We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are no English words worthy of describing this romantic, serene & breathtaking villa!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Grotta dei Fichi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Piano di Sorrento
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Grotta dei Fichi
Save
You added La Grotta dei Fichi to your Saves list
Meta Amalfi, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“There are no English words worthy of describing this romantic, serene & breathtaking villa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Wedged on a ledge under the mountains and over the Mediterranean spritzed by lemon trees sits the most beautiful place on earth. My boyfriend & I arrived after a long flight from the States to a warm welcome from Vincenzo (the owner). We enjoyed a scrumptious meal prepared by a local chef that Vincenzo arranged. The meal was served to us outside as we took in the spectacular view. We were speechless! We highly recommend this culinary experience. We took advantage of every aspect of the villa from picking eggs from the villa chickens for our breakfasts, nightly romantic walks on the villa paths hugging the cliffs, third floor sauna..... etc. etc. etc. Even more spectacular than the view (if thats possible) was Vincenzo's constant attention to detail, recommendations and input on every aspect of our trip. Prior to our departure he emailed weekly with recommendations. He truly made this a very relaxing experience being that we were so inexperienced. We will definitely be back! Grazie Grazie, Vincenzo! We have made a friend for life.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

We are two families with 4 children under 9 years old. We were looking for a villa near Positano to take our kids on the March Break.

What a wonderful place this has been. Vincenzo has made every effort to ensure our comfort during our stay.

The pictures of the villa certainly drew us to the villa, but they are unable to give you the true grandeur of the site. Essentially the location is built into a ledge on the cliff of the coast, spread over a few hundred feet. Gardens provide depth to the ledge, and make you feel as though you are in a tropical paradise.

Vincenzo says his father employed 4 stonemasons for many years to complete the construction of the villa and gardens. The result is fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

We had planned to do some traveling with a van we had rented. The van never showed up, so the owner Vincent stepped in -- he arranged an all day excursion for us to Amalfi/Positano/Ravello, our drive to the ferry for Capri, an outstanding dinner in town one night, cheese factory (where we made mozzarella), and an evening to a local shop where we ate a TON of locally made foods (and wine). The drivers arranged for us were much cheaper than our van rental! (FYI - When booking the place, check with the owner on the excursions available prior to booking them yourself).

Overall, the photos don't do the place justice...it's absolutely unbelievable! The villa is built on the side of a cliff, so there are spectacular views of the Mediterranean. Besides the photos on here of of the Pool, the Bar, and the rooms (which were awesome), the Villa had a wood fired oven which we used to make authentic pizzas (which the owner showed us how to make). There's also a garden with fresh vegetables and chickens (we had farm fresh eggs every morning)! Normally the group I travel with is very active, but the villa was so great we just spent 2 days at the villa relaxing at the pool and hanging out!
I would recommend this place in a HEARTBEAT!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

PARADISE....There's no other way to describe my stay at this Villa. One of the most relaxing vacations. Peaceful & quiet & breathtaking views. This was one of my favorite vacations! Vincenzo was wonderful and always very helpful. He really cares about his guests. One night he made us several different pizzas in the outdoor pizza oven...words cannot describe how delicious everything was. Not to mention the wonderful vegetables from the Villa garden & the Villa chickens. I highly recommend a vacation at La Grotta dei Fichi.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston N.H.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

I knew this villa was going to be beautiful but WOW not in my wildest dreams did we expect the place it was. This place is built into the side of a cliff over looking the Mediteranian Sea. It is 1000ft from one end to the other. It has these beautiful walkways with flowers and all these little sitting areas and the views from every direction it was so incredible. You had to wonder how they did this. One night we had Vincenzo to a pizza party for us in the wood pizza oven. What a great time he made the dough from scratch and made like 7 different pizza's best pizza we ever had. If you ever want to go to the Amalfi coast this is the place to stay. Believe me!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
406 reviews 406 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

When we booked the villa, we knew it was going to be something different- we wanted something different to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday. You drive down this private very curvy unpaved street until you see Vincenzo, the villa's host and manager waving you down on the street. From there you enter the villa and the view is breathtaking!! We spent July 4th week here and all we can say is WOW. Fantastic views from everywhere. Total isolation...total romance.....This villa has it all!! Really meant for more than two people, we had the time of our lives. The host, Vincenzo, is an expert not only of the area, but of the Gourmet culture of the region. He was kind enough to take us to an incredible gourmet store, for tastings of the best of the best food in the region...a place we could never find on our own. He recommended LOCAL restaurants with incredible food...for a fraction of the price of the tourist places. You had a desire, all you had to do was ask Vincenzo and it was done....La Grotta was heaven on earth!! On our last night Vincenzo recommended us to go to and incredible one star Michelin restaurant. Not only was it gorgeous, but the chef came out to greet us and made sure we had a memorable time. Turns out, he's a great friend of Vincenzo!!

If you are looking for a place to relax, get away from it all if you want, (you can easily hop in your car and get to Positano or Sorrento in 15 minutes), this villa is a place to definetly consider. If you are into the gourmet scene, whether eating out, or cooking your own pizza in the villa's pizza forno, then this villa is very much for you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

I have traveled all over the world and honestly never expected this property could exceed the photos on the website, but it did! As we walked along the beautiful paths leading to the villa and beyond, we were speechless. WOW was the only word we could manage and we must have repeated it a hundred times! I have already booked another three weeks for my yoga retreats next year and cannot wait to return to this paradise. Thank you, Vincenzo, for an experience I will remember forever! Karen Rosand, Hudson, NY

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Grotta dei Fichi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grotta dei Fichi

Address: Meta Amalfi, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Piano di Sorrento
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive villa rental (sleeps up to 8 people) located on the Amalfi Coast, in a unique position carved from the cliff wall which falls sheer down to the sea. Its location, halfway between Sorrento and Positano (each less than 4 miles away),gives you immediate access to all the Coast’s major attractions. You will enjoy stunning sea views, a private pool, gym, sauna, vegetable garden, sundeck, grotto-bar, pizza oven, concierge service, Wine & Food Experiences. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Grotta dei Fichi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.