We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly helpful staff, nice coffee, shame about the rest” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Secret Garden Relais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Secret Garden Relais to your Saves list
The Secret Garden Relais
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Gottola, 14, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Friendly helpful staff, nice coffee, shame about the rest”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely location set in the quiet, residential Via Gottola in Piano. Nice top floor location of a c19 ish manor. Excellent we thought.

It was ok. But we were in room 2 which showed signs of water damage to plasterwork in the bedroom, water damage to the floor, the shower hung off the rail post so getting a proper wash was tricky.

The double bed was 2 singles pushed together, one soft as butter, the other hard, made sleeping a bit tricky. This was exacerbated by a guest who turned up in the very early hours and rang every bell in the building, waking us up prior to a long day travelling.

The bell appears to be directly above room2, strongly suggest this is moved away from guest rooms.

All of the above we could live with at £25 per night but for £50 I expected more. Room 2 needs work for the money charged.

That said coffee in the morning was excellent. For those inclined to watch it there was a TV, sky box and wireless. Finally, teabags, mugs but no kettle :)

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    67
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
45
104
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A hidden gem tucked away down a narrow cobbled street and through a wooden garden gate into the secret garden. This really was a top class Bed and Breakfast. The owner was very helpful - arranging trips and knowledgeable about the area. The breakfast was very substantial and the room large and comfortable. Couldn't fault it. Definitely worth a return trip.

Room Tip: We had a lovely large room with comfortable bed and another room with a day bed. Very bright and su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Everything was great for us. We wanted a short break in the region to relax and we found it. I am happy that Secret garden is in a little Italian town outside the busy centre of Sorrento (which you can take the local train to in 5 minutes), I felt as if we got an authentic experience in a family B & B, the family are so friendly and helpful and the building and gardens are just so pretty. I love the tiled floors and winding staircase up to the door (it is located on the second floor of an 18th century villa...wow!) we stayed in one of the rooms in the roof with a private bathroom (which was huge and lovely!) and was just outside the room, there was also a little roof terrace there outside the room and we sat there under the stars every night. They make their own Limoncello, which is tasty. And were happy to lend us wine glasses for our own wine. Some reviewers before said they weren't happy with the sweet breakfast, but we liked it, I read that it is typical for Italy, homemade local cakes :-) and we were offered a choice of coffees by the friendly son of the family every morning. You can go to the beach nearby, you have to walk down a winding walkway its about 20 mins walk from the accommodation, nice for a swim to cool down in the early evening! I couldn't find much written online about Piano Di Sorrento, but I was really happy there, a little square where the locals sit out and chat at night, and there was a flea market on the Saturday evening, local people are friendly, there are few great pizzerias and a great deli/eatery, we will go back next year!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Having researched prior to going, we located The Secret Garden easily. It's within easy walking distance from local shops, restaurants, buses, train routes and port where boat trips and hire was available. The residence was peaceful, secluded and tastefully decorated. Good views from the bedroom balcony and terraces. Our room with an en-suite was on the small side and needed some minor redecoration, but we had access to a communal lounge. The third bed space lacked storage, and our daughter had to live out of her suitcase. Locals were helpful, and the hotel staff/owners were friendly, welcoming and gave great tips for seeing attractions. They arranged transfers for us and were happy to help whenever they could. Access to sights was cheap and easy via the trains, as there is a single line from Sorrento to Naples (weekend cheap rates apply).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I was here at the end of June 2014 and found this B&B very relaxing. It has got a big garden with lemon trees. The B&B is not reachable by car, as the main entrance is in an Alleyway, but the nearest car park is just 200 meters away. The old mansion has not got a lift that takes you up to the top floor where the rooms are, therefore do not pack a big luggage, or make sure you are fit to carry your luggage. The rooms are of medium size with air conditioning, but not all of them have got a bathroom. The house has got rooms or terraces where you can relax reading a book or looking at the sea far in the distance. The breakfast was not really exceptional, I have to say. The staff was friendly and in the end I can say I had a pleasant stay and would recommend this place as it is really good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My son and I spent four nights here in Feb / March. The B&B is a large 200 year old mansion with the Secret Garden accommodation on the 2nd floor. It's situated in an enclosed lemon grove and we sampled the limoncella on arrival. (make sure they know the time of your arrival) The room was large with a king size bed and single bed and en suite bathroom/shower. Two lounges and a breakfast room were available in relaxed atmosphere and we were given a free run of the property. Very nice continental breakfast each day with ham and scrambled eggs as well. 10 minutes walk to the train station which connects to Sorrento (1.30 euros) Pompeii and Naples. Fernandinos local restaurant is just around the corner serving excellent pasta and pizza. There is a pool but we did not get to see it. Overall a unique experience. Grazie Gennaro and Margherita.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Loved my 2 nights here. It was peaceful and quiet. It's easy to find (thanks to all the signs when you get off the train).... only about a 10 min walk... and another 10 mins to the restaurants (which aren't that many, a pizza place, a hotel, & a couple of convenience shops) but it is overlooking the bay of naples and would rather be here than busy Sorrento. The whole place feels safe - there's a locked gate at the entry. Inside the room, nice & clean, a safe, a bar fridge, tea/coffee.... nice!

Room Tip: So far, this place has been the best Ive stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Secret Garden Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Garden Relais

Address: Via Gottola, 14, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Secret Garden Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a luxuriant citrus grove, The Secret Garden Relais is the ideal destination for those who want to spend their vacation in the Sorrentine peninsula at a relaxing hotel just a short drive away from Sorrento.The pastel colours of the building and the elegant furniture make this hotel in Sorrento an ideal location, especially as it has the cosiness of a private villa – one of the Charme Hotels best offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your The Secret Garden Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Secret Garden Relais Hotel Piano Di Sorrento
Secret Garden Relais Sorrento
Secret Garden Relais Hotel Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Secret Garden Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.