We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, nice wiew” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cosmomare

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cosmomare to your Saves list
Hotel Cosmomare
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ripa di Cassano, 43, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place, nice wiew”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Planned to stay for a few days, stayed for a good week. Werry nice and helpful staff, fantastic wiew over the sea or,and the city. Only downside was breakfast, that was rather poor. Overall, hoping to be back soon.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    72
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
20
87
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here with a school group in Feb. Excellent sea views and lovely spacious balconies. The hotel is on the 5th floor of an apartment block but has a lift and gave good exercise after a meal out.

The rooms were clean and on the whole, spacious. Breakfast consisted of coffee, pastries and cake. The dining room looks out onto the sea via tall glass windows, which in the sunny weather was beautiful.

Staff friendly and welcoming to guests. Free wifi.

Situated in a quaint town within close distance to Sorrento. The streets are filled with lemon and orange trees and there are a few restaurants, supermarkets and gelato shops nearby.
(No swimming pool)

Room Tip: Rooms with sea views are best! Corner rooms large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice view, but facilities are not great. Breakfast is disappointing, with fresh fruit available around the corner, I expected that but got Del Monte fruit salad for breakfast and left over desserts from the day before. Given Sorrento is so hot, air conditioning also not the greatest. Beds are extremely hard, not comfortable to sleep in at all. The staff didn't know too much about the tours they offered, even though the tours and tour companies were excellent. Location also not the greatest if you are looking to be closer to Sorrento. Unfortunately, I would not return nor recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Was disappointed to find hotel located in an apartment building.

Staff quite unhelpful. Room very very small. Wifi didn't work. A/c didn't work.
Breakfast absolutely horrendous. Stale bread. Cold coffee. Not ham, cheese, fruit.

Only redeeming feature was the view in the breakfast room. However when I went to sit at a table by the window, I was told by the manager to move as it was a table for 4 people. The breakfast room was empty. But was still made to move to a table at the back of the room. No one came at sat at that 4 person table...

Would not go back. Not worth 3 stars or worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just back after staying 5 nights at this hotel, the only thing that stands to the hotel it is clean

Staff okay, that's providing you do not complain, not very pleasant

This hotel is suppose to be a 3 star hotel, it is no way. We have travelled quite a bit and have stayed in quite a few 3 star hotels! But this one was a glorified youth hostel. On entering building you have 5 floors to get up to reception that's providing the lift works and it only can hold 2 people.
Rooms are very small you can just about move in them. This is the first time I have had to live out off my suitcase, no drawers for leaving your tops , oh sorry there is a wardrobe but no hangers.? To get in to centre of Sorrento you have a 45 min bus trip( 1.50) each way which leaves at 8.30/9.30am and returns at 6.30/7.30pm each night . Bus will pick you up hotel,check with reception , for one sister will tell you directly outside hotel. Actually bus picks you up on opposite side off hotel at the Kwein hotel.

Breakfast very poor, water not even warm for a nice cup of tea, rolls not fresh, nice view looking over bay of Naples

There was 2 groups off students staying at hotel,you could hear every word that they spoke on the corridor. Booking your tours at hotel okay but make sure that the tour company can collect you and leave you back at hotel. We could only find 1 good restaurant to eat,which was run by a family, it is just 5 minutes walk from hotel

This area is very remote,no transport, we could not even get a taxi, it is too far out off Sorrento

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel Cosmomare on a school trip with 21 students and 4 staff. I have to say it has been the nicest hotel I have stayed in on a school trip and I would have quite happily stayed there if I hadn't been on a school trip. The hotel itself is set away from the main part of Sorrento (although it looks easily accessible by train) and is located on floor 5 of an apartment block. There is a lift (which is a novelty in itself!) which the staff used, although we made the students walk up the stairs! Once up on the 5th floor you enter the hotel reception which is really nice and modern, where there is seating area and dining area (to eat breakfast). The views over The bay from here are stunning. The rooms were lovely, with a balony (risk assessed for kids) and a bathroom with a walk in shower. The rooms were cleaned and beds made every day. The breakfast was fine (no moans from the students) with croissants and bread rolls, some sort of Nutella cake, fruit juice and a hot drink. I did notice, however, that the 'real' guests received a real and fresh croissant whilst ours were of the prepacked variety but the students did not seem to notice.

Our evening meal was at a local restaraunt which was a couple of minutes walk away. The family who ran it were very sweet and we thought the food was nice. It was a pasta starter and then a main course and dessert. One night was a pizza night. The kids were largely fine with the food, with the occasional moan (expected on a school trip). We set a rule that all food had to be tried before saying they did not like it. Most found they actually liked it after trying it.

There is a supermarket (Dicos) just past the restaurant where students stocked up on supplies. There was also an ice cream shop about 5 minutes away which we took students to most evenings (€1.50).

The overall impression I got was if you school respected the hotel, rooms and residents (hotel and apartments) the staff would be really nice (as expected). They often provided tea and coffee to staff after long days out. The wifi was ok in places and for some people. The staff helped out when needed. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
0.0 mi away
Hotel Klein Wien
Hotel Klein Wien
#3 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Albatros
Hotel Albatros
#10 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
3.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
1.8 mi away
Antico Casale Russo
Antico Casale Russo
#2 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Ripetta
La Ripetta
#9 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
3.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#31 of 97 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 998 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#85 of 97 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cosmomare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cosmomare

Address: Via Ripa di Cassano, 43, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cosmomare 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Cosmomare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cosmomare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.