We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much nicer than Sorrento!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Approdo

Save Saved
You added L'Approdo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
L'Approdo
Via Marina di Cassano, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
treviso
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“So much nicer than Sorrento!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We arrived on a Monday, which is the only day the restaurant is closed, the owners were so kind as to make us a fantastic lunch before showing us to our rooms! Tonino, the really sweet owner and his wife, could not be more helpful! Our room is massive with views out over the marina we could not have asked for more! If you are thinking of going to Sorrento but do not want to be elbowing your way through the streets with the tourists then this is the place for you! We ate here a couple of times during our stay and the food was amazing! Price wise it is a good deal, you will not be disappointed if you book this hotel! I will come and stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Amazing place, would stay again. 

Pro; 
It's in the port where the boats to Capri leave from, 
Family run, so service is high,
Rooms are clean- our room had an amazing view over the port and was very large, 
Location is an easy walk from the station Piano Di sorrento,
Hotel owner has a restaurant and the food is Amazing- try the pizza
Price is very good for what you get
Coffee in the morning is real coffee 
A little beach across the road if you want a swim,
The hotel sent my swimmers I left in the room to the next hotel so I could have them in the next place :) 
 
Cons; we didn't know there was a lift down the cliff side so we walked down, yep that's all I can fault! 

This place is a great stay and the boat trip we did was fantastic! Blue grotto is a must, even if you think it's a bit touristy. 

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had spent 2 weeks roadtripping the southern Italian coast, and were long overdue a few hours of chilling.
We don`t very often leave time for that, because we get bored doing it.
Then we arrived at this little jewel of a hotel/harbour/peninsula/in the most beautiful country in the world.
Our host was so welcoming, and showed us to a wonderful attic suite of rooms, with an amazing view over the harbour towards Capri.
The kitchen area was out of use, unless pre-arranged for a fee, I believe, but that was understandable. Bathroom was immaculate, and unusual, but sadly missing a bath.
Immaculately clean, superbly located.
Head down to the harbour, turn right and follow the quay, and you`ll come cross a sweet little swimmable still water beach, with caves and rockpools if your into exploring the nature of a place, with only 1 or 2 other tourists this time of year.
And sunset photos are stunning from here.
There is also an excellent restaurant at that end of the beach, Ristorante Fracatell`.....tell the lovely ladies Maria from England sent ya !!
(if L`Approdo isn`t open of course !!

The most perfect end to an amazing trip.
Really wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here for a romantic long weekend and it could hardly have been more perfect. The room was large, clean and comfortable, Tonino and his family were friendly and professional, and the restaurant, right on the waterfront, was excellent and very reasonably priced. The hotel is 15/20 minutes' walk from Piano Station on the line from Naples to Sorrento (downhill all the way and thus uphill on the way back!). The only downside was the noise of Vespa tricycles which started rather early in the morning and was audible despite the double glazing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We spent our first wedding anniversary in May. Great place and lovely atmosphere. Antonio and his family are really genuine yet so professional. Felt like home really.
Room was clean and spacious and Antonio did his best to give us a sea-front view.
Centre is a bit far away but also a nice 10 minutes walk among the green lemon tree and the train station which takes you to Sorrento in 10 minutes.

FOOD was simply outstanding. Fresh ingredients, moderate prices and great service always with a smile.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We arrived very late to Piano de Sorrento (having to wait for Naples airport bus) and Tonio arranged a taxi for us. his friend - Emilio charged us 20 euros as opposed to the usual 15 euros for a 7 minute journey. Tonio met us at his restaurant and we were overcome by the amount of noise from the nearby road, which was directly beneath our window. This noise went on until 2am almost every night.
On a positive note, the fishing port is beautiful and feels quite secluded from the busy Piano de Sorrento. Most days we opted to travel daily in the lift to Piano de Sorrento as opposed to waiting for the "hourly" bus service to decide to arrive. Tonio's restaurant did serve delicious food, but we would have liked more of a variety for breakfast, rather than a danish pastry and bottle of
tap water, with coffee. There is a couple of more friendly and relaxed restaurants/cafes around the corner.
We unexpectedly managed to coincide our holiday with the atrocious "Miss Versuvias" event, which had 7 hours of extremely loud music and echoing presenter's voices. Luckily, this only happens once a year - avoid if you can.
We did have an interesting holiday, visiting Pompei and other small villages - best done on the reliable train.

Room Tip: The further away from the road, the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Approdo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Approdo

Address: Via Marina di Cassano, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your L'Approdo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Approdo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.