and the accommodation excellent. It really seemed to be honeymoon/wedding hotel - we saw lots of other honeymoon couples while we were there and 3 weddings within the fortnight. Aside from the usual lovely evenings with food and music, they had 2 theme nights each week when we were there with a decorated dining room, the staff dressed up and specially chosen foods and drinks. Very enjoyable.
The local area was good to explore and beautiful to look at - we visited Sorrento town a few times and had a couple of meals down there which we really enjoyed, and did the trips to Capri, Pompeii, Herculaneum and Vesuvius. We would recommend them all. Be prepared for the trek to the top of Vesuvius though - it is not for the faint hearted!
The only things we felt slightly negative about were the location of the hotel (virtually on top of the cliff and so we were unable to just pop out for a walk due to the busy, narrow roads that led down to the town - it was also too far to walk to Sorrento...) - the hotel does run a courtesy bus down to Sorrento due to this though which was fine, although it is run at set times and not just all day. The other thing was the upgrade that we paid for when we booked the holiday - we weren't disappointed with the hotel, or our room, but we wonder if the upgrade was worth it or if we would have been just as well leaving it as a "normal" booking... We were £700 for the fortnight for both of us and received a room in the annex for this. It was lovely but we felt the room was a little small for an upgrade. We did have a huge balcony though. We did have a coffee machine and a DVD player also but that was about it and the DVDs from reception are copies and so not good quality. We also heard some people while we were there who had paid for an upgrade and ended up in the main hotel regardless as the place was fully booked - we wouldn't have been very happy paying extra for nothing!
Anyway, overall, it was wonderful and we are sure anyone else would thoroughly enjoy their stay also :O)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in June 2013. Picked from trip advisor. Very friendly staff and room lovely. Booked via thomson who were ok but a bit cheesy for us as a tour company. Hotel had lot of older guests I would say in the fifty plus age group when we stayed which could put some younger folk off. Excellent shuttle bus service into Sorrento which proved invaluable which does have to be booked at the hotel in advance. Buses are prompt too so make sure you are on time. Overall I would recommend this hotel, good food all inclusive, lovely gardens, great room.

Room Tip: Partial sea view is barely a view. Stay in main block
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 27/9 to 4/10 and had very high expectations based on previous reviews and recommendations. Rooms weren't ready when we arrived so we were a bit disappointed as we had been on the go since 2am and wanted to freshen up. Lunch at the pool was lovely and Angelo and Carmine were very friendly and made us feel welcome. we had booked a superior garden view room so disappointed to find the 'garden' to be a large maintenance building camouflaged (unsuccessfully) by some potted plants. As we had spent a significant sum on our holiday, a full year ago, we decided to speak to reception to see if we could get a better garden view room. Whilst both the receptionist, and the Thomson rep were not exactly unpleasant or unprofessional, there
was a sense that they weren't best pleased that we had dared to question the location of our room.
Room was a decent size and very clean. Maid was lovely and lots of lovely towel arrangements!! We had come to Sorrento to get a taste of italy, so were disappointed with quality of coffee and wine and felt the hotel has really missed a trick here. As has been mentioned before, pool sunbeds and towels tired and in need of replacement. Food good, bar, reception and restaurant areas excellent bar and restaurant staff excellent. Resident band were really good. Would agree with lots of reviews regarding the description of the hotel as a couples hotel. The brochure describes the
hotel as a place for couples to get away from it all, but whilst we were there a group of 16 women arrived (enough said!) and there were also 3 wedding groups with lots of family members who took over the restaurant and bar areas, so perhaps time to rebadge as just a 4 star hotel. The hotel needs some TLC and a review of the quality of beverages/toilet rolls/towels to maintain its 4 star status.

Room Tip: View from garden rooms not stunning but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at the Grand Hotel Nastro Azzuro for a week during mid September 2013.
We had read all the reviews and were really hoping that the hotel lived up to our expectations and I can honestly say not only did it live up to our expectations, it exceeded them. Without a shadow of a doubt that this is the best hotel we have ever stayed in, and the staff and service are second to none.
From the moment you walk into the hotel to the moment you leave, you are looked after so well.
The food is amazing!! I am vegetarian, and a fussy one at that, but I never struggled for anything to eat - there is so much choice from breakfast to evening meal!!
The packed lunches were nice - I would say though if you are a fussy eater and there is something specific you would like on your sandwiches, just mention it to the lovely reception staff when you book your packed lunch - and your requirements will be met.
All the staff are amazing, and really like it if you speak to them in Italian (even if its only the odd word).
The evening entertainment was relaxed and low key - we want to give a big shout out to Harry and Ellie from Switch Duo - they are a very talented couple and deserve a great deal of credit!! One of the highlights from their sessions though was on our last night when Gio the waiter did an impromptu duet with Ellie when she was singing 'Time to Say Goodbye' - he brought the house down and got a standing ovation - he has a fantastic voice, and I'd like to suggest that this become a regular spot :o)
There is quite a steep walk from the steps to the pool area, and I don't think Thomsons make this clear enough to customers. We were fine, but some elderly people did struggle.
Whilst we were there we did two trips:- Pompeii and Herculaneum, and Monte Cassino - both trips were excellent and the tour guides were brilliant and knowledgeable (particularly Hugo on the Pompeii / Herculaneum trip).
As the brochure and many reviewers have said, this is a relaxing, adults only hotel - if you want a wild and wacky holiday this isn't for you, but if you want to completely chill out in a fantastic hotel, with outstanding scenery, in a beautiful location, with wonderful staff and amazing food then don't hesitate to go to the Grand Hotel Nastro Azzuro - you wont be disappointed.
We are already looking forward to returning next year!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 23rd August - 6th September 2013 during our trip to Sorrento for our beautiful wedding.

This is a perfect place for a relaxing couples getaway in beautiful surroundings. If you want to party-hard then best think of a different hotel (or even a different resort)!

The hotel absolutely nails what it sets out to achieve and the staff make the hotel. The whole experience was fantastic from start to finish and we have nothing to offer but complete and total praise!

The accommodation is spotless (a big thank you to Lucia for keeping our room looking lovely and surprising us with numerous arty towel creations) and the grounds are stunning and perfectly maintained by the staff. The food and drink is diverse and delicious and made even more pleasant by the wonderful staff who work tirelessly to deliver the constant excellent service. The food at breakfast, lunch and dinner was superb throughout and we were welcomed to each of these by Angelo, Carmine and Giovanni who are all brilliant. Luigi usually looked after us at lunch by the pool and was always so friendly and welcoming. The breakfast and dinner servers, especially Claudio, Massimo and Stefano, were so professional but also so much fun to be around that they really added to the whole experience.

Finally, we cannot finish this without mentioning the wonderful Nastro Assuro Entertainment Team! The Switch Duo (Harry & Ellie) kept us entertained throughout our stay. From relaxed jazz sessions at lunch and at the Sunset Bar, to more upbeat sets in the evening, these two really are exceptionally talented and lovely people. And Georgia, so full of energy and fun! Always happy and approachable and really made an effort to talk to and mingle with every single person in the hotel. Her planned activities were perfect for the hotel, from photography walks, cheese and wine tasting, pizza and pasta making and Italian lessons to the more energetic Aqua “Fun” and Boules Tournaments. To the three of you, keep doing what you are doing as it’s just superb!

We have mentioned by name the people who really made an impression on us throughout our stay, however to all of the staff throughout the hotel, from the cleaners, porters, bar and restaurant servers and desk staff, we can only offer our highest praise and thanks to each and every member of staff who we met during our stay.

This hotel is a real class act! We are already considering our return trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Resort

Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 20, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Piano Di Sorrento
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro And Occhio Marino Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.