We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, Cuisine and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rathkeale House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rathkeale House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rathkeale House Hotel
Lower Main Street, Rathkeale 000, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Hikers,Cyclists Speacial
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Rathkeale
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent value, Cuisine and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We recently went to Rathkeale House for lunch. It is not surprising that the place was packed with people waiting. This hotel was closed and is now open under new management who really know what they are doing. The food is excellent with a great choice and very reasonably priced. I would recommend going for a meal or if you like dancing go along any Sunday evening around 9pm. you won't be disappointed. This is Adult dancing with the good old time waltz, quick steps, jiving, etc........ Great crowd and the atmosphere is terrific. Enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
8
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a very friendly, cosy, hotel with great food and service. It's in the center of historic Rathkeale village and a short drive from Adare (tourist) village and the bustling town of Newcastle West. It's also close to Clonshire equestrian center.

I've stayed there twice and dined there many many times, most recently in December 2012. I had an early schedule. Too early for regular breakfast hours so the staff also got up early and opened the restaurant just for me. I can't see a larger hotel doing that for one guest.

If you are in the area, the Rathkeale House hotel is the place to stay and dine. I'd highly recommend it.

Room Tip: On the 1st (ground) floor, I'd recommend odd numbered rooms if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COUNTY LIMERICK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Restaurant at Rathkeale House Hotel is on our doorstep, but we hadn't used it since the Hotel re-opened under new Management/Ownership. We booked dinner for the extended family, 13 in total. The menu was very well priced with plenty of choices. I was amazed at the presentation and quality of the food, it far exceeded our expectations. The Chef is very talented, everything was cooked to order and perfectly executed, The Monkfish was the nicest I have tasted in a long time. We are fortunate to have this fine place and will certainly return again and again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed in Rathkeale House Hotel on Nov 17th/18th 2012 for a Darts event.From the moment we arrived and met with Liz at the reception,we got a friendly feeling about the place,that continued with the waiting staff in the bar where we had beautiful food chosen from a good choice menu.The room was comfortable,the shower a bit dodgy hot/cold ,but everything else ok.When we met Damian,the hard working proprietor,we could see the friendliness came from the top.Damian worked long hours to make sure everything was A1 for the duration of the tournament.Prices were reasonable throughout and the feedback from fellow players was very positive.Would have no problem travelling to that venue again.James/Mgt Mayo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a nice small hotel with above basic comforts. It is now under new management and there is certainly a friendly welcome. The new food programme here is exceptional and well worth a visit. You will always get a good meal and service with a smile
The rooms are fine and very comfortable. There is usually a good buzz in the bar which is mainly locals

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campagnano di Roma, Italy
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

I should have posted a review of the Rathkeale House years ago. By chance I came across it in TA hotel reviews for County Limerick and remembered. My cousin and I stayed there a week way back in February of 2004 when we were in Ireland searching for our family roots. At Rathkeale it was cold and frosty outside but warm and welcoming inside! The room was large and very nicely furnished. I don't recall lacking for anything. The hotel's pub and restaurant were very accomodating and we spent several fun-filled nights drinking Guinness with the locals. The food served both in the pub and the restaurant was very good and the full Irish breakfasts in the morning of course meant no one was hungry at lunchtime. The owner and his staff were great. All in all it was a very enjoyable experience.

  • Liked — The comfortable facilites and services provided
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed February 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

Rathkeale House is a fanstastic family run hotel in the heart of rathkeale.the hotel staff are very friendly and extremely helpful and the hotel is in a very lovely location.Excellent food and good service is always Guaranteed.

  • Liked — Good location excellent facilities and very friendly staff and locals.
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rathkeale House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathkeale House Hotel

Address: Lower Main Street, Rathkeale 000, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Rathkeale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Rathkeale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an old orchard well recessed from the Main Street, with ample parking for 200 cars and coach bays. Rathkeale House oozes the charm and character of an old world hotel. However this purpose-built hotel only opened in 1997. Large, spacious public areas high ceilings, earthy colour decor, open fires and the use of wood create a unique atmosphere. The hotel has 26 tastefully-decorated bedrooms, all en-suite, with direct-dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities and multi-channel TV. Relax in the foyer where you may enjoy a leisurely drink by the warm glow of an open log fire. Be it that special treat, evening meal, wedding function or conference it is without doubt an ideal central venue. Newly Re-opened The Hotel was reopened in September 2011 under the ownership of Damien & Brenda O’Grady. Damien, Australian born has returned to his roots as his father was born just outside Rathkeale. Family-Run The hotel is family-run so you can be assured of personal attention at all times. It is our aim to ensure that your stay will be a truly memorable experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Ideally Located The Hotel is ideally located for business travel & holiday makers with Shannon, Cork & Farranfore Airports all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rathkeale House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rathkeale House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.