We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 2012 - Brilliant place to stay close to everything !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kristalli Hotel Apartments

Save Saved
You added Kristalli Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kristalli Hotel Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Pavlou Mela St, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 54 Specialty lodging in Malia
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“July 2012 - Brilliant place to stay close to everything !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have just come back from holiday in Crete, and i stayed at the Kristalli Hotel. I had a really great time. The hotel is a very nice hotel and clean. it is a family run hotel, they are very nice people they do what ever they can to make you happy and are very accomadating. Yiannis and Niko and the rest of the family really take good care of you, they really go out of their way to help. Niko always made us laugh. We even had some great nights out with Yiannis who showed us different parts to go out in the evening. We met some really nice people at the hotel and often stayed up late at the bar having laugh with Niko and the rest of the family.
The hotel is in a great location to both night life and close to the beach.

If you can make sure you rent out the quad bikes really great way to get around and see more of Malia.

Bob 9/7/12

Room Tip: you should pay more for a good room buts its worth it. they are spacious room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    26
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
20
61
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Our first visit to this small appartment hotel and we were very impressed. The room was well decorated, very comfortable and well equipped. We had a ground floor room which had a good sized balcony. The grounds are also well kept with a reasonable size pool and ample grass space to relax on the good quality sun loungers without being on top of anybody. The bar is well run and has a great atmosphere with good quality well priced food. The hotel is family run and you are made to feel very welcome and although this was our first visit we noticed there were a lot of other return guests which speaks for itself and doesn't surprise us. The hotel is in the old town about 10 to 15 minutes walk away from the infamous 'strip' where all the late night bars and clubs can be found. As a result it is a nice peaceful atmosphere and any teenagers returning late are asked to respect other guests or they will suffer the wroth of George, the patriarc, the next day! In truth there was absolutely no trouble whilst we were there probably down to George and his brother Nico laying down the law when any youngsters first arrived. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and the whole family are to be congratulated on their high standards and achievements.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was my first holiday away with my friends and it was amazing!!
The hotel staff couldn't be nicer if they tried and were always there to help. it was safe at night with a security guard also.
we are booking this weekend to go back next year
AMAZING!

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger and have 2 balconies with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This was our 3rd time staying at The Kristalli and we were again not disappointed. Nothing is too much trouble for the lovely genuine family, who all run this hotel.

This year we had booked a superior room with pool view, which was on the ground floor, it was a huge room with two terraces to choose from, which meant it was ideal during the day as we just stepped over the low wall and onto the lawn for a choice of numerous sunbeds.
Again very clean and well equipped kitchenette and wet room style bathroom.
Very clean pool and modern bar area, which also serves great food.
The maids clean the whole place from top to bottom daily.

Sadly, 2 days into our holiday we got the sad news from home that my Husbands Father had died. Niko, Eva and the rest of the family rallied around to help us to organise a flight home as soon as we could get one and even arranged with the local travel agent to open up on the Sunday so we could try and get a flight. George even arranged a taxi to take us to the airport.

The whole family were lovely during this very sad and difficult time, we are very grateful for everything they did and it will not be forgotten.

We will return again next year for our next holiday in Malia and WE WOULD NOT DREAM OF STAYING ANYWHERE ELSE IN MALIA.

Lorraine and Steven

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

kristalli Hotel Apts / Malia. It's location is ideal for the restaurants in the old village. Your hosts George + Cathrine, Nikos + Eva, Yiannis and Eva are probably the best you could wish for. Nothing is too much trouble for them. I would not think to stay anywhere else in Malia. It is ideal for people of all ages. I recommend you give it a try!

Dave + Pat (Preston, Lanc's)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Our "lads holiday" was an absolute cracker of a week in great clean well kept hotel, very friendly staff, slighty overly expensive drinks at the bar, refreshing clean pool and decent food.

The problem for us was the older members of our group who booked the hotel dont like to over spend and we aquired the cheapest rooms in the hotel right by the "main road" dont be fooled by the narrowness of this street it is the only access to a cola/mineral water bottling factory and the flow of 18 wheeler trucks seems endless during the day and if your in malia partying then the day is for sleep! these rooms were small and basic but im informed the other rooms in the hotel are very nice. so avoid the rooms next to and above the reception area at all costs!!

The hotel is only a short walk from the main strip and there are plenty of tavernas around and about in the old town. Unfortunately none of them were open in the last week of may and only started opening when we were due to leave!!

apart from the noisy road the area is quite quiet and in the evening very quiet.

Had a really good laugh with niccos "Hello Sexy boy where you taking me tonight?" and his endless singing of dont cry for me argentina..... dont cry for me argentina!!

All in all this is a top hotel we got the rooms we paid for, the staff were tollerent with the rowdyness of my friends and me and even joined in some. and at the end of the holiday when the coach turned up the whole family turned out to wave us off.

Thanks to the family and staff... may venture back sometime soon!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 101-104 and the ones below Very Noisey in the day if you have the patio doors open!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Just got back from a weeks stay at the Kristalli. After reading the positive reviews on TripAdvisor I decided to book this hotel for myself and 3 friends for our holiday in Malia. Initial impressions of the hotel were very good. Check in went very smoothly and we were then shown up to our room. We booked a deluxe poolside apartment and we were not disappointed. The apartment was spacious and well furnished with a hob, fridge and sink as well as a separate bedroom and balcony. A complimentary bottle of wine and water was also provided.

We left our suitcases and then went down to the pool bar for a few drinks before we went out. The staff seemed initially very friendly and welcoming. After some drinks we headed out in search of the strip which was only a short 5-10 minute walk.

A few drinks, shots and fish bowls later we returned to hotel and got some much needed sleep. We woke up the next morning and spent the rest of the day recovering from the night before by the pool. The pool itself was a good size and there were plenty of sun loungers available.

Whilst by the pool we were approached twice by the hotel staff and warned twice about how much noise we made the night before. Whilst we found this a little unfair we all apologised and nothing more was said. The staff then spoke to us again later on, this time regarding the apparent state the maids had found the room in. This annoyed us all slightly as we knew at most there were only a few clothes on the floor and towels from the night before.

The rest of our stay was pleasant but again marred by further unnecessary and needless complaints from the hotel staff. We were told off again for noise; on this occasion we were apparently being too loud whilst playing card games out on the balcony. The other complaints were regarding us returning to the hotel after nights out. No member of staff explained to us how to enter the hotel after the pool bar closed. The gate by reception was locked and the marquee by the pool bar was closed up. We were therefore forced to climb over the fence by the car park just to get back to our apartment. After another night like this we were still not told formally how to get into the hotel at night but told simply that the security guard would 'hit us' if he came across us!

Overall we found the hotel and apartment facilities very good and the location in the Old Town was ideal. However we found the staff quite rude and frankly unreasonable considering we were a group of 4 20 year old guys on holiday in Malia. I therefore would not recommend this hotel for those looking for a base for a typical 18-30s holiday. The location is ideal and facilities were very good considering the price paid however it is a family hotel aimed at couples and young families.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have a view of the pool and a larger, concrete balcony for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kristalli Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kristalli Hotel Apartments

Address: Pavlou Mela St, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Specialty lodging in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kristalli Hotel Apartments 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kristalli Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kristalli Hotel Apartments Malia, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kristalli Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.