We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just back 23/8/13” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ariadne Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ariadne Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ariadne Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Stalis Beach, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 96 Hotels in Malia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“just back 23/8/13”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

lovely location shops bars outside door 2k walk into Malia if you want to experience crazy create. right on beach hotel very clean room cleaned every day to a high standard buffet food in restaurant was good found something to eat every night. we stayed in room 315 was fine had view of main reception side view of sea pool good power in shower hair dryer in bathroom.by the pool and on the beach you had to pay for sun loungers cost €5.40 for 2 for the day this was not a problem for us as it stopped the covering of sun loungers with towels by the early risers.we were not offered any room upgrade on arrival and our room was a very nice standard. we were charged €12 euro for safe rental and €42 for air con rental for the week both required.
good points
location couldn't be better.
very clean.
food was good.
Bad points
having to pay for air con.
two of the waiters in restaurant where very sleazy while you were waiting for your drink they ware hitting on all the young women in the restaurant Very unprofessional.
no entertainment in bar.

Room Tip: standard room is fine go for a drink in the paradise bar up the road great value lovely people
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    45
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
56
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

...for all the usual reasons, and maybe a few less comment able ones. This is a well managed enterprise. The managers know what their guests want I.e. they know their audience, and they know how to deliver. The resort was built a few decades ago, but you wouldn't know it, since the owners have clearly ploughed back considerable capital to ensure that the product, and supporting service is of a really good quality. Everywhere you went the staff had the right attitude; courteous and ver professional. They knew what they were doing and were very obviously well motivated to do it. Bottom line, one always felt that one was getting full value for money.

The beach was excellent, and the weather consistently good. Since loungers and umbrellas had to be paid for, this meant that the ratio of beach furniture to guests was more than adequate; no competitive running around with beach towels to reserve loungers etc. Equally, the ratio of space to guests meant that there was adequate space for groups to park themselves, either on the raised grass terraces overlooking the sea or on the beach itself. The food was...well, frankly, school food. Decent quality, some variety but not a lot of imagination. Very little fresh fruit or veg. Buffet style food always encourages the overfilling of plates, and this canteen proved no exception. It was clearly a concept that most of our fellow guests were very familiar with given the average girth of all participants. Gave 'the Hindenburg Effect' a brand new meaning. I'd watch with admiration on my trip to the coffee machine as they'd lean in to their tucker with as much determination of purpose as the Pontypool front row.

Can't resist one last curled lip sneer: for all the excellent facilities of the hotel itself, the road outside hotel and the environs of Stalista is not for the faint hearted. It makes Blackpool look elegantly understated. Fried food restaurants buskers compete with footy bars, car hire outlets, mini-markets and fake watch emporiums. Quad bikes with mullet-haired drivers roar erratically up and down the street competing against each other and yelling over their shoulders. Pass me the smelling salts Daphne...

Notwithstanding, I enjoyed myself and came away satisfied. Overall good experience, and the competence of the staff and managers made me feel valued. I'd recommend it to others, and do it again myself.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Lovely location, only two complaints.... sunbeds now 5 euros per day(For two) and having to pay extra for drinks with the evening meal- even water.
If I were to go again, I would consider hiring a car to see more of the island as the organised trips are either too long or too naff!

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to room with fridge, balcony and air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My stay in Ariadne was pleasant and enjoyable. Location is nice and quiet. Territory is green. Fresh Greek food and polite personnel. Lots of people staying next to the swimming pool so the beach usually is not crowded, you can enjoy almost private stay next to the sea on the beach!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great location, great people and just an all around lovely hotel!

We travelled with our daughter whose was 14 months at the time, the staff couldn't do enough to accommodate us.

The food was good, well put it this way, I am a very fussy eater and managed to eat every night, my daughter never had a problem which was my main concern.

The location is fantastic. We paid to upgrade our room to have a sea view and it was definitely worth it (not that you had to, the whole hotel was lovely), the views are gorgeous!

This is a perfect getaway if your looking for a very relaxing day with great surroundings and it's up to you what you do in the evening, you can go to Stalis which is very bustly or stay at the pool bar and relax.

The only thing I don't like is having to pay for sunbeds. The guy who manages the sunbeds was a wonderful guy, very polite, so I guess if I didn't pay he wouldn't be employed. I can see why they do it because the hotel is smack bang on the beach and many people come from other hotels an use the facilities as it's so nice. I think though may be in future the could find a way to distinguish the hotel guests from other guests.

Other than that I LOVED IT!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

First of all I have got to say that we were there May, 2011 instead of 2012 but I cannot select 2011 anymore. Hotel was not too expensive and transfer from airport was good, but cost you 1h. Directly before hotel they leave you with the bus, very small roads there, but they bring you directly to the hotel. Staff was very friendly and it was always clear and well organized. We payed 15 EUR extra each day for sea view room with better comfort, they showed us after arriving, but we also could say we take or room booked via Internet without sea view. Pool looks nice and was always very clean. Breakfast was really good and with buffet we were fine with, the same with dinner. It is no 5* food, but you do not book 5*, so it is not any problem. For category it was really ok. Next to the hotel is a car sharing house and the owner was really friendly and prices were also really ok, here I would book car again. Beach of this hotel we don't like and never enjoyed the sea here. We always travelled by car to some nice beaches around Crete. There are so many really cool beaches out there, why staying at the home beach which is not that nice? "City" next to the hotel is very touristic and the locals always talk to you, something to eat or drink. For every day it was not ours, but this wasn't plan of the holiday. I can confirm that you won't do any mistake in booking this hotel if you would like to mix up your holiday with relaxing at the pool, travel around by car and do some sightseeing stuff and to bath at many other beaches. Fuel is expensive, but booking cars not. So it is just ok. Next to the hotel you have got some shops, supermarket, restaurants and all the stuff you need. For bus station you have got to walk 300m to the main road but we always had a car, so we didn't test travelling by bus.
So many words about this trip...; now few short words about: Hotel is good to safe some money against other hotels, but you should know that you will receive what you booked, you can't expect 5*. But for 3* service and area of this hotel I ever can confirm that it is absolutely bookable. From my point of view hotel is best for people who do not like to spend too much money and travel a bit around, but not too much. You won't see crete completely because hotel is located too much right of this country and you only have got 1 really good street and others you do not be able to drive fast.

Room Tip: If it is very hot during your holiday in the summer month, I would prefer sea view with clima automa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel is without doubt in a fantastic location - the beach is a two minute walk and is really lovely. The breakfast was fine and the hotel service in general is very good. However the two bones of contention i have seem to be the ones already highlighted by other travellers- paying €1.80 per lounger everyday and having to upgrade on arrival because the standard room does not come with air conditioning- these issues aside the weather was fantastic and we had a great trip

Room Tip: book a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ariadne Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariadne Beach Hotel

Address: Stalis Beach, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Malia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malia
#9 Family Hotel in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ariadne Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ariadne Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariadne Beach Hotel Malia, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariadne Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.