We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest hotel in Malia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drossia Palms Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Drossia Palms Apartments to your Saves list
Drossia Palms Apartments
1.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Demokratias 133, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nicest hotel in Malia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two years in a row and had a great time both years. Antonio looked after us really well everyday and if we had any issues sorted them out straight away. Manos and the family run it very well and their weekly barbecue is worth going to. A hotel with more comfort if you want somewhere nice to stay not just a bed to sleep in after stumbling in!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    27
    4
    5
    7
See reviews for
11
60
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pardubice, Czech Republic
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I must recommend this hotel to all of you. We were happy that we choose this hotel for our stay in Malia. I think the best of all hotels in Malia ! This was our first trip to Crete. We tried to visit all Eastern and Western coast. I think that our stay in Malia (Eastern coast) was also good choice. Malia is very lively (a lot of clubs, bars etc.) but we like everything here. From Malia you can go to Agios Nikolas (20 minutes by car), also you can visit Sitia, Heraklion etc. The favorite is Star beach for young people/kids it can be visited by bus (1.6EUR), I think.
Back to Drossia Palms, we were really surprised of location of this hotel which is in the centre and also 100m from the beach – private way from hotel to beach - we preferred Nisson beach –nice decorated). Sun-beds were free because we stayed in Drossia Palms, so nice! Thank you! The hotel is really perfect, nice restaurant with really nice decoration, nice pool with palms. The breakfast was also good but same every day (coffee, tea, bread, ham, cheese, yogurt with fruits) and some sweets. Our room was so romantic, nice decoration in our room. Everything was perfect for us. We decided to go back to Drossia Palms if we will go to Crete.

Room Tip: We have room number 406
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Well if you are looking to club it up in Malia then you have to stay here!
It's literally 5 minutes from the strip but not too close that when you want to sleep it's a problem. Compare to other hotels then was by far the best! The beach was literally down the road too. We had everything at our doorsteps, supermarket, shops and restaurants. Me and the girls would always predrink at the bar and Antonio is the amazing over protective bartender who makes great drinks and loves a bit of banter you'll have a laugh with him no doubt.

The rooms were pleasantly cleaned and spacious, I have no complaints, the cleaners were friendly too so my experience in Malia was one I'll never forget. No bugs or disgusting horror tales that I can share tbh. I'm afraid it was a holiday I will never forget.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardubice, Czech Republic
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I must recommend this hotel to all of you. We were happy that we choose this hotel for our stay in Malia. I think the best of all hotels in Malia ! This was our first trip to Crete. We tried to visit all Eastern and Western coast. I think that our stay in Malia (Eastern coast) was also good choice. Malia is very lively (a lot of clubs, bars etc.) but we like everything here. From Malia you can go to Agios Nikolas (20 minutes by car), also you can visit Sitia, Heraklion etc. The favorite is Star beach for young people/kids it can be visited by bus (1.6EUR), I think.
Back to Drossia Palms, we were really surprised of location of this hotel which is in the centre and also 100m from the beach – private way from hotel to beach - we preffered Nisson beach –nice decorated). Sun-beds were free because we stayed in Drossia Palms, so nice! Thank you! The hotel is really perfect, nice restaurant with really nice decoration, nice pool with palms. The breakfast was also good but same every day (coffee, tea, bread, ham, cheese, yogurt with fruits) and some sweet. Our room was so romantic, nice decoration in our room. Everything was perfect for us. We decided to go back to Drossia Palms if we will go to Crete.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 406
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We've just come back from a wonderful holiday in Crete - Malia! Despite it started on the wrong foot, literally, with a leg sprain that kept us very close to the hotel, all in all it turned out to be a successful holiday.

Malia as a destination in Crete is not for everyone. So, if you're in your 20s-30s and want to party all day/night long, then that's where you should go. Malia is packed with clubs and pubs, restaurants and rental services. It's crowded and noisy, day and night. We only heard of its reputation (being the Ibitza of Crete) only after buying the tickets. My advice is that if you're not looking to party like crazy, rent a car and explore the island, you won't regret!

The amazing discovery in Malia, though, was Drossia Palms Hotel where we spent 7 delightful nights. Opposed to Malia, Drossia Hotel was like an oasis in the middle of the desert. The minute you stepped on the premises it was like stepping into another time where luxurious palm trees and soft music would enchant your senses, not to forget the gorgeous swimming pool that reigns over the hotel yard. What you see in the pictures on the internet is what you really get: a smart and elegant place located in the heart of Malia, but, still isolated from all the madness. The rooms are big and have a touch of elegancy in their design. We tried their restaurant the first night we arrived, and then had all our meals there. The "Chicken fillet" is a must! Another positive aspect is the proximity to the beach (2 min walk) and supermarkets.

I have to say a few words about the people working there, because they too had a contribution to our time there. Their kindness and empathy impressed us and made our stay there more pleasant. "Multumesc" Antonio and everyone for taking care of us and helping us forget about the fact that we had to be "glued" to the hotel the entire holiday because of the leg injury.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurmala, Riga, Latvia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Really great hotel! Great attitude to the guests! Family owned and run hotel! Thank you very much guys, to all of you, Manos, Euphrosine, Antonio, girls...you are a great team! You are making the hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We first arrived a bit apprehensive after we saw some of the reviews on here, but were pleasantly surprised by the whole hotel.. We were given two rooms next door to each other, both of three girls each. Our rooms were on the ground floor, which were not facing the pool yet, although people say to get the rooms facing the pool, our rooms were much better as we could get away with making a bit more noise. Also, we had the room right in the left hand side on the ground floor which meant we had a much bigger balcony around the corner so that no one who was next door to us could see us which made for a perfect pre drinking area.

Being teenage girls, we were quite messy yet the cleaners did a fantastic job and when we walked into our room it was always so clean. We would sleep in until quite late in the day, and they would come in at about half 12 and see that we were sleeping but would clean around us anyway quite happily.

The first day we woke up quite early so that we wouldn't miss out on any sun longers, yet there was more than enough sun loungers for everyone, and it was even very quite throughout the day. We would have lunch at the hotel which was no more than 6 euros each and filled us up quite nicely. It was also a really nice seating area.

The location could not have been more perfect as we were about 45 seconds walk to the supermarket, 2 minutes from the beach and about 1 minute from the main strip... yet the hotel is situated down a tiny alleyway which just allows it to be taken off the main road and is much much quieter.

We started off the week absolutely loving the staff and even called Antonio (who has some bad reviews saying he is a sleeze, which he is not) "Daddy" as when we had some trouble with some boys trying to come back to the hotel with us he would come over tell us to "Go inside girls" and then he would make them leave...... The only tiny negative we had of the whole holiday was the last night when we got back to the hotel around half 7/8am and wanted to jump into the pool... so we all slipped into the pool really quickly and got out, but Antonio did not like this and went crazy at us.. he shouted at us as if he really was our Dad, even grabbed my friends bra from the back as he tried to run away and then once we went back to the room we were talking on the balcony and he came and told us to go inside, which we did not do as he cannot tell us to go inside.. he also said that for jumping in the pool we would get a fine.
So, in the morning we spoke to the manager who laughed and said we would get no fine and that there is no closing times of the pool and it is fine to swim at that time of the morning (the manager also has a very very cute puppy called 'Amora')

The private beach is called 'Nisos' and if you say you are from Drossia Palms then they give you discount, yet one of our friends had a little (or rather big) flirt with the guy and managed to get us free beds all week long, although they only charge 2.50 euros for a bed.... the private beach is the best private beach on the whole beach and is right next to pleasure beach were loads of the big events take place...

The hotel's restaurant which is at the corner of macdonalds wasn't as great as it looks, we went there for our final meal and was a bit dissapointed, but still had a very nice atmosphere and very friendly staff

We highly recommend the paint party at pleasure beach, the flying fish on the beach, and hiring quad bikes as they are so much fun... do not hire from hermes though as they are the 'Malia Mafia' but take a walk up the strip and ask all the quad bike shops as the prices do vary.

Air conditioning was only 40 euros and is a necessity and so worth it!

All in all, us girls had the best holiday we have ever had and would very much recommend this hotel !!!!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have bigger balconies, especially the one on the furthest left
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drossia Palms Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drossia Palms Apartments

Address: Demokratias 133, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Drossia Palms Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drossia Palms, located in down town Malia Crete, is not just your regular three star hotel; In addition to a top-quality accommodation standard, Drossia Palms offers excellent guest services as well as a perfect, inviting home from home on your summer holidays in Malia Crete. The 31 upgraded rooms and studios of Drossia Palms are situated amidst a delightful garden where all facilities and common areas are centred: an extensive swimming pool with adjacent sun terrace and gorgeous palm tree garden, our snack bar that serves breakfast, meals and refreshments all day long and a relaxing lounge area with internet corner and free Wi-Fi internet access. Drossia Palms' excellent location close to Malia's entertainment district and steps away from Malia's central beach strip easily allows you to explore the interesting area of Malia by foot: Enjoy our delightful sandy beaches, visit the unique archaeological site and the cozy Old Town of Malia with its romantic taverns. And last but not least, dive into the awesome nightlife scene of Down Town Malia. We hope to welcome you soon at Drossia Palms for a wonderful holiday in Malia Crete! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Drossia Palms Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drossia Palms Apartments Hotel Malia
Drossia Palms Apartments Malia, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drossia Palms Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.