We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel near sea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cosmomare

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cosmomare to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cosmomare
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ripa di Cassano, 43, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    59
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
66
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just back after staying 5 nights at this hotel, the only thing that stands to the hotel it is clean

Staff okay, that's providing you do not complain, not very pleasant

This hotel is suppose to be a 3 star hotel, it is no way. We have travelled quite a bit and have stayed in quite a few 3 star hotels! But this one was a glorified youth hostel. On entering building you have 5 floors to get up to reception that's providing the lift works and it only can hold 2 people.
Rooms are very small you can just about move in them. This is the first time I have had to live out off my suitcase, no drawers for leaving your tops , oh sorry there is a wardrobe but no hangers.? To get in to centre of Sorrento you have a 45 min bus trip( 1.50) each way which leaves at 8.30/9.30am and returns at 6.30/7.30pm each night . Bus will pick you up hotel,check with reception , for one sister will tell you directly outside hotel. Actually bus picks you up on opposite side off hotel at the Kwein hotel.

Breakfast very poor, water not even warm for a nice cup of tea, rolls not fresh, nice view looking over bay of Naples

There was 2 groups off students staying at hotel,you could hear every word that they spoke on the corridor. Booking your tours at hotel okay but make sure that the tour company can collect you and leave you back at hotel. We could only find 1 good restaurant to eat,which was run by a family, it is just 5 minutes walk from hotel

This area is very remote,no transport, we could not even get a taxi, it is too far out off Sorrento

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel Cosmomare on a school trip with 21 students and 4 staff. I have to say it has been the nicest hotel I have stayed in on a school trip and I would have quite happily stayed there if I hadn't been on a school trip. The hotel itself is set away from the main part of Sorrento (although it looks easily accessible by train) and is located on floor 5 of an apartment block. There is a lift (which is a novelty in itself!) which the staff used, although we made the students walk up the stairs! Once up on the 5th floor you enter the hotel reception which is really nice and modern, where there is seating area and dining area (to eat breakfast). The views over The bay from here are stunning. The rooms were lovely, with a balony (risk assessed for kids) and a bathroom with a walk in shower. The rooms were cleaned and beds made every day. The breakfast was fine (no moans from the students) with croissants and bread rolls, some sort of Nutella cake, fruit juice and a hot drink. I did notice, however, that the 'real' guests received a real and fresh croissant whilst ours were of the prepacked variety but the students did not seem to notice.

Our evening meal was at a local restaraunt which was a couple of minutes walk away. The family who ran it were very sweet and we thought the food was nice. It was a pasta starter and then a main course and dessert. One night was a pizza night. The kids were largely fine with the food, with the occasional moan (expected on a school trip). We set a rule that all food had to be tried before saying they did not like it. Most found they actually liked it after trying it.

There is a supermarket (Dicos) just past the restaurant where students stocked up on supplies. There was also an ice cream shop about 5 minutes away which we took students to most evenings (€1.50).

The overall impression I got was if you school respected the hotel, rooms and residents (hotel and apartments) the staff would be really nice (as expected). They often provided tea and coffee to staff after long days out. The wifi was ok in places and for some people. The staff helped out when needed. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I came here on a school trip and it was quite a pleasant stay. The views were amazing from our bedroom window, I loved the balcony placements and how close they were to my friends rooms. The rooms were very nice for a 4 bedroom door, although the door panel was a bit dodgy. However when we attempted to use the phone, we were immediately called telling us to "not play with telephone" which was fairly strange. Breakfast was average, but overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Apart from some minor inconvenience with the wi-fi not working in the room and some confusion with how to operate the A/C we had a very pleasant stay. The 3 sisters who run the hotel are great hosts and did everything they could to make our stay wonderful. We would have appreciated a little more variety at breakfast but we didn't care so much as we were admiring the view most mornings. The man who attended to the breakfast could have been less grumpy.

We considered the hotel elevator to be a novelty.

The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the train station and a 15 minute ride to Sorrento. Good location.
Do not rely on the bus as the motto is "If we are 10 minutes late, we are not likely going to show up at all".

Room Tip: The A/C is wired to stop functioning when a window is opened so be patient and lit it do its job. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We spent four nights at the Cosmomare as a school party of 46 girls (Y10 to Y13) and 5 teaching staff. The hotel staff were very welcoming, despite at first being seemingly (and perhaps understandably) apprehensive about a large school party visit.
The hotel staff did speak some English, but it was helpful to have Italian speakers with our party. It was admittedly difficult to get our whole party in at first; the lift is small and the hotel is on the fifth floor. However, once all girls and cases were finally transported up we were all very pleased with our accommodation.
The impression I received of this hotel vis-a-vis school visits was very much that if the school party respected the rules of the establishment and showed that it would be considerate of the hotel's neighbours (including all those inhabiting the apartments on the four floors below!) then basically the hotel staff would really bend over backwards to please in return. We bribed the girls with all sorts of treats (gelataria related/bedtime "extensions") in order to get them up and down the stairs in a reasonable degree of silence.
The rooms were all extremely clean and of a good size. Some were genuinely lovely rooms, far better than you would expect on the average school trip, with beautiful views and lovely balconies. During our stay the staff were most accommodating of us and extremely helpful. They allowed us to use the communal breakfast/lounge area for group activities during the evening, and even brought weary staff glasses of complimentary chilled white wine once the girls had all been shepherded off to bed. This was most welcome!
Breakfasts were well organised and there was enough room for the whole party to eat together in one go in the dining area; our packed lunches were available punctually and account was taken of our students' various dietary requirements/allergies. One word of warning; there are cockerels on one side of the building, who are very keen to rouse guests at the crack of dawn! By the time we were ready to leave to return to the UK, we had planned our exit from the hotel with military precision and we managed to evacuate all students plus luggage in a very smooth and efficient fashion, using the lifts for bags and sending the girls down the stairs on foot.
I would definitely return to this hotel (travelling independently as well as with a school party). The staff were genuinely lovely and the standard of accommodation high; the views are beautiful. In some ways this hotel is not ideal for a school party; however I feel that once you have conquered the stairs and your students have shown themselves to be respectful and well behaved, this hotel offers a great experience for a school party.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Ive travelled the world and stayed in many hotels, this place is the worst EVER! Bar? What bar! Breakfast? Pathetic cereal, no milk and bread......where's the toaster, cheese, ham, eggs. Ants in the rooms, miserable staff. Nowhere to go at night in Piano Di Sorrento, air con controlled by staff downstairs, they constantly turn it off, only allowed 2mb internet (don't upload pictures) OVER PRICED- POOR EFFORT - VERY POOR!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cosmomare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cosmomare

Address: Via Ripa di Cassano, 43, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cosmomare 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Cosmomare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cosmomare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.