We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous honeymoon hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Resort to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nastro Azzurro 20, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous honeymoon hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 29th April until 11th May 2013. We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon. On arrival we were greeted with a glass of prosseco, canapés and then lead down to the poolside bar where lunch was served. Our luggage was also taken to our room.

The hotel:
Location is on the mountain side, around 7km from Sorrento centre which is wonderful for peace, quiet and calmness. You can not fault the location with a free shuttle bus service into Sorrento daily. We were told to avoid taxis due to the charge so do make use the bus service it's well worth it.
The hotel is a good base to visit attractions.

The hotel cleanliness is second to none with the towels being changed daily, floors being mopped regularly and you constantly see the porters/ maids working throughout the day.

The decor is beautiful. We stayed in the Occhio Marina which is the more traditional part of the hotel, with a short walk to the main hotel site which we really enjoyed doing as it felt we went out for dinner. There are a few steps to contend with, but these are manageable.

On arrival to our room as it was our honeymoon, we had a just married sign on the door, a bottle of prosseco and our towels designed as swans with a rose on our four poster bed- beautiful.


Staff:
All the staff are exceptional friendly which makes you feel very welcomed and part of the family. They get to know you enabling a good bit of banter between you and the staff which makes the holiday more enjoyable. There are so many staff to name but Carmane, Angelo, Massimo, Valerie, Luigi, James, Giovani (Jonny) made us feel extremely welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

Food:
Our first experience of all inclusive but well worth it. 3 cooked meals daily. Breakfast includes cooked, patisseries, fruit, cereal, yoghurt all buffet style.
Lunch includes pizza, hot pasta,cold pasta, salad, grilled meat and fish.
Evening meal- 4 courses,buffet style appetisers followed by a large choice of starters and mains
Then buffet style dessert. You could not ask for better choice and food.
The theme nights on Wednesday and Sunday are also brilliant.

Trips:
we completed trips organised by Thomson. Although expensive, you were picked up from hotel, had English speaking guide and got to see the sights and attractions. Pompeii, Amalfi, Vesusivus and Capri/anacapri are good places to visit whilst in Italy.

Entertainment:
Georgia organises free entertainment around the hotel including cheese and wine tasting, cake and cocktail afternoons, pizza making with the head chef- they are brilliant. Do remember your leisure wear for tai chi and yoga each morning.
The resident musicians Pete and Emma play throughout the week and they are fab.

Summary
A highly recommended and friendly hotel. Would definitely return. We found 11 nights the perfect timing for chilling by the pool and completing tours to see the island.
This hotel is a must!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    177
    51
    23
    13
See reviews for
31
854
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have just returned from the Nastro Azzura. We hade a wonderful holiday the hotel is exellent, staff are fantastic i was too upset to be leaving that i could not say goodbye to some of the staff we cannot praise them enough they help to make our holiday perfect.The hotel is in the perfect postision wonderful views, food ls excellent plenty of choice, entertainment and waiter service is perfect you can wind down after a very busy day as there is so much to do you day's are full the chioce of trips be them with Thomson's or you do them your self are fantastic. The Amalfi Coast is wonderful,Capri, Pompeii,Herculaneum and Sorrento ect, you just want to do them all there is so much to see.It was a perfect holiday too good to be true we cannot wait to go back to do it all again."PERFECT"

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor facing the gardens it was quite and very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at the Nastro Azzura for 7 nights in April/May 2013 and it was a fantastic hotel. it is the 3rd couples hotel we have stayed at and by far the best one. The hotel is situated in a wonderful spot, the food was fabulous and the staff were friendly,efficient and welcoming. Our room was clean and comfortable. The menu choice was excellent and waiter service perfect (especially the welcome every evening from Angelo!). The evening entertainment was very good both with the resident duo and local duo. The highlight of the entertainment was when the staff sung the traditional Italian songs particularly Claudio! The reps were helpful and the Thomson select trips were just how we hoped they would be. We hope to return to such a perfect place.

Room Tip: ask forone with a bath aswell as shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just returned from a brilliant week at this hotel. Having read all the reviews, good and bad, I can state that this hotel is one of the best I have ever stayed in. The hotel is in a truly stunning location, with views of Vesuvious and the Salerno coast.The staff are every bit as friendly as stated, cannot do enough for you. Cannot name any individual because ALL the staff are friendly, courteous and helpful. The rooms, we had room 224, are very stylish and immaculate, with the towels etc., being changed every day. As for the comment made about the lack of variety of toiletries, well, as most people, I usually bring my own but in any event they were more than adequate if you wanted to use them. The food was the best ever and with lots of variety, as was the drinks, including wine and my husbands Ballantynes whiskey. We haven't stopped telling our family how wonderful the hotel is since we came back and will DEFINITELY be going back to this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Room 224 in the main building was really good, although the balcony was very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Nastro Azzuro is a beaufitul hotel with wonderful staff & I would recommened it to anyone of any age! On arrival we were greated with a glass of bubbly & canapes, our cases were taken and we were led to the pool area for lunch! We were met by Carmaine, he could not do enough & we could not have had a better weather. Beautiful views, warm weather & lovely staff. Are cases were in our rooms after lunch. We had a small but pleasant room on floor one with a lovely spacious balcony with views of the garden & hills to the side.

The food was plentiful & delicious! Every meal time was enjoyed by my husband & I. I must admit after reading many reviews I was not looking forward so much to the evening meal but it was cooked perfectly, the service was fantastic & the wine, beer, cocktails were all really nice. The pasta was cooked to perfection as was the fish & I wish we could eat like that year round.
Any poor reviews must be from extremely fussy people, or those that simply ate so much gorgeous food at breakfast & lunch they were too full to appreciate dinner. Claudio, Massimo & Jo stand out for me as they were always happy & a joy to be around. Angelo was welcoming funny & charming! All the staff here are wonderful, too many to mention. Carmaine was again charming & always recommending different drinks & cocktails. James was a lovely waiter as was Luigi at the pool bar. There is also a guy that keeps the pool area maintained. It is so clean and well kept and every detail is considered - he works all day keeping it lovely for everyone - they all work so hard.

There are many activities offered if you wish to take part. We did the wine & cheese tasting, cocktail & cupcake afternoon - I wish we had done the vinyard trip but hey we did so much.

The sunset bar in the Occhio Marino black is great for some lovely views in evening - we did this most nights before dinner. You have views of the mountain, sea & pool area! Its great!

Sorrento is lovely & the bus takes 15 minutes to get down there - the free bus service is brilliant and drops & collects in the same place at set times, we never had a problem booking a bus. Even if it was just the two of us it was no problem. The bus & train station are a very short walk from the stop & we made use of this.

We visited Capri on the boat which was 35 euro return & pompeii & herculaneum on the train which was easy fun and saved us lots of money doing the organised trips. We met lots of lovely people at the hotel too that had done days out and they were always happy to give advice. It really is easier than you think to do trips yourself.

We met some wonderful people, had such a great week & would love to return sometime. Enjoy, relax - I wish i was there x

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Arrived home on may 10th from a fourteen night stay at the Nastro Azzura hotel and we had a marvellous time.
When we arrived we were immediately at home and couldn't have received a warmer welcome from staff. I want to try to deal with every aspect of our stay as I hope too reassure people who may hesitate as we did by some spurious comments on this site.
The first point is about access to the hotel and stories of being left at the bottom of a narrow drive with half a mile to walk THIS IS UNTRUE- I have some mobility issues and this put us of staying here last year. Our transfer coach got up the wide drive with ease leaving around 50 yards or so (myth one).
Myth two 'the rooms are inadequate and two small' - the rooms are not huge but are very well appointed and lovely, with a kettle and tea and coffee refilled every day we also had a coffee maker which we loved as the capsules again were replenished every day. The room was very clean and towels changed every day and we had a flat screen tv - agreed only a couple of english channels but as we don't go on holiday to watch tv this was quite unimportant to us. We had a bath with shower over which was a little awkward at first but we got used to it very quickly. With a bit of organisation the room worked well. We had upgraded to a sea view and we were in the occhiano marine annex. Myth three - the annex is a ten to fifteen minutes walk from the main hotel - I have ms so walk slowly somedays and at my worsted it took three mins and 75% of the walk is undercover. Where things may be difficult in our opinion is the number of steps around the hotel which may be problematic although, the hotel moved a couple who both had difficulty into the main hotel.
The annex is lovely and when we go back we will ask to stay there - our room had a lovely sea view, four poster bed and got the sun in the early morning until about eleven when we were in a lovely shady spot as the weather was lovely too but, our room was lovely and cool in the mid afternoon sun. If we wanted sun we could have moved to the pool, the gardens or many other spots to discover during your stay.
We were held up in traffic on our way from the airport and were delighted by the response from the hotel as the pool bar and restaurant had been kept open for us for lunch and very good it was too (more of this later).
By dinner we had a very good feeling about our stay as everything positive which has been written about the staff is true. From the moment we arrived the reception team were a joy to speak to. They go the extra mile to help and anyone who says they are unhelpful I can not imagine why this was so. The maitre'd (Antonio) and the bar manager (Carmine) were professional, and make you feel like you are the most important guest, they achieve this with everyone. The waiting staff are the same, as are the bar staff who just keep you topped up with drinks and have astonishing memory regarding your tipple - again we were very impressed with the alcohol provided as the quality is first class and international brands like Gordon's, malt whisky (I kid you not), plus too many cocktail to mention (but please ask Carmine for a mint Julip or a strawberry dakari as they make your day.
On our first day it rained for most of the day and we decided to have a quiet day and enjoy the facilities of the hotel.
As it was so wet the pool bar and restaurant where lunch is normally served were closed and we ate lunch in the main restaurant. Every lunch we had was lovely, and of very high quality - yes there are dishes containing pasta and pizza but you are in Italy and if you don't want to try the wonderful array of dishes provided by the very talented kitchen team my advice would be 'go to Skegness or Blackpool if you want fish and chips and burgers. Lunch consists of many salads and pasta dishes, a rotisserie grill which cooked the most tantalising roast meats from pork, turkey, lamb etc etc. ice cream to die for as well as deserts and puddings, fruit etc.
Dinner is altogether a most sumptuous affair.
I want to correct a couple of things which have been stated in re-view on this site. As you are greeted by a warm smile and shown to your table by the maitre de your drinks order is taken. We tried the white, rose, and red wines which were all very acceptable, and plentiful as you are provided with a bottle of your choice. Then a menu is given from which you choose your second course, and your third main course. Whilst theses are being prepared for you, you go to the buffet salad bar for your entree dish. It is like dinning in a lovely Italian restaurant every night, and there is a very wide choice which, being there for two weeks always remained varied and interesting (we were offered steaks, roast duckling, turbot, veal, pork, etc etc).
Then we come to the staff!
We have never stayed in such a happy friendly hotel, run by professional and committed staff. From the entertainment team headed by the beautiful Georgina, to the fantastic duo 'never mind the jukebox) who entertain all over the hotel and have such a wide repertoire, from popular music to music to dance too - and many did. As for the reception team who provided us with maps, timetables and directions, hints and advice about getting around the area a huge thank you.
I could go on and on but you need to try it I don't think you will be disappointed. I also think that like us you will book to visit again.
One last thing as a lot of people have commented on the minibus service. The hotel is located in the most stunning location in the mountains. It takes around 15 mins to get into Sorrento. The bus runs from eight thirty am until eleven thirty at night with a break in the afternoon from one until three. We never failed to get on the bus and if the first is full the hotel put on a second bus. It's true it's best to book places the day before but we forgot one day and the receptionist fit the two of us onto the bus no problem.
From the general manager to the gardeners we would like to thank you all - we really didn't want to come home.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here for 10 days in April 2013,And will be going back next year, Hotel superb, staff fantastic,views unbelievable.Everything you would want in an all inclusive hotel.Food excellent tasty and hot.OK hotel a little way out of Sorrento but so peaceful and only a free bus ride away.Did 1 excursion with tour company(herculaneum/vesuvious),but found it easy to travel around and at half the cost.Isle of capri views stunning but not much more than an isle living of its name and expensive,Positano on the other hand far far more beuitful and less expensive hop on the local bus and see.Sorrento itself another wonderful place a bit manic but worth the hussel and bussel.We had read bad reviews but honestly this hotel is superb.

Room Tip: our room facing the garden was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Resort

Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 20, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Piano Di Sorrento
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro And Occhio Marino Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.