We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IDEAL CITY HOTEL IN ERMOUPOLIS, SYROS GREECE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hermes

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hermes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Hermes
Hermoupolis, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Hermoupolis
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“IDEAL CITY HOTEL IN ERMOUPOLIS, SYROS GREECE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Hotel HERMES at a central spot of thE harbour, next ot historical building of ''PORT offices'', is a very good choice for a traveller who wants to be in the neoclassical city of Ermoupolis IN THE ISLAND OF SYROS. Also it is next to pedestrian roads and very close to the by the sea bars and coffee shops. Rooms are spacious with A/C with nice view to the sea. The hotel has two facades looking the sea and the city. Reception and waiters in the hotel are quite friendly, the common areas as lobby and the restaurant are fine. I visited the hotel in winter, but I belive that it is also suitable for summer visits.

Room Tip: Prefer rooms looking the harbour towards the city, meaning the front view of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
13
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Just returned from Syros, where we stayed at Hermes for 2 nights. The hotel is located at the port, within walking distance from everything. Rooms are rather small but well-mailntained and quiet. I did notice some cracks on a wall, but it didn't really bother me since my main concern - the bathroom was fully renovated and clean. We stayed on the top floor at room 304 which had a nice port/sea view.
Negatives: Reception ladies are not accommodating at all. We arrived at 10am and couldn't accommodate us till 3pm. Check was at 12pm. No apologies no nothing. Not even a smile.
Major downer: our balcony, which was about 10cm wide. We couldn't even hang the beach towels and get them dried out. Our friends stayed at rooms 301 + 303 which were top notch as the room were huge and had a great terrace - nothing like the room where we stayed..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The hotel is in the center of Syros town. The rooms are very cosy with all the modern amenities. The prices were very reasonable. Hot point the hotel's restaurant with cheap prices but high quality dishes! The menu had a variety of dishes to choose all very well cooked. We were very satisfied with our stay. It was our second stay in Hermes Hotel and will certainly go again. People in Syros are very friiendly!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

The hotel is located in the harbour of Syros, really close to everything. It looks great from the outside and the view is nice. Inside it has some problems. Lots of stairs, a bit warm and smelly interior. The rooms are just ok, although there seems to be a problem with the mattress. Breakfast was just fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Although it is located in a very priviledged position in Ermopupolis but the hotel itself was not what we expected.
It has to be renavated asap; everything (except the lobby and the conference room) looks old and rusty, the walls, the firniture, the heating pipes...
We were also given a 2-bed room instead of a double bed room but the real problem was the quality of our sleep! It was almost terrible; the beds and pillows were awful, and the room was far from beeing soundproof, we could here not only people walking on the corridor but also the noise of the engins of the ships in the harbour.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

This hotel is situated in the center of Ermoupoli a few meters from the harbor of Ermoupolis
The room itself need a little bit of refresh but if you have sea view room you beilieve that you are just by the sea .The breakfast buffet was good.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Hermes is centrally located in Ermoupolis.
Old nice hotel in an excellent building with recently renovated rooms fantastic views from some rooms.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Hermes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermes

Address: Hermoupolis, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Syros > Hermoupolis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Hermoupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Hermes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Siros
Hotel Hermes Hermoupolis, Greece - Syros

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hermes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.