We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Zio Sam

Ristorante Zio Sam
Via Caposcannato 1, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
+39 (0) 815333472
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just lovely...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stumbled across this place today... and the food and family were so fantastic we plan to return tomorrow at the same time.

Great, great food... and at prices that (thank goodness!) dont leave you speechless! The family all speak putstanding English and welcome you as part of the party. We only wish we stayed stumbling distance so that we could stay all day and night!

Thoroughly recommend... especially the linguine wuth seafood which comes baked in foil and steaming... amazing!

AND... as someone who is allergic to tomatoes - italian menus are a little limited, but as soon as they found out, the chef was at our tavle recommending alterations to his dishes... just lovely.

Finally - when they found out it was pur honeymoon we got a free cakey treat! Spoilt rotten.

Cant wait to go back tomorrow! This place is a highlight of our trip.

Try it - you won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    75
    23
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My second time here and it actually gets better. The food YUMMY, the best pasta i have ever eaten. The view is breath taking and the service is a family run business and you actually feel a part of it.
You havent been to sorentto untill you have been to zio sams.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is mot the first time I have visited the restaurant. Its the best in the area. Great service, delicious food and amazing value for money. This restaurant is located in mountains which guarantee you breathtaking view. The deco is inspired by family history and throughout the years memories. The family business is great and make you feel like home and this is th place where you always want to come back. Love it

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic View, Local Family Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We visited this beautiful family run restaurant, as a recommendation from our private driver for the day in Sorrento! We were not disappointed, as the antipasti all the way through the desserts were phenomenal. The seafood pasta served in a foil packet was the best I've ever tasted! Our two children loved the meal as well and even tried the fried zucchini/corgette blossoms :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“The food was incredible and we felt like family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I ate at Zio Sam's while on a trip in Sorrento. We were greeted with smiles and cheek kisses and immediately felt at home!
We ordered an octopus/mussel sort of an appetizer, which also came with an assortment of breads (bruschetta, fried dough balls, etc.), which were both delicious. My husband was encouraged to order their special pasta dish. It was something like "cartocche" and was a seafood linguine with crawfish, shrimp, mussels, clams, octopus, and delicious tomato sauce. The whole dish came in a big aluminum foil display and tasted just awesome. I ordered the veal with tomato sauce and mozzarella. There were three huge pieces of veal, all cooked to be very juicy and tender, and equally as delicious as the pasta. We also shared a bottle of homemade red wine by Zio Sam! Sweet and refreshing, it was certainly a treat.
After about a week in Italy, my husband and I felt like we'd been eating the same sorts of pastas, pizzas, and paninis over and over again...all great, but difficult to differentiate. Our dinner at Zio Sam's was by far the best on our whole vacation and made us feel like we were a part of their awesome family. Zio Sam himself came and chatted with us at our table, along with his wife, son, another waiter, and the chef.

Just next door is a huge garden where all the vegetables are homegrown. Homemade limoncello is to die for!

Overall, a great experience! If you're in the area, definitely check out Zio Sam's!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Zio Sam also viewed

Piano di Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Piano di Sorrento, Province of Naples
Piano di Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Ristorante Zio Sam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Zio Sam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.