We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view and great hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ethrion

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ethrion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ethrion
I. Kosma 24, Ermoupolis, Hermoupolis 84100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Hermoupolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view and great hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Best room for the value! George is very helpful and a great host!

The rooms are really clean and if you want to get a picturesque view of the city and the port/sea, make sure to get a room on the upper level! It is breathtaking! Superbe view of Hermoupolis town.

Located 100m from the ocean front and 2 mins from the center o the town, you can't go wrong with Ethrion. Would go back anytime!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    23
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
25
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Very satisfied even in the peak period in August. Clean rooms cleaned every day and beds laid every day, 80 steps from the center and the bus station. After a long day walking in the city of Syros and admiring the classical buildings of marble and stone or enjoying gourmet food and excellent music varieties at the wine bars - pubs we rested on our room balcony or hotel balcony and enjoyed the marvelous view of the port and city center. A real good value for money ! In addition Mr Yiorgos is always there to help with any info about the Syros island.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was my second time visiting Ethrio and I have to say that it was not by chance. The rooms are spacious, airy with a mini refrigerator to cool your fruits & drinks and have balcony where you can relax overlooking the old port. Since Ethrio is located in a small sidewalk, there is no noise and it is secure to sleep with the windows open. There is also a yard, very uncommon for establishments of that time, where you can have your breakfast or just have a rest after swimming and before going to your room. The rooms are mopped every day, and they change towels every second or third day. The owner of the establishment speaks several languages, so no problem there, and is a great ‘ambassador’ of his island by giving great tips and advices. Have fun!

Room Tip: the rooms on the ground floor are for families and are overlooking the yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellerup, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Host, Mr. George, very friendly.
Room spacious and clean with a fantastic view of the sea, Hermoupolis and the harbour.
Close to downtown Hermoupolis which is only rather many steps away:-) (2 minutes going down) but good for your health when going up again which will take about 4 minutes unless you run.
We shall surely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

It is well worth the climb up from the harbour to this pleasant hotel with views over the roof tops down to the port. Rooms are spacious and airy with water views from the balconies.

The friendly owner, George, is a cheerful and willing source of information and we enjoyed Syros all the more from following his suggestions.

I would definitely stay at the Hotel Ethrion again should I be lucky enough to return to Syros.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in May this year and the accomodation was probably the best we have ever had in Greece. George, the owner, was incredibly helpful and so keen for us to have a great time. The room we had was on the top floor and was massive, light and airy with a very comfortable double bed, bed settee, wardrobe, bedside tables, fridge, kettle, TV, large shower (and a great one at that) and 2 balconies. The large balcony (which opened from 2 sets of double doors) had the most amazing view of the port but because the hotel is set back (up a number of steps) from the front, is quiet and peaceful. We got the sun on the balcony until about 3pm. The smaller side balcony looked over the front of the hotel and the small streets beside it and got the sun until about 5pm. The accommodation was spotless and sheets and towels were changed on a daily basis, and considering we only paid 40 eouros a night (including air con) was an absolute bargain. It is a 5 minute (maximum) walk down the steps to the port so is in a great location. I cannot recommend this hotel enough and would not hesitate to stay again if (or rather when!) we return to Syros.

Room Tip: I can't remember the number of the room but ask for the top floor with the large double balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I arrived here at Ethrion unannounced at the end of October and were greeted very warmly by the owner who lives next door. The room was very clean and new feeling with a nice balcony looking towards the hillside and the water (somewhat) other rooms would have more a waterfront view than ours. There is a common covered balcony across from our room also that looks over the harbor which is very nice. It is a block or so up the hill but still a good location close to everything.

I would definitely stay at Ethrion again. Very clean and quiet in a good location (if you don't mind a few steps) at a nice price. We stayed on the waterfront the night before at a different place and it was a bit loud, so to be slightly up the hill was good for us.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ethrion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ethrion

Address: I. Kosma 24, Ermoupolis, Hermoupolis 84100, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Syros > Hermoupolis
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Hermoupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ethrion family hotel is situated on a quiet pedestrian street 150 meters above Syros harbor. It is easily accessible on foot from the ferry. Every room is clean, modern, and comfortable with bathroom, air conditioning (and heating), cable television, and fridge most of the rooms have balcony and sea view. The Ethrion provides free use of a computer connected to the internet, daily maid service, and warm-hearted advice. Free Wireless Wi-Fi offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Ethrion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ethrion Hotel Siros
Hotel Ethrion Hermoupolis, Greece - Syros

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ethrion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.