We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for young families!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drossia Palms Apartments

Save Saved
You added Drossia Palms Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drossia Palms Apartments
1.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Demokratis 133, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 54 Specialty lodging in Malia
Resolute, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect for young families!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here last summer. We had our 14 month old daughter with us. Manos, his wife, daughters and staff went WELL ABOVE and Beyond to provide us with an amazing vacation! His wife brought us cookies that her mother had made, they gushed over our baby, and were among the hardest working people we had ever met. The owners were there from morning until night. They certainly earn their living! Keep up the great work! Antonia is always full of interesting stories and makes mean mojito at the bar!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    20
    3
    4
    6
See reviews for
9
50
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Hotel itself was nice, usual overpriced rubbish food that you expect in Malia (you're there to drink really not to partake in fine dining). We had to have our room moved due to a cockroach infestation (I mean in the pipes, coming up our drains, on the walls - yuck!). Our second room was ok but we could still hear them at night.

The drinks at the hotel were reasonably priced and Antonio makes a decent cocktail - he is, however an absolute sleaze. We had a camera trained on our balcony which made us feel uncomfy about sunbathing there, especially when we caught him switching between different balconies. He also barged into one of the girls rooms when she was getting changed to check there were "no boys there" and left the door wide open. There were also a group of really young English girls there and he was all over them.

I've been to Malia a few times, and this is the nicest hotel I've stayed in, although not the cleanest and sleazy bar guy does let them down - I don't think I'd stay there again unless you paid me....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

After looking for a place to stay where it was quite ,but at the same time lively !(no pleaseing some people!) , mid forties and still like a boogie! We were advised to stay at Malia in the early part of May .Having been to Greece before , I knew what to expect on the rooms front and to be honest they were basic (as are most I have stayed in,do not expect 5 star luxury for the money you pay) but very clean and we had the added bonus of a pool view .As we arrived at the resort I was apprehensive , when the coach pulled up on the main road and we were told to walk down a side entry......WOW as soon as we turned the corner it was like walking into another world, .we were greeted and made to feel very welcome from that moment on.TOTALLY recommend the appartment/resort if, like us you want best of both worlds. Going to stay this May 2013 and have arranged for pool view again , in their revamped rooms!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are great ,as lots of sun and nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Having been to Malia a couple of times before I wasnt expecting great accomodation however when we arrived at Drossia Palms (17 July 2012) we were very surprised at the complex, Fantastic bar area, lovely pool and as there were only two of us they told us they booked us into one of the "private" rooms which was beautifully decorated, clean, modern with a nice bathroom.
Antonio the barman was a legend and was very proud of the bar area he worked throughout the night not only as a barman but also as a security guard making sure nobody brought people back with them etc.

If you are 17-20 in a big group I wouldnt recommend this hotel to you because there are many other hotels which would allow you to get away with drunken behavour. An example was whilst we were there a group of 11 lads were also staying there (17 year old) and basically they couldnt handle there drink and one of the lads decided to have a poo in the middle of the corridor which obviously didnt go down very well at Drossia Palms as thc cctv instantly pointed out who was responsible.

I would recommened this hotel for 22+ year olds in smaller groups, of couples, families etc... Its a quality hotel, a short walk from the beach, bars, restaurants etc.

If you do stay in Malia though be careful especially if you think walking to the beach on a night is a good idea... I was amazed by the amount of muggings which happened this year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My friends and I went to Malia this summer (apologies for typing the review late), it was myself and 5 other guys, all in our early 20's and we figured Malia was the place to be. First of all, when we booked the holiday we were DEFINITELY advised that this was 'a good hotel for the younger generation' however that was far from the truth. When we arrived to check in, the greeting we got was as if they were thinking 'these lot look like trouble' and it was pretty evident that from the moment we had arrived, we weren't liked at all.

The destination of the hotel confuses me slightly, because when we were there we were told the owners 'like to attract the families and the couples of this world'. I'm pretty confident in saying, that if you were to go on holiday with either close family or your partner....Malia is not really the ideal location, especially when this hotel is virtually on the main strip to the beach and all the clubs! It's fine to have preferences, but they also have to be realistic with what you have got. The amount of times we were told to 'keep the noise down' when we would be talking amongst ourselves was shocking.

The only good thing I can actually say about the hotel, is that there was a pleasent lady that worked in the day time making very nice snacks and always served with a welcoming smile on her face.

My overall view? The location of this hotel WOULD be good if they accepted the fact they would be more successful if they prioritised being a 18-30's place of interest. Everyone who worked there (maids, management and the gentleman in the evenings) were very rude and need to remember people are on holiday to enjoy themselves, not to be treated like immature children. I would simply not recommend this locaton to anyone and not even to families or couples....why? Because if you love them that much, you would simply take them somewhere much better!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was our first girls holiday so we were completely unsure what to expect. This hotel was a perfect location as it was literally 1 minute walk to the supermarket, 5 minutes walk to the beach and 3 minute walk to the strip! The pool area and pool itself was great, however it was very quiet. Bar and food service during the day was fantastic and food was relatively cheap with great portion sizes- especially when you are an 18 year old with limited money!

We met friends in the hotel who were also from Scotland. On return from the nightlife (which is amazing!!) we were not allowed to sit in each others rooms. Even though we were not causing trouble or making noise. Bar man/"security guard" seen on CCTV where we were and came knocking on the door to tell us to stay in our own rooms. This was annoying as we honestly were just chatting and having a good time!

Apart from this, my friends and I would recommend the hotel as it was ideal for a chill out during the day and very close to the strip where we could party all night long!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

stayed here 6th may 2013 for second time.i must thank everyone who works there manos and his wife frosso for making it a great stay.antonio is really brill and would do anything for you nothing is to much.top floor being renovated this year which will make it even better.once again thanks to all at drossia palms.

Room Tip: all rooms will be first class in 2013.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Drossia Palms Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drossia Palms Apartments

Address: Demokratis 133, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 54 Specialty lodging in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Drossia Palms Apartments 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Drossia Palms Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drossia Palms Apartments Hotel Malia
Drossia Palms Apartments Malia, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drossia Palms Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.