We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parthenis Palace Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Parthenis Palace Apartments to your Saves list
Parthenis Palace Apartments
Arsinois Street, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Malia
h0liday28
1 review
“loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

We booked this holiday as a last minute trip and was not disappointed. After a long day of travelling we finally arrived in the early hours of the morning, the hotel looked like it was in the middle of nowhere but after afew hours sleep we awoke to glorious sunshine and after a little stroll we found the hotel to be in a perfect location, close enough to all the bars, tavernas but far away from the loud music at night. Parthenis palace is a very clean and friendly place to stay and we would not hesitate to stay here again. The pool was very clean and the bar staff very friendly. We found this an ideal place to explore and theres plenty of places to hire quad bikes/cars from. You will find that this hotel is on a long road between stalis and malia, it is closer to malia so you get the best of both places, we used to take it in turns stalis one night malia the next. There are plenty of places to eat and drink we went the first week in sept and found this time to be just right not to crowded or quiet. All in all we would defo go back to this hotel and resort it was one of our best holidays

  • Liked — clean,friendly, close to amenities
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

Tracy & Craig, London
They say that you get what you pay for, not with the parthenis palace! Myself and my husband went for a last minute break (we are late 30's) and at first i was a bit wary of the noise from the nightlife but the hotel is far enough away from 'the strip' that you don't hear it. Even the young people staying at the hotel were quiet when they came home, although if they had been noisy the security that is in the hotel overnight would have kept them from making a noise. The rooms are large and fully equipped and the whole hotel is exceptionally clean. The staff are so helpful and cant do enough for you, especially Manos (the barman) and Christos, the manager. The only negative that i could say would be that the bar prices are quite expensive and they dont allow you to bring your own drinks and snacks to the pool area, but the prices are no worse than any other bar in the area. The flight times to and from crete are not brilliant either, but that is not the fault of the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Parthenis Place and are going back next year with our kids, 19 & 17 years old. We wouldnt hesitate to recommend this hotel or Malia itself as there is something for everyone.

  • Liked — the staff and the cleanliness
  • Disliked — not being able to bring your own drinks and snacks to the pool area
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
397 helpful votes 397 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

Booked a late deal thru Thomas cook £278 for the 2 of us which considering the price was a mega bargain . We were on the first flight of the year out of manchester to Heraklion so consequently the plane was full of young reps off to work for the holiday season , they were all very excited but polite .
I would say that 40 % of passengers were holidaymakers and the rest thomas cook employees . The evening flight went without a hitch but you do get to the apartments in the very early hours quite tired and it is actually counted as your first day - and to be perfectly honest the flight going back is a bit of a nightmare as your thrown out of your room at 12 noon or pay 25 euros untill 6pm and then still have to wait around for hours utill the 1.30 am COACH pickup . That is over 13 hours hanging around .
NOT VERY SUITABLE FOR PEOPLE WITH YOUNG CHILDREN
in their defence and in my honest opinion Malia is not a family resort - its club 18-30 in high season .
we couldnt complain for what we paid but do feel that these holiday companys rip people off - as in marketing the holidy for 7 nights when really its only 6 !
ANYWAY back to the Parthenis Palace Apartments . We were in the block to the rear of the complex away from the pool & bar area .Our studio was brilliant . we had the end one on the second floor which was huge . By far the biggest studio i have ever been . It was modern , clean , bright & very comfortable unusually well furnished but with the usual basic cooking facilitys but we enjoyed every minute and made some quite good meals on ur little 2 ring stove .Fridge , kettle etc everything you needed . We met up with a few of our fellow flight passengers and visited their apartments and was quite shocked - the Parthenis palace were the best of the bunch !
The grounds are immaculate , pool and bar area very upmarket .
In a great spot with gorgeus mountain views to the rear .
Crete in April is green and stunnigly beautifull with all the wild flowers etc it looked more like Switzerland ! The owners of the Partenis Palace obviously take great pride in their Apartments and in fact they have another hotel right on the beach which is very luxurious , another lot of apartments with cocktail bar and a number of shops . I for one would stay at these apartments agaian at the drop of a hat .
However Malia is deadly quiet in April - hardly anything is open , bars , shops , clubs etc but its one reedeeming feature was that the old town was buzzing - its were lots of locals live & work so hs an all year vibe about it .NOW Malia is not a cheap place for having a drink whether its a coffee or beer . The first drink taken at the Parthenis Bar cost us 5 euros for 2 small beers - i initially thought i had been conned by the barman but NO this is Malia and thats the price you pay ! Horrified we went to a local bar and ordered 2 coffees again 5 euros . To be honest we are not heavy drinkers but with the euro being so high against the pound spending £2.20 on a half of lager was pretty extortionate !
The old town reseraunts were much cheaper and we did most of ourdrinking there . The wine was especially good value .
The weather was awfull for our first 3 days . torrential downpours day after day - thunder and lighting but we didnt let it spoil our week . After that it was glorious but very cold when the sun went down . I have been to Crete before and loved it - i still do but i do not think Malia is the place for a family holiday - Stalis is much better but again i think the rest of the island has far much more to offer . Having spoken to a few of tthe locals i get the feel that they are fed up with the 18-30 label that Malia has gotten and want to try and quieten the place down - they want to have a resort that is busy from April untill October and not booming for just 6-8 weeks a year . If they can change those grotty tacky bars and get a more family vibe going on then Malia could very well thrive . The Parthenis Palace is a shining example of the local business men trying to improve the quality of their apartments and bars . The complex was of a quality that i have rarely seen in any of the greek islands . I would highly reccomend them .
i will download some pictures taken very soon .

  • Liked — The studio was large , comfy , well furnished cklean with a great bathroom
  • Disliked — Nothing - just the fact that your kicked out of your romm at 12 noon and dont get picked up untill 1.30am
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

My wife and I arrived in the early hours of the morning in darkness and we were shown to our room by the security guard which we nicknamed the dungeon. This was the one large dark dismal sparsely equipped room which smelt of damp. The first morning on opening our door we had a surprise to see that the bar area was situated only 3 steps away and the pool area 6 steps away and accompanied by the relentless thumping beat of the bar music. We highlighted our issues to the holiday rep and we changed rooms within 24 hours at extra cost!! The new apartment was located in the "new" block 100mtrs or so away and I must say that it was excellent though a pity we were not allocated the room in the first place. Before your stay check to make sure that you have booked an apartment and not a studio as it is not clear when you make your reservation online. The bar/pool and grounds were very clean, tidy and well kept. All of the drinks from the bar whatever combination add up to EUR7 for 2. We can recommend the Pyrgos restaurant for dining just past the Sterling garage on the road to Malia, good value for money and food quality was excellent. The downside to our stay was the waiting outside in the bar area untill 01:30 in the morning for the bus to come and pick us up for the transfer to the airport (bring your woolies!!!) you have to vacate the room at midday unless you pay EUR25 to stay on untill 18:00 which is a rip off, you just have no where comfortable to wait and god help you if it rains. Overall the service from the rep and staff was helpfull and we enjoyed our stay at the palace.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of the apartment, regular linen service.
  • Disliked — Quality of some of the rooms
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston, uk
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2008

We arrived at this hotel at 6 am after a delayed flight. There were no reception staff and the keys were left in the door. Another couple with children prefered our room to theirs and moved in leaving us in another room. A poor start.
The rooms are basic but clean. The beds firm but not uncomfortable. The bathroom was ok but the shower was small and difficult to use without flooding the floor. Plenty of hot water though. The appartments were very poorly equiped. No coffee makers, bread knives, wine glasses,soap, shampoo tea towels etc. Just a two ring hob , kettle , fridge and very limited crockery.

The bar and pool area were clean and well maintained, the bar staff were friendly and there were plenty of sunbeds.
Malia in early April is closed. The waterfront is dead and looks like a cross between the tackiest pars of Blackpool and a buiding site. Area aroun the church is better but nowhere as nice as Chania or Agios Nicolias(Sp?).
The whole Thomas Cook experiecn is tiring the flights re at times to give maximum sleep deprivation and leve you tackling the M60 or M25 at the worst times of day.
The holiday though was on offer at a very low price so not bad value for money

  • Liked — pool area
  • Disliked — poorly equiped
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2007

me and my 20 year old daughter have just returned from crete and what a fantastic holiday we had.The parthenis palace is in between stalis and malia .stalis is quite and not over busy and malia is busy ,bustling and a party paradise!!!So u have got the best of both worlds. The hotel is far enough away from the main strip ,so its nice and quite but close enogh to local shops and tavernas . we had no noise at night from the local hot spots. The room which we had was lovely ,clean, fresh and well maintained.Very big with plenty of closet space and hangers. A huge double bed ,small kitchenette,limited cooking facilities( but it so cheap to eat out anyway we only ate the odd bowl of cereal and cup off tea) so we werent that bothered. The bathroom was an ok size but the shower was very small so b aware of that.Lovely clean linen, towels e.t.c. maids came round every two days and cleaned and replenished towels.aircon available at 40 euros for the week and a safety deposit box was as well for an extra 25 euros or 55 euros for both.well happy with the security off a security box, the room double locked and there was a security guard at night that patroled the complex when the bar shut at around 2.00am.A mixture of guests of all ages. This hotel is exculsivley used by thomas cook uk. the pool is beautiful,cleaned every day,free sunbeds and the pool bar serves very nice food ,at a very good price. Cocktails galore!!Very helpful staff and reps they came everday to see if the guests were ok and needed anything . If they can they will let u keep your room after 12pm if you have a late flight for 25 euros but u need to ask the rep about it . you can also book excursions with them ( recommend the trip to spinalonga 'the island of tears'.) We ate out every day and the prices for food were very resonable we recommend The Brassiere along the main strip beautful food ,and very good value a lovely fillet steak for 11 euros ! beaches near by are lovely and many too choose from sunbeds to hire at 6 euros for two beds and a brolly.The only down side to this near perfect holiday are the quad bikes and mopeds wizzing in and out of the resort,there are not many paths so u are forever looking and moving out of the way . Our rep told us though as from next season 2008 these quads will be banned (thank god !!!) The weather when we went was 35c to 41c and as its a very breezy island you dont relise how hot the sun is .The heat because of the breeze is beautiful not muggy or sweating loads its perfect ,but you may not think its really hot because of the breeze but it is HOT HOT HOT !!!!! We had no mosqitos at all due to the time of year i believe.Theres plenty of cash machines, shops,supermarkets (ciggys are 30 euros for 200 (popular brands) or (18 euros for greek ciggys).Plenty of tavernas,cafes,beach bars ,night life a plenty!!! There is many pharmacies and doctors.Plenty of phone boxes to phone home . The people of crete are very very polite, happy, and friendly. they truly are beautiful people. I would with out doubt come back to this resort and hotel it really is a lovely place .I must lastly mention jiannes ,jiannis works the hotel bar in the evening and he made me and my daughter feel so very welcome he really is the most funniest ,entertaining person ive ever met . He couldnt do enough for you always giving you fresh fruit and ouzo shots. hes a legend and we will miss him so much he really made our holiday complete so if you go to the parthenis palce you will have a great time and quite simply the best time ever. please say hi to jiannis for us and tell him we hate him !!!!(a little joke we used to have with him it means we love him !!! ) I do hope you have just as much fun as we did, u never know u might have more !!!!! Happy holidays xxx

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

This is a good hotel with more positive points than negatives.

We stayed in a 4-bed room (one bedroom with twin beds and twin beds in the main living area).

Positive points about the room: spacious enough, maid service good (every other day sheets/towels changed)

Negative points: bathroom small (shower tiny!), air conditioning ineffective, except in the bedroom. Self catering but only very limited facilities: kettle, small hob to cook on, fridge. Crockery/cutlery/some pans etc. No toaster.

The hotel is about 10mins walk from the main strip, so ideal if you want to be within easy reach of the action but in a quieter location (although be careful walking back in the early hours...one of our friends was mugged).

Pool is a good size and clean, one of the better ones and the bar area is decent enough, with a good variety of meals for lunchtime snacks. Plenty of sunloungers for use around the pool. Pool table. Internet access.

No reception (the bar doubles up as this) so this did prove a bit of a problem...we didn't have bath towels one day and the guy behind the bar wasn't bothered about it. We also arrived in the early hours, so this was shut, so we couldn't get air con. until the next day, so it was a nightmare trying to get any sleep due to the heat.

Yanis (the evening barman) is totally mad!! He gives out plenty of free shots etc. and is a good laugh.

Air con. costs 40 euros per week and safety deposit box (in your room) costs another 25 euros per week.

We would probably stay here again.

  • Liked — The pool and surrounding area
  • Disliked — Staff could be a little unapproachable at times
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parthenis Palace Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parthenis Palace Apartments

Address: Arsinois Street, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Parthenis Palace Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parthenis Palace Apartments Malia, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parthenis Palace Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.