We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything about Hotel - Fantastic.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kristalli Hotel Apartments

Save Saved
You added Kristalli Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kristalli Hotel Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Pavlou Mela St, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 54 Specialty lodging in Malia
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Everything about Hotel - Fantastic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

Kristalli, even before seeing apartment the cleanliness of the the pool, grounds etc was evident. Staff were waiting for us on our arrival which was great as we arrived very late.

No problems with sunbeds always available, gardens very well maintained as is everything about the complex.

It was a peaceful, relaxing setting and during my visit end Sept into October all guests were extremely friendly. The weather was excellent, could get too hot on occasion.
For two mature female travellers it was a safe, fun and relaxing location.

We stayed in studio 207 it is large with full sized fridge, 2 balconies one over the pool and one over the mountains best of both worlds.

The apt location is fantastic as you are only minutes away from shops, restaurants and bars without having to go down onto the Beach road (5mins walk), which is busy.

I would recommend Totto Lotto Restaurant (3 min walk) excellant food & service, in a beautiful setting and very reasonably priced.

Will absolutely be going back, a great holiday, away from it all, but all is close by if you want it.

Could not complain about one single thing, it was a fantastic holiday. No problem with getting deposit back.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    26
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
20
61
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

I loved everything about this hotel. Rooms were fantastic. Staff were among the lovliest of people I've ever met. Food was great. Pool was super. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

Overall a good hotel, I would give it 8/10. Nothing much to report that was particurly amazing apart from the rooms being huge but they only have beds, no sofa's / comfy chairs even in the living room. The pool was very nice and there are plenty of sun beds. They do a very good job of keeping the pool area clean and tidy. The location is great, it is not far from anywhere and is in the old town (IMO the best area). This has lots of nice resturants, in particular Stablos and Elisabeth which is amazing. If you look at the kristalli's website the pictures look great, it does actually look like it does in the pictures which is unusual as most places dont.

Most of staff were nice apart from the rude woman (Katrina) who demanded 50 euro each deposit on arrival at 1215am then spent 20 mins checking the room at the end of the stay and then threw the money on the table where we were waiting for her, no mention of the deposit in the booking info. It was a pity as doing things like this is not the best way to treat your guests as they are leaving . You cant have your own food or drinks by the pool and everything they sell is VERY expensive, the beer is 3 euro for 400ml, its 60 cents a can in the shops or 1.50 a pint in the town for the same beer! The food was alright if you like dull english pug food, burgers, pies etc nothing greek. Aircon was 40 euro a week and only one small unit in the living room so we didnt get it as i doubt it would be very good at cooling the bedroom. The bbq evening that is advertised for every friday was cancelled both weeks for no reason and with no notice, we waited around for it to start so wasted a few hours and only realised when another guest told us. We went in september which is end of season, some other guests who were there a week before us told us the pool area was pretty loud the week before so i would imagine the atmosphere depends on who is staying at the same time as you. The rep and transfers were useless but thats not the Kristalli's fault. I think they are a bit strict with the rules but it is a nice place compared with every other place we saw so I would imagine strict rules do benefit the guests but at times can be frustrating and expensive.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

The owners of the hotel are 2 brothers and their wives and they make you feel really welcome (apart from the youngest member of staff who is very rude and unfriendly). Weekly entertainment was a pub quiz which was great fun. The location is great as it is in the Old town, well away from the horrors of Malia Beach Road. The food is good providing Eva is cooking, otherwise it was hit and miss. Nice swimming pool area with plenty of sun loungers. Only bad thing about the swimming pool area is that you are only allowed to consume food and drink purchased from the hotel which means you end up spending a lot of money. There are cheap PCs for internet access in the bar area so no need for expensive data roaming on your mobile internet. Overall was a great holiday, loved the Kristalli but I wouldn't go back to Malia due to the state of the new town area and the embarrasing British teenagers who dont seem to have any respect for themselves or others.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

first time in greece and having arrived off an interesting flight where alcohol was no longer being served after Travelled with thomson, an hour in on the flight, due to a big bunch of drunken teenagers (Malia is - FULL of such people) I was pleasently surprise when we arrived at Kristalli, although it looked like it was miles away from everything on first appearance, when we explored we found that were were quite central location wise.

Infact when It comes to location thats one of the first thing that reccommends itself here, its in the old town which has been mentioned a few times, So it is kinda out of the way of the majority of the noise and chaos of the 2wenties crowd,( reps totally not interested in you by the way unless you want to get pissed everynight and talk about other reps or one euro drinks or who you pulled last night) but there are shops, bars and restaurants a plenty within a short walking distance. We didnt hire a quad or buggy or anything, actually I found the noise of them really annoying. but like i said in kristalli you are mostly out of the way of all that.

we were taken to our room and relieved of a hundred euro's and our passports.... what for was not actually explained to us. but it was obvious that being with thomsons and the damage caused by drunken young people, means this was neccessary but thanks to trip advisor we knew to expect this and budgeted it into our holiday. we decided not to pay for the air conditioning and just left the balcony doors open at night with the curtains pulled and a mosquito repellant thingy plugged in although I never saw one mosquito the whole time I was there. and so we saved ourselves 40 euros! we were told to get our passports back from the pool bar the next day, but everytime we asked for them they said they werent ready. it seems to be a family run place and I think it was more of a case of you have to ask the owner, because when we asked him we got them no problem.

the staff were very friendly and helpful, all speaking good english. The apartment was clean and comfortable, twin beds which we just pushed together, Though showed my ignorance by asking my other half where the duvet was- just a sheet to sleep in. sufficed to say he had a good laugh at my expense!! aparently they arent needed and they werent! also if you are a first timer in crete like me you dont put loo roll in the toilet you put it in the bin. their sewage system cannot cope with it and it causes backlogs if you do it. Also you cant drink the water. aparently not even the locals do this unless it is boiled. so watch out for ice in your drinks or ask if it is made from bottled water which it is at the pool bar in the hotel.

our apartment was at the back and fairly quiet. even though as I say we left the door open. One thing I would say is the walls are pretty thin and we could hear when the people in the apartment next to ours went to the bathroom or brushed their teeth. there was noise on a few nights with a few bigger groups of young people, we didnt complain, but someone must have because they didnt do it again.

If you are young and want a mad partying and drinking holiday dont stay here, if you annoy other guests with noise and are complained about you get a written warning and if they have to speak to you again you get turfed out of the hotel. I am in my twenties but am just not into that kind of holiday, But if you are there are loads of places where you can go on the strip and really let your hair down. Kristalli is not for you! so after the kids were spoken to by someone from the hotel it didnt happen again. So if the noise annoys you go the pool bar and complain. and if you are a light sleeper bring your earplugs and you will be fine! them wee cricket things are noisy as hell . didnt like that about crete!!!

The unintrusive maids visited the rooms every day and the sheets were changed and we got fresh towels on the third day. got our deposit back on the last day from the pool bar after they had checked the rooms and were free to explore. the food at the pool bar was nice and a good selection, reasonably priced. I had a few cocktails as well. the pool was clean and there was plenty of sun loungers avaialable to soak up the rays although we didnt do that. there was a nice mix of people at kristalli, a lot of younger people, but mostly couples and some families with younger and older children and some older people.

One thing i would say was that we were told to check out at 10.00 am on the last day. It was 30 euros to keep your room until 6pm (we didnt) and wether you pay that or not you can leave your bags ( make sure they have a lock on ) in the reception area until you are picked up for your flight ( for us at 20.25). we didnt pay this, and at 8.50am (or maybe earlier) they switched the electricity off, no shower, no lights, no fridge.... and no warning.

If you are a bit unsure of places to go on your first night there try the highlander at the bottom of the street a few doors along from the supermarket opposite artemis ( where we got picked up) went for a few quiet drinks there after the greek night and it was quiet but you could just sit and watch the world go buy. demitrious and his wife katerina were excellent and joined us for a drink and a chat. friendlier people you couldnt meet!! it seems when you go there you have made friends for life!!! people just keep coming back.... the owner came along and even bought us a drink and gave me a very informative insiders info about that wonderful greek speciality - Raki!

another tip that I would give is NOT to book your trips with thomson. one of the couples at our hotel booked all the trips with them! and on the last day thomson didnt turn up for the scuba trip and they had payed 70 euro each!

We did book the greek night ( which I would highly reccommend going to) which thomson charged us 45 euros each. On the first day after the reps meeting, we headed off to explore and booked the rest of our trips with artemis the travel agent right at the bottom of the road as you make your way down to the strip of shops in the old town. the SAME greek night in the same place with all the same things included was 29 euros per person. If you shop around and look at some of the travel agents on the strip you will get it cheaper again.

we save about 10 euros per person with every trip we booked with artemis compare to thomson and even got a free trip to heraklion gypsy market and and hours free time shopping and 15 min tour of the city . All our trips were with tourline . just as an example We went to spinalonga island with them on the monday. they charged us 41 euros in total pp. that was including the boat (10) the bbq(5) and enterance to the island (2). ( I would advise that you save yourself 5 euros PP and take a sandwich.) thomson were charging you 53 euros and that isnt including enterance to spinalonga itself. The island that we stopped off on for swimming before the bbq was lovley the water a crystal blue and turquoise and def. bring your swimming gear and a snorkel!!!!

we also did knossos and the dikteaon cave, birth place of Zeus. knossos was worth seeing ( 4 euro) but was pretty crowded with groups. be warned at the caves(2 or 4 euro i think)... take good comfortable shoes to walk in. you are climing a rocky mountain path!! if you are unfit (like me) or have kids take the donkey trip to the top (20 euros rtn trip), which I didnt do and couldnt speak when I eventually got to the top with blisters from wearing flip flops :) worth seeing. If you do that trip with tourline ( its the knossos lassithi one) you stop in a local village for lunch at a taverna with the lovely taverna owner... try the siton the local speciality of meat and potato!! (9.50)

If you fancy doing the spinalonga trip I would reccommend just getting the bus to aghios nikolas yourself ( about 4 euros each) and get the boat from the harbour- there are plenty of them selling tickets and trips down by the harbour. we traveled around quite alot by ourselves on the bus. the public transport bus is great, every 30 mins and we went to heraklion for the day (3.70 euro) to the museum(4euro) and for some shopping and to hersonissos(2.80 euro) and the then on the last day to the crete aquarium.(2.80 for the bus and 8 euro for the aquarium)

Malia is expensive. If you have a student card take it!!! you get discounts and if you are a pensioner take your ID too... dont be afrqaid to ask as you get discounts aswell!!! worst thing was some places were charging 2.30 euro for a bottle of water!!! my tip is buy your own at the supermarket opposite artemis for 40cents and put it in the freezer. then take it out and about with you in your bag wrapped ina towel and you will have cool water for the entire day.My best tip for souvenirs and food and drinks is to really shop around. have a good wander about on your first day. prices really vary, but for a cheap dinner grab something on the new town strip, they have to be cheap to compete for your business. lots of nice greek taverna in the old town. elizabeth stavros we heard was really nice.

finally i would like to say that the greek people I met on my holiday were really warm and friendly and If you can manage a few words in greek it will be very much appreciated. :)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kristalli Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kristalli Hotel Apartments

Address: Pavlou Mela St, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Specialty lodging in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kristalli Hotel Apartments 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kristalli Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kristalli Hotel Apartments Malia, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kristalli Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.