We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eltina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Malia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Eltina
Save
You added Hotel Eltina to your Saves list
Eleftheriou Venizelou 35 | Malia Main Road, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leeds
1 review
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Arrived at around 6am and welcomed by the staff with a shot of Raki. Ended up staying up with a beer watching the sunrise (beautiful scenery - really takes your breath away).

Staff was very friendly and approachable. Food was great. Rooms were great. The hotel itself was stunning (walked through some grape vines to the hotel).
Only downside is it's a bit of a walk to the beach (15-30 mins) but that isn't exactly a negative, time flies when you look at shops and reminisce the night before.

4 of us (mixed male and female) went and ended up meeting around 30 friends that to-date are keeping in touch and planning on meeting! Recommended for a boys/girls holiday. 5 Stars and one of the best weeks of my life!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with balconies facing the sunrise - 8am wake up from the heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    18
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Had an absolutly quality time out in malia and this hotel made the experience ! Lovely staff, lovely food and lots of well priced lovely booze, raki raki raki ! The rooms are basic and the pools freezing but don't let that put you off, we went end of season and had a quality time, (Eltina13 Much love, Joey x)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My friend and myself stayed in Eltina for a week early September. It was my first holiday on my own and I must say it will sure take a lot to top it. The hotel staff were all lovely and very helpful. The room was cleaned daily by a very kind cleaner. The location is not perfect but it is within walking distance to everything you need. I would definitely stay here again! :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Had an absolutly quality time out in malia and this hotel made the experience ! Lovely staff, lovely food and lots of well priced lovely booze, raki raki raki ! The rooms are basic and the pools freezing but don't let that put you off, we went end of season and had a quality time, (Eltina13 Much love, Joey x)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just got back from one of the best holidays I've had in a long time. (Stayed from 11th-18th September)

Arrived early hours of the morning and were greeted by a male rep for 18-30's. Got our keys and went to the room and for what we payed was BRILLIANT- it was clean and there was a hob, fridge and everything you need for self catering (Except a kettle).. but who needs one of those when you can boil water another way.

The only problem was the woman rep decided that a welcome meeting was needed there and then at 5.30a.m! and we just wanted to go to bed and we had already decided we weren't wanting to buy anything, She arrived then at half 10 and we said no to the package and we heard nothing from her again, which i guess is good if you want to relax. what is good about the reps is that they are there if you need them but it did feel like a little like 'dont buy anything from us, then don't expect us to talk to you'..

Pool area was great- I watched the owner clean the pool every night and you could tell, it was spotless except for the odd wasp but you cant help that. as we went in september the hotel wasnt that busy so there were plenty of sunbeds.. no need to reserve them!

The pool bar was great and the staff were lovely, always happy and ready to chat. some items on the menu felt expencive, for example the breakfast 5.20 euro but down on the strip you could pay 2.90, apart from that everything on the menu looked great- their baguettes are devine- 3 fillings for 3 euro!

Great location- 10 minutes walk one way to the strip and 15 the other way to the beach (totally worth a trip).

Room was cleaned everyday- new towels and bedding given every 3 days.. be aware though, you get 1 toilet roll for the week so maybe before you go pop a couple in your suitcase!

BRILLIANT HOLIDAY!!

Room Tip: we had room 306- it has a pool and sea view and not at all noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed at the Eltina for 11nights. Room was what we paid for, cant expect much else for the price. Staff are lovely and helpful. Pool and bar area are lovely. Had no problems with our stay. Room was cleaned every other day and bed sheets\new towels where given every 3rd/4thday. 5min walk from the strip and about 20min walk to the beach. Food was lovely from the bar, and service was great. Maria is a lovely lady and very helpful. Overall a lovely holiday, and a great hotel. Would defo go back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed in Eltina with my boyfriend for a week after Thomas Cook moved us from Malia Holidays with no prior notice.
We were greeted on arrival by our Club 18-30 rep and taken to the bar/reception to meet Maria the manager, she gave us free welcome shot and our keys
.
Our room was basic but clean, 50euro for air-con and 15euro for safe. We were facing the pool and bar which is 24hr so it can be a bit noisy through the night.
The rooms are designed for self-catering, there's a fridge, a hob and cutlery, but there's no kettle.
We had to move room the second day as we had no hot water and our toilet wouldn't flush, but apart from this the rooms were fine and the staff were very helpful when we moved.

The pool areas and bar facilities are good, plenty of sunbeds and there is excellent customer service, all the staff are very helpful and friendly.

The only problem we had was with our rep, who after arranging our welcome meeting, never showed up and then ignored us for the rest of the week. He said we could get bed and breakfast that was paid for from our original hotel and then failed to tell us that we actually couldn't get it so we ended up paying more.

Great place to stay, bad reps.
Thanks for a great week!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eltina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eltina

Address: Eleftheriou Venizelou 35 | Malia Main Road, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Malia
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
42 Studios and apartments from 1 to 4 persons, 2 swimming pools, 2 bar (one 24hours open), sun terrace , sun beds, reception, free wifi public areas, ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Eltina Malia, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eltina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.