We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Syros' hidden gem! Charming quality hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aegli Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aegli Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aegli Hotel
14 Kleisthenous Street | Ermoupolis, Hermoupolis 84100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Hermoupolis
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Syros' hidden gem! Charming quality hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

We received an outstanding service there (especially Dionisia at the front desk). The hotel and the room was very nice and spotless; quite a hidden gem! It was quite a surprise to have such service and quality for this much money. The location is great, not in the harbor but two blocks from it...everything is so close in Eurmoupoli so there is hardly a bad location.

The terrace has great views to the harbor and to Ano Syros. The breakfast was not bad...just basic.

Also, there is a fantastic chocolate shop down the steps from the Hotel..you should definitely try it!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

This hotel is a great find on the wonderful island of Syros. Located far enough away from the port to be quiet but with great views of the city from the balcony or the rooftop garden open to all guests. Rooms are on the small side but clean and relatively new. The hotel was affordable and romantic.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

We stayed at the Aegli hotel for 3 nights in May 2007. I specified a double room with balcony when booking but when we arrived we were given a pokey room with 2 single beds (not even made up as a double.) When we complained, we were told it was a Greek bank holiday and as we arrived late we were given a shoddy room. (The hotel staff knew it would be too late for us to find another hotel.) They did move us the next day, but first impressions definetly counted.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Aegli Hotel, in Ermoupolis on Siros, for 2 nights in April, 2005. This 13 room hotel was very clean, with nice rooms, marble floors and a lovely rooftop terrace with plenty of chairs and nice views of the harbor and town. The Hotel staff were very friendly.

Ermoupolis is a lovely town with a very nice waterfront, a nice town square and plenty of nice restaurants and shops. One day we drove around the island in a little rental car and took lots of pix of the beautiful scenary and beaches. The island is beautiful! Siros is not a huge tourist destination, so if you want to relax and not be overrun by other tourists, check it out. We arrived by ferry and the boat trip was fun and very quick from Pirearus (sp?). The rate was 60 euros/night, but we were there before the tourist season was really underway.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aegli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegli Hotel

Address: 14 Kleisthenous Street | Ermoupolis, Hermoupolis 84100, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Syros > Hermoupolis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Hermoupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Aegli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegli Hotel Hermoupolis, Greece - Syros

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aegli Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.