We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like I was leaving home when we left” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rathkeale House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rathkeale House Hotel to your Saves list
Rathkeale House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Main Street, Rathkeale 000, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rathkeale
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Felt like I was leaving home when we left”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed here because of its location in relation to our family history, and found the place to be excellent - the accommodation was of a high standard, the bar and restaurant were comfortable and the menu varied and food well presented and delicious, the staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful beyond expectation right down to providing Vegemite. However a winter warning: the room heating and hot water were turned off at about 9pm.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
13
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Springs, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Originally booked for 2 but stayed for 4 days, This couple were attentive to all our needs.
Damian was an outstanding host and Brenda his wife was wonderfully cordial. The Hotel is beautifully restored with many interesting items on shelves throughout. The food was excellent and our room was quite comfortable and attractive. This wonderful couple drove us to our destination when we found we were unable to secure a taxi on a Sunday. The full Irish Breakfast was sensational and this is truly a Beautiful, Warm, Spotles, Convenient and Friendly lodging!

Ireland seems to have high sides on their bathtubs making it quite difficult to get in and out. We found this to be so at almost every place we stayed, so of course we are not faulting the hotel, but be aware this is something one frequently encounters in Ireland.

Room Tip: We liked being on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my 82yr old father visiting relatives. Hotel very happy and willing to accommodate the variable needs of an octogenarian, friendly staff, great food - especially breakfast. Had a family meal for 8 on Sat eve - had a very pleasant night, good food and service. Family room large and very clean - got a good b&b rate - would thoroughly recommend. My father recommends the Guinness and my septuagenarian Aunt has lunch here twice a week - what else could I possibly add?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Our 2 day visit extended to 8 days....this hotel is perfect for touring all the sights of Southern Ireland...It is the best kept secret the hotel is comfortable spotlessly clean and caters for marvellous food congenial and helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble for Damien and all the staff at the hotel. It was such a surprise to find an Aussie running this hotel and bringing his Australian charm and uniqueness as well as his irish heritage making this experience a once in a life time one for us. The bike riding trail that runs close to the back of the hotel was a highlight for us enabling us to see even more of the Irish countryside as well as some much needed exercise to combat all that marvellous food and of course the Irish hospitality in the well appointed bars in Rathkeale House Hotel.

Room Tip: Any room would be a good selection as this hotel is not near any high traffic area and is surrounded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Room was comfortable. clean and well kept. Staff were excellent and provided helpful hints on sights to see nearby. Breakfast and dinner choices were good, food was plentiful and wholesome. Wine choices were good and prices reasonable. Bar had some nooks to get away from (some of) the noise. Plenty of car parking. Hotel is run by an Australian (Irish). Local village has no other real options for dining. Location is good for sightseeing/activities within 2 hour drive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in Rathkeale House Hotel as we were attending a wedding in Adare- a 10 minute drive away. The staff at the hotel were absolutely fantastic, the receptionist/manager assisted with my hair crisis and did a fabulous job; she happened to have a qualification in hairdressing luckily for me! We got a good deal on the suite which was fabulous- the room was large, pristine and quiet. We had trouble with hot water which was promptly resolved on telling reception. The breakfast each morning was super and so was the friendly service. The staff really went above and beyond to help, even calling in their accountant to bring a set of jump leads when I left the lights on in my car and the battery went flat! The car park is very spacious which made everything easier and the hotel itself is very easy to find from the main road. There does not seem to be much in Rathkeale itself, but the hotel's close proximity to Adare meant it was perfect for us. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The suite was brilliant- I'm glad I paid a tad extra for this luxury!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just got back from Ireland and Paris. This is one of the best kept secrets in Ireland. The hotel was ready and waiting to accommodate the guests. I was amazed how quiet the rooms were. There was a wedding at the hotel which went on all night (the irish know how to live) but you would never know it. The employees went above and beyond the call of duty. The gardens are so well manicured my children had the best time just running outside. It did not matter what time of day or night it was the staff always had a smile on there face and went out of there way to make our stay memorable. The food and service was top notch. I would highly recommend you take the time and visit Rathkeale and stay at this very affordable hotel. You will not be disappointed. The irish are the friendliest people but the people of Rathkeale are very special. i was very impressed with the culture and the community feeling you get in this town in West Limerick. It shows at this hotel. You all are rock stars. Thanks from your Las Vegas friends.

Room Tip: We stayed for four nights so I stayed on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rathkeale House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathkeale House Hotel

Address: Lower Main Street, Rathkeale 000, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Rathkeale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rathkeale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rathkeale House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an old orchard well recessed from the Main Street, with ample parking for 200 cars and coach bays. Rathkeale House oozes the charm and character of an old world hotel. However this purpose-built hotel only opened in 1997. Large, spacious public areas high ceilings, earthy colour decor, open fires and the use of wood create a unique atmosphere. The hotel has 26 tastefully-decorated bedrooms, all en-suite, with direct-dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities and multi-channel TV. Relax in the foyer where you may enjoy a leisurely drink by the warm glow of an open log fire. Be it that special treat, evening meal, wedding function or conference it is without doubt an ideal central venue. Newly Re-opened The Hotel was reopened in September 2011 under the ownership of Damien & Brenda O’Grady. Damien, Australian born has returned to his roots as his father was born just outside Rathkeale. Family-Run The hotel is family-run so you can be assured of personal attention at all times. It is our aim to ensure that your stay will be a truly memorable experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Ideally Located The Hotel is ideally located for business travel & holiday makers with Shannon, Cork & Farranfore Airports all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Rathkeale House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rathkeale House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.