We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent centre, expensive dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ionad An Bhlascaoid Mhoir / The Blasket Centre

Ionad An Bhlascaoid Mhoir / The Blasket Centre
Dun Chaoin, Baile an Fheirtearaigh, Dunquin, Ireland
353 66 9156444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Dunquin
Type: Ancient Ruins, History Museums, Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Geologic Formations, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This cultural center explores the unique history, art and culture of the Blasket Islands.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent centre, expensive dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We visited this interpretive center again last week and happily found that the entrance fee had been dropped for the day. Excellent center which much impressed our guests. To be recommended. However a coke in the food center was exorbitant. They need to seriously look at food costs.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    14
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Could have spent a whole day there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

A most comprehensive visitor centre with well informed and passionate staff. Excellent exhibits which really give the atmosphere of the place when it was inhabited. A bookstore served a lovely gentleman who hates parting with books.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Beautiful view,excellent fish and chips, and friendly and helpful staff. It was nice of them to take the time to give us detailed directions and history to a church we wanted to see. It is definitely worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
“Amazing Centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is one of the best cultural centres I have visited. The building is very impressive and fits in beautifully into the beautiful landscape. The the Blasket Islands are presented wel, a particularly effective blend of visual and information. Really good place to visit and an excellend book shop.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
99 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“The Blascoad Centre is a Prerequisite for Visiting Great Blasket Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This centre is an award-winning tribute to the life and culture of the hardy, Irish Gaelic-speaking fisher folk who lived on Great Blasket Island as recently as 1953. This interactive centre has photos, quotes, pictures and audio. Do not miss the twenty-minute film. It includes priceless interviews with the islanders from decades past.

I wanted to go to Great Blasket Island even before I visited this center. Afterward, I couldn't wait. It made my visit the next day twice as enjoyable.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ionad An Bhlascaoid Mhoir / The Blasket Centre also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle Peninsula, County Kerry
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Ionad An Bhlascaoid Mhoir / The Blasket Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ionad An Bhlascaoid Mhoir / The Blasket Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.