We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed here july 2010 not 2011” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Studios

Emerald Studios
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emerald Studios
Malia, Crete 73008, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 54 Specialty lodging in Malia
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“stayed here july 2010 not 2011”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

its perfect for a basic clean room holiday. full of 18 year olds. good security. very close to strip. good reps for entertainment. no faults.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Just got back from the emerald studios on the 14th of july with my best friend, we are ages 19 & 20. Stayed here for 2 weeks. I cannot fault the hotel on the apearance or the hospitality it has. Its food and drink are both reasonably priced and good value for money. we were not happy at the fact our bedding only got changed once while we were staying there and the security guard flooded outside our room every morning while watering the plants. it wasnt very safe one of us fell and hurt out knee. Another thing if you are going in a big group and are going to be noisey i wouldnt recommend this hotel as the management moan at you for being noisey after 11 oclock at night and try get you to go out. They cut off our electricity one night because we had music playing and haven a drink in our balcony with the guys next to us. "Jess and Andy" Our reps was amazing they helped as much as they could to sort things out if there was a problem. Some of the staff in the hotel are very nice but on the other hand some are very cheeky and angry. One guy shouted at us because we asked if our room could get cleaned because there was ants on the floor, he told us not to eat in our room but then we were not aloud to eat outside out room, so really we couldnt win. For this hotel been an escapades a think they have a cheek to be moaning at young people about being noisey.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

I stayed here in June with 3 girls all age 20-21.

It was clean and welcoming, the pool area was nice and the bar area was good with music playing all day giving a good atmosphere for young people. Plenty of food and drinks on the menu, decent prices.

Breakfast was good value - we were B&B and that included toast, fried egg and beans, cup of tea/coffee and orange juice served between 10 and 11 - be careful though, as one morning we turned up literally 7 minutes past 11 and the woman said we were too late for breakfast!! We thought this was a bit harsh - she wasn't busy at all and could have easily made us it still as no other people were B&B that week!! And it was paid for after all.

The hotel is family run and the rules are actually quite strict - no guests are allowed to be brought back or you'll get fined 30 euro! Security guard was well funny, telling us to keep quiet and go to sleep! Be warned! One night we met some lads staying in the same hotel and they did get a bit loud jumping in the pool etc at 3am, and the security guard (we christened him Chico) woke the owners up and they came down shouting at us to get to the beach if we wanted to party, or they'd throw us out! The owners seemed quite grumpy really. They told some other guests off for sitting near some steps by the pool??? not sure why... and the same woman who served us breakfast shouted at some other guests to stop slamming doors which i thought quite rude really.

Apart from that this hotel has everything you need - shower, bed, sheets, towels, deposit box, kettle, fridge - no air con though! Decent pool and bar.

\literally 2 minute walk from the strip and quite good location. We actually never made it to the beach at all - just lounged by the pool / in the garden all day!!

The rep was nice - we went to the waterpark which was good and I would recommend. There were plenty of other excursions including a booze cruise and beach party but we opted out of these, and other guests didn't rate them for the money!

Vlad the barman was spot on and worked really hard! He was defo the friendliest member of staff there.

One bad point was when we were waiting for our airport transfer back to the airport, which wasn't arriving until 2am, there was no where for us to sit and wait - Vlad had to close the bar at 1am but he left us some seats out to sit on as he felt sorry for us! Bit disorganised really, and it did get quite cold on the night! So I wouldn't recommend a night flight at all.

The other guests who stayed there were all young and spot on too. Did get quite loud at night though - but I think it is loud anywhere in Malia no matter where you go!!


All in all a brilliant holiday, LOVE Malia! Go to Street Bar for ace music and drinks! Lush bar for a nice relaxed atmosphere, Help bar to get wrecked and pretty much everywhere offering free shots! Really nice food at Sticky Fingers aswell! Sadly didn't make it to any of the clubs, we just stayed in the bars as they were good enough for meeting randomers and having a good dance! But The Venue, ZigZags and Candy Club were recommended :)

I would recommend this place to young people who want to party and just need the basics, defo not older people, and people who want more in hotels! You get what you see here, and it was cheap! Wouldn't recommend to anyone who has high expectations and personally because of the owners being grumpy and unfair I wouldn't stay again...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

Reading the reviews for this hotel before I went to Malia I have to honestly say I was bricking it, because all I could see was negative feedback. After staying at the Emerald Studios , i can now honestly tell you that you will hav an amazing time. This is the ideal place to stay!! The Emerald is in the perfect location with minimal noise from the main strip and it is in perfect walking distance! What I do have to say is if your not fond of being woken up during the night, it is going to happen no matter where you stay. Remember it's all part of the experiance and your there to have a great time, so it is honestly best to just go with the flow!

This was my first Escapade holiday with my friend and I would definatley go back in a heartbeat, with nice hotel owners and a HILARIOUS bar man they will make your stay so welcome. What I will say though in Crete they put up with no abusive tolerance...Once you push them over the limit that's you out. Just be polite and you will get on fine :)

We stayed at the Emerald for two weeks and our room was cleaned regularly. The only complaints I would have to make on these apartments were there was no air conditioning, the shower head in our bathroom was broken so we had to hold it up. Also on our final day Cretes water supply cut out so we couldnt get showers....yes you guess it. wasn't a very unpleasant journey home. :(

I highly reccomend this hotel to anyone who is thinking about Malia, you will have a wicked time. Remember a holiday is what YOU make of it! Hope this helps :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

All in all I had a fantastic holiday. The family at the Emerald are very friendly, especially Vlados who makes a point of learning every guest's name.

The rooms are very basic, no kettle or shower curtain. Very few kitchen utensils which is strange as it is a self catering venue. My only issue with the shower was the fact it changed between a shower and tap, it was obviously faulty as I had to hold in the stopper to keep it as a shower - not the best. The floor did get wet, however you only have 1 towel so there is not alot you can do about it.

My main concern was that there was NO air conditioning, you can hire a fan for 20 euro. However these are not ideal. Due to the heat you have no chance of getting any sleep, and on a couple of occasions I slept on a lilo on my balcony to try to get cool.

The pool area is ideal and the bar is reasonably priced. The bar plays music all day which provides a good atmosphere.

The hotel is situated close enough to the strip to access it and far enough away from the noise.

Don't understand the emphasis on the no guest policy. 'It is against greek law'?? However if you pay 30 euro then they don't mind??

If the hotel had air conditioning facilities I would go back in a minute, however I would look elsewhere on a return trip to malia based solely on air conditioning. I appreciate everyone is different and that air condidtioning may not be an issue.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

we arrived in malia at the emerald 'rooms''studios' it is all the same, and we walked into find NO air conditioning even if it is advertised as this! It has a fridge and bottle openers and glasses but not many. It has plenty of wardrobe space and you have your own safe in the wardrobe which is only 15euros for one week (25 i think but dont quote me for 2 weeks), however you have no shower curtain but this is apparently normal for greece, we found that if you just took an old towel with you and put it next to door to stand on and dont screw the shower to the fixture on the wall then the water didnt really go all over, and u were able to step out without slipping, so we never experienced the 'water all over' syndrome as we were sensible and logical about it!! The balcony is pretty big and we sat on that on a night time before we went out. The maid would come in even if u were in ur rooms to clean and she did this 3 times when we were there! u DO have to buy ur own toilet roll and the best place to buy it is the DIA supermarket literally walk out the hotel, turn right and take ur first right and then its up that street (do this in a day time as i dont think was open on a night). The towels were changed but they were not great but they were clean.

We were two 23 year old girls who went to malia for a relax from the UK but wanted a bit party scene, and i can say it was not where we would liked to have stayed. If you are like us who just want to go with ya mate and you are older than 21 i dont recommend staying here. There were a bunch of 18year olds chucked out when we were there so they tolerate nothin!! the others would just violently be sick everwhere on the balcony so you could here and well the rest would just sing backstreet boys and annoy you with there screetching and screaming! not our style, also we both had parteners and the first thing the rep said was '99% of people cheat on there boyfriends and girlfriends out here' we refraid from giving her a wat for but if i was you i wouldnt recommend going to see her, she will try flog u a 50euro booze cruise which resulted in those people gettin chucked out!!!

Never seen a creepy crawly the whole time i was there, we went to the beach (NOT pleasure beach unless u wanna come bak with some kind of infection!!!!!) and we went to stalis which was older age nightlife and much nicer.

all in all we wouldnt recommend this unless u want to be kept up all night by the above, but if you wanna go to malia 'the teenfest' for a cheap cheap holiday and there is nothin else available then it is not so bad, we put up with it cause we had to and sunbathed a few times at the garden at the bak of the bar and heard no1 during the day.

A possitive is that the internet is only 1 euro for it says 20min however i reckon its about 30, so u can keep incontact that way instead of phoning if you want, plus u can facebook ur mates to tell them what a shockin hotel it is in the process!!

Malia itself was surely not my cup of tea but it was cheap (5 euros for 5 drinks) make sure u get those at the top of the strip as they get more expensive towards the end, for people my age, reflex, flares, malibu and bannanas are the best places to go!!! The hotel however is perfectly situated at the top of the strip its like a 2 min walk and its not down alleys or backstreets or anything like that! ENJOY!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limavady
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

i stayed at the Emerald in September 2008, this hotel was excellent we had no problems its close to the strip and all the shops etc wud go back again no problem

  • Liked — staff were so friendly
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Emerald Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Studios

Address: Malia, Crete 73008, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 54 Specialty lodging in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Emerald Studios Hotel Malia
Emerald Studios Malia, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Emerald Studios to your Saves list