We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet retreat at the top of a lovely old villa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Secret Garden Relais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Secret Garden Relais to your Saves list
The Secret Garden Relais
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Gottola, 14, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A quiet retreat at the top of a lovely old villa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room, reached by 3 flights of stairs, was adequate in size, and the adjoining private bathroom, although not en-suite, was large with adequate hot water. As it was a rather cold March, I sometimes needed the portable heater in the evenings. The owner is friendly and helpful and speaks good English. The buffet breakfast was adequate, though Italian style with toast and cakes rather than fresh bread. The breakfast room and lounge are tastefully furnished, with views of the sea and hills, and the house is surrounded by orange and lemon groves. Piano di Sorrento is a quiet, non-touristy little town and there is an excellent restaurant (La cantina antica) just around the corner from the house. The station is only 5 minutes walk, with trains every 30 minutes to Sorrento, Pompeii, and Naples.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    69
    26
    9
    7
See reviews for
46
115
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Scotland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned from Piano Di Sorrento and were really pleased to have found this delightful bed and breakfast away from the hustle and bustle of Sorrento. The owners have created a really comfortable home from home on the top floor of an 18th century villa surrounded by lemon and orange groves in a walled garden. There is a large lounge, a breakfast room and 7 bedrooms all individually styled. There is free WiFi which I could only get to work in reception. There are 53 steps to climb to get to the front door so the Secret Garden is probably not suitable for anybody with mobility problems. The bed was comfortable, always plenty of hot water in the en-suite and the linen and towels were changed regularly. The breakfast was good for the price we paid. The property is kept very clean although there are some signs of wear and tear in the decor. Its a 6 or 7 minute walk to Piano Di Sorrento railway station which is two stops (5 minutes) from Sorrento for just over 1 euro each way. There are some good restaurants nearby we really liked Bistro Delle Rose and L'Antica Cantina.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

This is a beautiful 18th century villa set on a very pretty lemon grove. The house itself is absolutely stunning, well restored and presented. The gardens are beautiful and there are a number of places to relax and take in the surroundings. A number of the rooms have been converted to bedrooms, some with en suite washrooms, others with shared bathrooms. My wife and I received one of the top rooms with and en suite. The house is very beautiful, but the furnishings in the bedrooms could use an update. The bed wasn't the best or the worst, so all in all, sleeping was fine. The room had a fridge which was nice. The breakfast was simple toast, cheese and cold cuts - did the trick but wasn't amazing. The coffee on the other hand was fantastic. The terrace was a very pretty place to enjoy a bottle of wine and some snacks. The hotel is not in Sorrento, you will have to catch a train and take it, which means if you are visiting Sorrento for the day, you cannot miss the last train back (unless you want to pay for a cab). This is not really a big deal though, we managed a day trip to Sorrento with a visit to Capri with plenty of time to spare.

The staff are friendly are try to make the stay enjoyable.

The en suite bathroom was good enough, especially if you are traveling on a budget.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has an ensuite washroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

We're on the the last day of a 30 day stay at The Secret Garden Relais. We're in the double room with the private external bathroom. I had my doubts about the bathroom not being in the room but it was fine. No problem at all. It was a nice large bathroom with a total of 3 sinks. The hotel is very clean .Every morning there is a nice breakfast of sweet breads and juice. Gennaro the manager will offer you an espresso drink. He makes the best cappuccino! Gennaro is very personable without being intrusive and is a great source of information about Piano di Sorrento and the surrounding area. He gave us some great tips of what was going on around us. Check in was very easy. We were late and didnt arrive until 11:30 pm and Gennaro was prompt in meeting us. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the train station and is only 2 stops from Sorrento. There are many restaurants nearby and Meta and Sant' Agnello are within walking distance. There is no lift and it's on the 3rd flloor of a beautiful 18th century building. It's a great way to burn off all that wonderful food that Italy has to offer.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savona, Italy
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

It's a nice old villa, Secret Garden is on the 2nd floor... No lift and this is just the start of a mix of high's and low's
People are friendly, the place is clean but would benefit of some attention like holes in the walls, no bed light, etc
In our room (4), there is a small old TV (from the 80's ?) and... It did not work
Wifi is intermittent or simply not working (like in our room), maybe due to old thick walls
Breakfast is ok, but... Not before 8:30, which means you won't get to Sorrento before abt 10... By train, which is good with some limitations (eg last ride back at 21:30)
All in all, not a bad experience for a cheap price... With a small effort, it can be made much better

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Just returned from a week long stay at the Secret Garden Relais, nice autumnal weather dry and not too hot.

We had an attic room which was tastefully furnished throughout with roof-light windows and en-suite bathroom. We didn't need heating or air conditioning and were comfortable during our stay. We had a fairly active holiday so were out straight after breakfast and back in the evening, we weren't expecting full hotel services but there were two sun terraces and a sitting room, Gennaro and other members of staff made us feel very welcome and offered advice on travelling and days out.

Most guests seemed to stay for 2-4 nights and we met a nice selection of guest from Europe and beyond and they were all enjoying their stay.

Breakfast comprised of omelette and ham, toast, coffee and a variety of sweet cakes and pastries with occasional fruit - more than adequate.

The location was quiet and safe which was welcome after tourist areas and hustle bustle of Naples.

Local dining out options were limited at this time of year and were very busy on Friday/ Saturday nights so need to plan for this.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Lovely location set in the quiet, residential Via Gottola in Piano. Nice top floor location of a c19 ish manor. Excellent we thought.

It was ok. But we were in room 2 which showed signs of water damage to plasterwork in the bedroom, water damage to the floor, the shower hung off the rail post so getting a proper wash was tricky.

The double bed was 2 singles pushed together, one soft as butter, the other hard, made sleeping a bit tricky. This was exacerbated by a guest who turned up in the very early hours and rang every bell in the building, waking us up prior to a long day travelling.

The bell appears to be directly above room2, strongly suggest this is moved away from guest rooms.

All of the above we could live with at £25 per night but for £50 I expected more. Room 2 needs work for the money charged.

That said coffee in the morning was excellent. For those inclined to watch it there was a TV, sky box and wireless. Finally, teabags, mugs but no kettle :)

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Secret Garden Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Garden Relais

Address: Via Gottola, 14, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Secret Garden Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a luxuriant citrus grove, The Secret Garden Relais is the ideal destination for those who want to spend their vacation in the Sorrentine peninsula at a relaxing hotel just a short drive away from Sorrento.The pastel colours of the building and the elegant furniture make this hotel in Sorrento an ideal location, especially as it has the cosiness of a private villa – one of the Charme Hotels best offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Secret Garden Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Secret Garden Relais Hotel Piano Di Sorrento
Secret Garden Relais Sorrento
Secret Garden Relais Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Secret Garden Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.