We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first visit to crete” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aktia Lounge Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Aktia Lounge Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aktia Lounge Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Agiou Ioannou Street, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 92 hotels in Malia
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“first visit to crete”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

a quality hotel on arrival good check in room great views(sea) brilliant a very comfortable quiet room beach location really good and had their own beach,swimming pools were great infinity pool really good and plenty of sun beds and parasols available , the staff were friendly mostly east european , ok agree the food could have been labeled but didn't cause any problems unless you had a food allergy and was well cooked and tasted fine. A couple of niggles with restaurant during lunch was served in outside area covered which was fine unless it was windy which on one occasion it was, also found bar a bit silly why have 2 bars and you can only get all inclusive from outside bar .loved stalis tavernas and bars were really good, people really friendly would go again do go to the hotel al la carte you pay for drinks but food was great well worth it

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
24
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel in a great location on the beach and in the centre of the town of Stalis. Staff all veyhelpful and friendly. Management just ignore guests and are rude to the staff. It is very modern and just a bit to sparkly furnished for my particular taste. Down side they do not know who they want their target market to be. We were all inclusive and treated like second class clients as we could only use the pool bar with plastic cups for drinks even at night. When we tried to buy a drink in the terrace lounge we had to find a member of staff to serve us. He then had to go elsewhere to get a bottle of wine and then he had no change. Then the restaurant at the front of the hotel is always empty we used it on night and it was include in our package but we had to pay for wine. We were charged 32 euro for RED WINE the choice was RED or WHITE? We could buy it in the supermarket across the road for 2.70 euro. The hotel was quite empty ( 6 - 13 June) thought it was because it was early in the season but think it may be because they do not get happy returning guests. Please get your act together we will not be returning. Wish we could have got booked into the Creta Maris but they were full but we will be going there in September. This will be our third visit there.
l

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meitar, Israel
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is actually located about 2 km west of Malia, and that is good. The hotel is relatively new and is decorated in modern decor. The room we stayed in (seaside view in the east wing) was relatively large and had a jaccuzzi in the bathroom (which was a drawback for us since we prefer a stall shower). The rooms are very clean and have all the conveniences we needed, albeit the free WiFi is a bit unstable. The room also had a beautiful balcony overlooking the sea. The food is OK and provides a fair assortment of different types of food (Italian, Greek etc). The swimming pools are quite nice if you don't mind sea water. It appears that the water is not fresh chlorinated water. The hotel's direct access to the beach is a big plus as well as the large terraces surrounding the pools. The health spa is wonderful, clean and serene with an incredibly professional and kind staff. The front desk and restaurant staff were also extremely kind and helpful. All together a very nice hotel for a nice holiday getaway

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a seaside view room. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I do not usually write reviews. First impression of the hotel was not good.
but the staff is very proffessional and very proffessional for 5 star is enough
thanks to mr sakis manager super high standards

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed at the aktia lounge hotel from june 20th -june 25th we went all inclusive.
Before i start with the negative and positive reviews about this hotel, in general if you are a couple with super high standards and are looking for a very fancy 5 star hotel, this is not the hotel. It is a lovely hotel good for families or young couples but it is not fancy.
I will start with the only negative point of this hotel.
* Food- First of all, (jewish people beware) there is a lot of pork, on the pizza, pasta,rice you name it.. My boyfriend and I are not picky eaters but we couldn't find what to eat. Breakfast was the only meal that was normal. The food is not 5 star at all, I would say 3 star. The food stays the same, it is always repetitive . There are no names or tags on the food itself so you always have to search for a staff member to ask what you are eating. The drinks are served by the waiters but because there are so many people usually you finish eating before the waiter actually arrives to give you your drinks. The food is the only thing that really really let us down.
Besides the food I can't really find other complaints.

Positive and helpful points :
1. The hotel itself is in a very good location, in a city called stalis which is a 10 minute drive from both malia and hersonissos . There is a bus station one street away which is very easy to use and much cheaper than a taxi (1.70 euro per direction)
2. The room we took was beautiful and very clean ( take the sea view it is worth it! ) the only thing that i didn't like about the room is that there isn't a big double bed its 2 smaller beds that are pushed together.
3. The room is cleaned every single day, and the hotel itself is very clean. Everyday they provide you with bottles of water and fruit.
4. The hotel is located on the beach and offers tanning beds for free. There are 2 pools. The pools are very nice and clean, would have been nicer if one of the pools would play some music.
5. The service is good and the entertainment is very nice.

Room Tip: take the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I do not usually write reviews but having read some horrific reviews on here prior to my holiday I feel I ought to give my opinion.
First impression of the hotel was a relief-the coach that dropped us off had stopped at many tatty shabby looking hotels and I was relieved when I saw this was ours. As we arrived late we were offered dinner before it ended for the evening and checked in after. Absolutely no issue with my boyfriend wearing shorts into dinner during our stay.
Rooms are basic and I agree with previous reviews that it is the little touches that make it 5* for example toiletries upon arrival and proper cups in the room for tea coffee but I soon got over this-we hardly spent any time in the room! Rooms were very clean and cleaned daily to a high standard as was the whole hotel.
Food was not bad however choice at lunch was limited. Views at meal times were amazing and we never had trouble getting a seat outside for breakfast and dinner. We found staff very friendly-Alfred one of the waiters and two waitresses-both petite one with long blonde hair and one with short dark hair (did not get their names) in particular were always very accommodating to us-finding us tables inside out the sun at lunchtime and we never had to get their attention for drinks as they were always checking-almost had them ready on the table after a few days when they knew what we ordered. We ate out one night at Beachcomber-turn left out the hotel and it's a short walk up on the left-highly recommend!!
One plus side is sun beds are not all taken by 8am by people reserving them with their towels-always plenty available!!

Do not go to this hotel disheartened like I did ,we had an amazing week away and I would visit again if the occasion arose! You get what you pay for and 5* varies wherever you travel in the world!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is looking nice and the first impression is OK, but after a few days, you realize that many things are with poor quality!
Drinks are very bad
Food is good for 3 star hotel, but for 5 star is not enough
staff in the restaurant and bar are not very proffessional and not polite, except a few persons!
Pools and beach are OK
House keeping is good
Receptionist are not very helpful, but they are OK
Entertainment is very well, they are very polite and made pretty good tournment for us every day.In the evening we enjoyed on funny quiz, some games, acrobat show! We spend good time with them!
Internet is with low speed, but sometimes working!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aktia Lounge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aktia Lounge Hotel & Spa

Address: 44 Agiou Ioannou Street, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aktia Lounge Hotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Anthoussa is one of the best hotels in Crete; it combines affordable, luxurious holidays in relaxing natural settings all under the sea breeze of the Aegean Sea. You will enjoy great accommodation while our experienced and friendly staff devotes its attention to those little things that make your holiday relaxing, rejuvenating, trouble-free and truly exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your Aktia Lounge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aktia Lounge Hotel & Spa Malia, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aktia Lounge Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.