We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ammos Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ammos Apartments
Save
You added Ammos Apartments to your Saves list
Malia, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I don't really know what to say about Ammos. The place, the staff are all excellent. We stayed in late August 2010 and it was brilliant, we pretty much had the place to ourselves. The food is excellent, massive portions! Great location, its off the strip in a secluded part and very quiet which is ideal as the strip is very lively and loud. Its just fantastic its quite possibly the best group holiday i've had and the apartments certainly made it for me :)!! I really would love to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

stayed at ammos five times now /very clean. great bar leffty is so much fun and will do enything you ask /// the food is excellent the maid is now like my sister miss her so much it is a family run hotel and nothing trouble hoping to go back this year but i am not sure if the family still owne the ammos it wont be the same whith out them ,lefftyis so kind and is b/q are exxxxx ammos is god fore all ages ,hope to be back soon xxxxxxxxx annette.LONDON

Room Tip: higher floors not good if you have children
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Going away on my end of school 6th year holiday to Malia, I was expecting the worst when it came to arriving at our accommodation, but was pleasantly surprised.

With spacious rooms, lovely staff and a short walk from the beach and main strip it was perfect, we definitely had the nicest apartments out of our entire group who were there. Unlike others, we weren't tricked into paying extra charges for the rooms and the staff were happy to help us out with anything.

There were lots of other people there our age but at night the apartments were quiet so it was nice to get some sleep after a late night out!

The pool was nice and the bar drinks and food were great, I would definitely return here if I got the opportunity to go to Malia again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

My 2 friends and myself stayed here for a week in August. Great bar food which was really cheap and the portions were HUGE, good location for those who are going for the party side of Malia and right beside the beach! Didn't have to get a taxi at all because everything we needed was close by. The security man was very friendly and made the place feel safer as he was around for the full night. I would advise a safe as other people staying had money and other possessions stolen from their rooms. Until checking out we would have returned because everything that Ammos Apartments offered us is was ideal. It was all young people who came at the same as us, and music was played at the pool all day, so I wouldn't recommend families to stay here.
Big downfall at staying here, all 3 of our passports were taken for the full week and didnt get them back until we were about to be collected by our bus to the airport. We had to use our own beach and pool towels for most of the holiday in the room as our towels weren't once changed and only had 3, and our bed linen wasnt changed either. We also had problems trying to check out. We were ready to check out at quarter to 12 (check out time at 12pm), and then one of the women came to check our rooms, which we weren't told of when checking in. She tried to charge us for a fourth towel that we weren't given in the first place, then checked our bed linen and towels to see if they were dirty and said because they were dirty that she would be charging 60 euros for 3 towels ... My friend ended up having to go to the supermarket to buy soap powder to wash the towels and bedlinen in the shower and sink ( would have been cheaper to buy new towels as they were so cheap looking). We then had to go out to the pool/bar area 4 times infront of other people staying (how embarassing!) to see if the towels were clean enough, spent an hour and 15 minutes in total trying to scrub towels that weren't that dirty and that hadn't been changed in a weeks stay. She charged us 15 euros for one towel and then charged us an extra 5 euros because we didn't check out by 12pm. Which we would have if she hadn't made us scrub towels which the cleaner is for. She would not give us our passports back and allow us to check out until we paid which we had no option but to do since our bus was picking us up in the afternoon. The women that dealt with us in checking out could hardly speak a word of english and was very rude to us. She also said that she won't be taking Brits back again, but I wouldn't have went back anyway

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Ammos hotel lived up to all expectations. The staff were very knowledgable and nothing was too much trouble.The food was excellent ,in our weeks stay, we only ventured off site for 1 lunch and 2 evening meals as there was always plenty of choice and always top quality produce.The hotel was clean and modern and in an excellent position.The only possible downside were other guests who let their children run riot !!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you ask fro a sea view-be aware that the sea is very loud !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

My husband, daughter and myself stayed at the Ammos apartments in September 2011.
We arrived at 10.35pm and had a short walk down a dark lane to get to them. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived.
After three days.
What can I say! Same music played all day every day at the pool area nearly drove us mad approximately 15/20 repetitive songs. Apartment was for three adults not enough cutlerly, dishes, pillows, chairs etc, when we spoke to the manager on our first day he was very unhelpful the cleaner brought us our mismatched dishes, cutlery after telling her and she just about spoke english. If you like toast bring your own toaster they don't have one in the apartment, no microwave, no tv, your cooking facilities are kept under the sink. A portable hob. The air conditioning costs fifty euros per week bring your own fan they dont rent anything other than the safe and air con. The bar staff seemed to argue loudly with each other every day they did not appear very happy. On a better point the room was cleaned every day, the pool area was clean however you were not allowed to eat/drink your own food around the pool area due to some tax law! We would have bought from the bar at the pool but they did not have diet coke,fizzy water, baileys, and they had no draft beer.
Other tourists who stayed at the Ammos did not arrive into their rooms until 5.00am on Wednesday yet the day before their departure they were told to vacate their rooms at 12.00pm on the Tuesday. If they wanted to remain in their rooms until 6.00pm on the Tuesday they had to fork out another twenty five euros.
The area outside of the lane in which the Ammos is situated was very run down, rubbish and derelict cars etc and if you wanted to get to Stalis it was a leg weary 30 minute walk away. Malia town for those of you who like to party is ideal. Be careful of the taxi drivers they will rob you blind agree a price with them before you get into their car.
The best place to eat and this is a must is the KNOSSOS in Stalis. The food is fantastic, good value for money and the staff are really nice. You are not bothered by them and they provide greek yoghurt/fruit compote, and a glass of ouzo at the end of the meal free of charge. Won't be back to Crete for a long time if ever.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNITED KINGDOM
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We were nine altogether in three rooms.The rooms were basic but did the job.It was very noisy from ten in the evening till one thirty in the morning,when all the youngsters went out on the town.and noisy again around six in the morning when they came back.The area was great plenty of pubs and restaraunts,and shops.As i understad the Ammos wont be avalable to the Brits next year,as the owner is taking in the Dutch instead,(Apparently Thomas Cook was not paying enough.)Watch out for the mosquitos they are deadly.

Room Tip: Basic but did the job
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ammos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammos Apartments

Address: Malia, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Ammos Apartments Hotel Malia
Ammos Apartments Malia, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ammos Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.