We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you are young DO NOT stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Drossia Palms Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Drossia Palms Apartments to your Saves list
Drossia Palms Apartments
1.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Demokratias 133, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Malia
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“if you are young DO NOT stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

oh where do i start guys. First of all thought hotel was lovely and loved the staff. after 2 days we thought differently. There was no privacy what so ever there was cctv night vision camera on the balcony and i understand for safety but i have never experienced any cctv on balconys in any hotel in ny resort in the past. I also feel the cameras in the hall way and balconys were not used for safety by the 'security guard' as pervy coments were made on what we were doing the night before. Its a bit rediculous that it is a 24 hour bar but you are not aloud any music, any above whisper talking or laughing. I understand you need to respect the other guests but feel that some people staying in the hotel got the run of the place but others didnt (younger people) or people that stayed upstairs in the appartments. Pictures of rooms wasnt what the appartments look like which isnt made clear as it is like a box. Our balcony door did not shut properly which meant the air con would turn off. air con btw is a rip off 130 euros for air con and safe which we found out other people paid less. The room does not come with a do not desturb sign so maids just walk in your room in the morning and clean around whether your in bed of on the toilet like my friend was. Very noisy and mop like a line on the floor? If were being quiet coming in at night then they should be quiet through the day as this is a party resort. antonio the 'security guard'/bar man will not allow you to sit in you own room with other hotel guests and will keep knocking on the door untill you let him in. we heard on of the rooms had a cockroach problem aswell jsut to put that in there too. thank goodness we found that out on our last day. Just found antonio very rude if you were not including him and would make life very difficult for you. Just found it very unfair that we paid the same amount of money as all the other guests but felt as though i was on a school trip. Did not feel we were being 'roudy' or 'loud' or 'rude' but was treated like this because we were speaking. Also transfer to hotel was 3 hours on a bus with no air con. Apart from this had an amazing holiday but would never return to this hotel or recomend it for anyone wanting a typical malia drinking holiday as are descriminated. all the other staff members are lovely.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    28
    4
    5
    7
See reviews for
11
62
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Located at the bottom end of the strip, two minutes from the beach. Large apartments which are nicely done out and very clean. Beds were so comfortable and sleep was not a problem.

Nice pool, great bar and terrific bar food (the breakfast was lovely.They have wifi in reception together with internet terminal and a large lounge with TV (TV's also in your room, which is well equipped with kettle, cooker, fridge and microwave).

Friendly welcome and staff that really know how to look after their customers.

October is out of season so it was nice and quiet.

So pleased to have stayed here and would definately come back again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good here and have a Grecian style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Having been going to Malia for 20 years and only found this GEM 3 years ago as it is set back from the main hustle and bustle of Malia. Very pretty location and facilities in this smallish family run hotel. The family and staff are wonderful, very friendly and helpful. They are quite strict with "rowdy" youngsters and thank God they are as they spoil it for other holiday makers. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who knows how to behave and have a good time. We have already booked for our 4th stay next year.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

My wife and I found the Drossia Palms quite by accident several years ago. We have been going to Malia for the best part of twenty years, when 4 years ago our regular hotel let us down so we opted for the Drossia Palms thinking it was the one on the corner. When the transfer bus drove past the hotel we expected to be dropped off at my heart sank. We stopped 100m further down the road got off and followed the tour rep filled with trepidation. At the end of a short alley way was a beautifully layed out hotel with pool area and reception.
We fell in love with it straight away, this was before we found out that the rooms were clean comfortable and with optional A/C. The manager Manos and his lovely wife Froso go out of their way to ensure you stay is as good as can be, and Antonio the bar man is an absalute legend. His bar manner is second to none and if you are sat on your own he will ensure that doesn`t last long. Try his speciality cocktail "dogs bollocks" it`s GERT LUSH.
We have stayed three times now and already booked for 2012. Overall an excellent hotel located 200m from the beach well run and very friendly. And if you get the chance try the hotel BBQ and quiz night.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the farmland and not the strip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

me and my boyfriend stayed at drossia palms last year and not long come back again this year we couldnt fault it in any way we love it and we love everyone that works there 2 they really help make our holiday amazing so thank you for that :) :) im already arranging to book for next year already cant wait. its the perfect location , its close to everything you need and want. The room are very clean as always , the food is great and barman antonio is a legend we love him and his fab cocktails hes great, if you booking for malia BOOK HERE :) its fantastic xx hales and ash x

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I have stayed at the Drossia twice now. The first time with friends and the second time i took my son. I wouldn't feel safe taking my son anywhere else he had freedom to run around and i didn't need to worry because there was always a member of staff at the front of the hotel. The hotel is set back from the main strip so it's safer and less noisey. Manos and Froso are always on hand for any complaints (which i never had). Charlie who work during the day made the best snack food and was always friendly and Antonio well what can i say he is such a top bloke. Always friendly! Always smiling! Would chat to anyone and my son fell in love with him. He makes the best cocktails i've ever tasted. I will definatly be going back!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Drossia Palms is a great place to stay.
It is really close to the beach and all the bars & clubs but it is still quiet.
The pool is always clean as are the rooms and whole hotel.
Antonio is the best barman which I see:))), He made you feel really welcome.
All in all we had a brill time and hope to be there again soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Drossia Palms Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drossia Palms Apartments

Address: Demokratias 133, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Drossia Palms Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drossia Palms, located in down town Malia Crete, is not just your regular three star hotel; In addition to a top-quality accommodation standard, Drossia Palms offers excellent guest services as well as a perfect, inviting home from home on your summer holidays in Malia Crete. The 31 upgraded rooms and studios of Drossia Palms are situated amidst a delightful garden where all facilities and common areas are centred: an extensive swimming pool with adjacent sun terrace and gorgeous palm tree garden, our snack bar that serves breakfast, meals and refreshments all day long and a relaxing lounge area with internet corner and free Wi-Fi internet access. Drossia Palms' excellent location close to Malia's entertainment district and steps away from Malia's central beach strip easily allows you to explore the interesting area of Malia by foot: Enjoy our delightful sandy beaches, visit the unique archaeological site and the cozy Old Town of Malia with its romantic taverns. And last but not least, dive into the awesome nightlife scene of Down Town Malia. We hope to welcome you soon at Drossia Palms for a wonderful holiday in Malia Crete! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Drossia Palms Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drossia Palms Apartments Hotel Malia
Drossia Palms Apartments Malia, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drossia Palms Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.