We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel but a bit secluded” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Resort to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nastro Azzurro 20, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel but a bit secluded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The reviews for the Grand Hotel Nastro Assurro do not disappoint! From the minute you enter the hotel to the minute you leave you are treated exceptionally well. Our arrival at the hotel was delayed due to horrendous traffic (didn't realise it was a Bank Holiday in Sorrento). However full lunch was still provided with nothing being too much trouble and that set the scene for the rest of the week.

Our room (in the main building) was of excellent quality and very clean and comfortable resulting in the best night's sleep we'd had in several weeks! The food was exceptional and the drinks (particularly the sparking wine and coffee) of excellent quality. The staff couldn't do enough for you and we loved every minute of our holiday.

My only 'gripes' were (1) the extortionate prices that Thomson were charging for the trips; £81 per person to be put on a mini bus to the port and loaded onto a ferry to Capri was unbelievably expensive, particularly when the mini bus is free and the round trip if you do it yourself is around £35 and (2) the hotel is secluded and not really in a location where you can walk to anywhere.

If you're after a holiday full of cultural and culinary delights (and no children) this is definitely for you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    177
    51
    23
    13
See reviews for
31
854
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Current
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were searching for a special holiday for a special birthday treat !

We stumbled on this hotel with the help of a travel agent with only a week to organise

So delighted with the last minute choice

Our room was so special, so contemporary which we loved with the most amazing huge outdoor area & stunning views.

Clean rooms with high quality beds, good bathroom which was also contemporary

Interesting mood bedroom lighting which we liked but still hadn't mastered the switches by the end of our holiday. But entertained us trying to get the hang of it ! TV channels not good tho.

Huge wardrobe space which is ideal

One of the best pools & dining area. . So easy to use. Attractive pool design which I loved & although the water was cold I enjoy that especially when I got so hot sunbathing & it's so helpful with my ucky joints to swim in cold water.

The restaurant was so different to others we have experienced in that it was both buffet & waiter service which we enjoyed, a bit of special treatment. The food was good but not special but plenty of variety to make choices & flexible timings. The bar was attractive & we enjoyed the all inclusive aspect

The evening & day time entertainers were exceptional.. . . So enjoyable & talented!

The roof top bar is an absolute must, the views are outstanding

The bus service into Sorrento was very good free & easy to use

The only negative was my trip to the spa, I didn't enjoy & struggled with the language barrier & didn't rate the facilities as compared to other spas . A real let down compared to the rest of the holiday

But enjoyed the outdoors Pilates classes in gorgeous surroundings. Plenty of relaxation areas including excellent outdoor pool spas.

The Thomson rep was brilliant a local Italian although maybe too chatty if you feeling tired !

Only experienced one excursion to Capri which was a tad costly

Would highly recommend & would relish a return visit

Room Tip: Request a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is one of the best hotels I've stayed in. Situated in the mountains above Sorrento, it offers amazing views from the terrace. I could not find anything to fault. The staff are fantastic and do their best to make sure you have a great holiday. Everyone we spoke to just loved this place. The food was excellent whether it was breakfast, lunch at the poolside or dinner in the restaurant (with lovely theme nights as well.) The grounds, pool and terrace areas are all kept spotless. You can easily get out and about with the use of the hotel courtesy bus which you book the night before or on the day if they are not full .We went to Pompeii and Capri and went down to Sorrento nearly every morning. We had a standard room which was very comfortable. But to be honest we were hardly in our room as the hotel lounge bar and grounds were just beautiful. Evening entertainment by Emma and Pete was excellent with chill out accoustic sets by the pool at lunchtime on several days also. Finding it really hard to think about going anywhere else next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have recently returned from a stay at this fabulous hotel,so good that we almost don't want to tell everyone for fear that we won't get in next time!
What can we say, an absolutely fantastic location, a team of staff who really are there to make sure that you have the best holiday ever and a really wonderful hotel.
We are not usually people who go back to the same place twice (there is a whole world to discover), but for the first time ever we have found ourselves back on the Internet booking to go back again. Really. It's that good.
We have been on a few cruises, we love the service and have to say that this is the first hotel that we have ever been to that the staff were of the same standard. They are on hand literally every time you look up, whether you fancy a cup of coffee, a gin and tonic, whatever. And they smile, a lot! The Management team make you feel as if you are the most important guests at the hotel, they are warm and friendly, remember who you are from day 1, and touch base with you regularly to make sure that everything is perfect for you.
The rooms are immaculate, the balconies enormous and the views from every aspect absolutely amazing.
The food is beautiful, we travelled with my parents and my Dad isn't a huge lover of Italian food but he found something on the menu every night that he loved. The buffets which are there as appetisers are so incredible that you have to be very restrained, you want to try everything!
I don't think we could stay for more that a week as we would put on a stone without batting an eyelid.
We read about the pizzas at lunch and had high expectations. We were not disappointed, they are fantastic and very highly recommended! If pizza isn't your thing there are grills, salad, you won't go hungry.
Hopefully if you were hesitating about booking, this review will help to convince you. If you want to get away from it all, experience a little bit of luxury for a few days and enjoy great cuisine and incredible service this is the hotel for you. It's incredibly tranquil and all of the guests seem to appreciate that everyone is there for the same reason, to relax and enjoy the peace.
If its nightlife and pool games that you want this is not the place for you!

Room Tip: We opted for a standard double with limited sea view, the view was actually incredible, 180 degrees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have just returned from two weeks at the Nastro Azzurro.
This Hotel sets the bench mark that all other holiday hotels should strive to achieve
If you have booked you are going to have a wonderful holiday
If you are thinking about booking don’t hesitate you will miss a treat.
I would like to thank every member of staff for making it a holiday to remember see you all next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We first arrived at the hotel late on the 17th May 2013 having been delayed from Glasgow feeling tired and hungry, and like most hotels in the past if you have missed your meal then tough luck, after checking in swiftly and greeted by everyone in reception we were taken into the dining room where the 38 guests arriving we're given a huge cold plate of beautiful food and two bottles of wine on each table and a bottle of water, well this set the mood straight away of what to expect from the hotel it was amazing.

We then arrived at the room on the first floor which was small but very modern and had an enormous balcony looking over the valley with the mountains in front and the sea on both sides.

There is a courtesy bus from the hotel in the morning to take you down into Sorrento which is only 15 mins, with stunning views all the way. We normally have a beach holiday a few times a year and we new this would be more sightseeing which I loved, Pompeii is a must and the blue cruise along the Amalfie Coast as long as the weather is good, you can do this by bus but you miss out on the stunning scenery along the way. Some guests preferred to do the Amalfie drive by themselves but found it difficult to get on a bus with all the tourists and locals on their return. I would highly recommend this hotel we both had an amazing holiday and will be returning in the future.

Room Tip: We were told by other guests that the Occhio Marino which is the annex next to the hotel had bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel is in a lovely location, quite remote in the rural Sorrento countryside. The courtousy shuttle bus to the city is excellent.
All of the staff are superb, you will be seduced by the Italian charm which is in abundance.
Decor in all of the public areas and bedrooms is first class, very comfortable.
On the surface, the main dining room/restaurant is very attractive, food looks appealing but a little bland for my taste. Look a little deeper, however, and worrying signs are apparent, hygiene is very suspect.
On two occasions during our week here we found what appeared to be human hair, not on top of our food, but in it. Look in the corners and round the edges of the dining room-thick dirt.
The staff/kitchen entrance, below and at the back of reception is filfhy, the dustbin area adjacent to the car park is disgusting, bins overflowing with waste food. Staff, including senior members congregate at the kitchen door and behind the pool restaurant, wearing kitchen clothing, which are smoking areas.
I regret that this hotel is not as appealing behind the scenes as it is in the public areas

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Resort

Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 20, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Piano Di Sorrento
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro And Occhio Marino Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.