We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peace away from the bustle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cretan Malia Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cretan Malia Park to your Saves list
Cretan Malia Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box GR, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 96 Hotels in Malia
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“peace away from the bustle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

have been to this hotel twice now. it is of a high standard with friendly staff. it is suitable for adults and families alike. It is set just far enough outside malia town to be peacfull but near enough to go in to town if you fancy a change of scenery.great food choices exellent pools, nightly entertainment. on the beach. loved it. [hence the second trip]

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    71
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
60
90
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Myself and my partner (both 26), enjoyed a 9 night stay at the Cretan Park in July 2012. We can’t recommend this hotel enough. It was so relaxing, friendly, comfortable, delicious – overall a joy to be staying there. On our last morning whilst we waited for our coach to the airport we seriously contemplated staying another few days, but due to work commitments we couldn’t. We’ve never felt like we didn’t want to go home as much as we did on this holiday.

Brief overview of what the hotel has to offer:

FOOD:
Breakfast (buffet) – lots and lots of choice. Hot and cold, healthy, unhealthy, all different cultures catered for. There was always fresh fruit available, fresh omelettes made in front of you, every variety of egg going, bacon, sausage, beans, 5 -6 varieties of cereal, yoghurt, dried fruit, cold meats, cheese, fruit juice, lots of different types of bread, toast, butter, jams, marmalade, nutella, milk (hot/cold/whole/low fat), tea and coffee. I have probably missed lots of items but it gives you an idea of the scope of what was on offer.

Lunch (buffet) – Again lots of choice. Salads were always made fresh, never the leftovers from the night before. BBQ food available, choice for fussy eaters or kids, with chips and pizza always available. Fresh fish, grilled chicken, some saucy dishes with rice, potatoes etc. Every day was slightly different. Desserts were available too, all of a very high standard.

Dinner (buffet) – Themed nights kept up a good standard of variety. Never ran out of food, never had to queue for food. Choice of hot or cold plates. Quality of food on offer was very high. Service was good.

A la Carte Dinner – We had the opportunity to eat at the Greek and Italian A la Carte restaurants once throughout our stay. We really, really enjoyed the Italian and had this on our first night. The service was very slow and at first we were given German menu’s but once the food started coming it turned round and became a fabulous evening. Be warned though, you are given so much food so make sure you save room because all courses are delicious and we found ourselves too full to enjoy our 2nd main course!!
We enjoyed our Greek meal but not as much as the Italian. Still excellent but not as enjoyable. The setting for the Greek meal is overlooking the ocean and it’s left us with beautiful memories of that night.

ACCOMMODATION:
Immaculate. Maids were tremendous. Only let down was the balcony was quite small. Air con worked well, good sized room and bathroom. The safe was easy to operate and you punched in your own code, so felt safe that no staff knew how to get into it. Very comfortable beds. Slippers were provided.

GROUNDS/POOL AREAS:
Beautiful grounds. Everything was very clean and tidy. Very picturesque. Lighting at night was lovely too. Plenty of toilets around.

SNACK BARS:
There is a beach bar and pool bar. Never too busy. Great staff, always very attentive and helpful. Very good selection of drinks, snacks, ice-cream, fruit available. Some ice cream is free, others (the branded ones) were not, but at least you are given the choice. Milkshakes went down a treat as a mid-afternoon indulgence.

LOCATION:
Hotel has its own private beach. Taxi into Malia town is €7, or 20-25 min walk. Same sort of distance to Malia Old town. Close to 3 supermarkets/giftshops. We found the location ideal. We had the crazy nightlife of Malia if we wanted it, the slow paced evenings of Malia old town if we wanted a change of scenery or we could stay at our hotel, kick back and enjoy whatever was going on there. The animation team was not that great, in fact they were terrible, but they aren’t there every night and you can sit elsewhere in the bar and ignore them.

If you like animals you might be interested to know that there is a cat café opposite reception outside where the hotels resident cats are fed. I’m not quite sure if staff feed the cats regularly or not, there didn’t seem to be much sign of it, so I think the cats rely on tip bits and kind donations of food from the hotels residents. Being a cat lover, I had to do my best to care for these skinny cats whilst I was there. There was a tiny ginger kitten amongst the gang and at first he wouldn’t eat if the other cats were eating but I nurtured him along and by the end of our stay he was the 1st one to the plate. I hope he’s doing ok!

We found that both supermarkets either side of the hotel both sold cat food, both dry and wet. If you have any room in your suitcase it’s probably cheaper to take some with you, but it wasn’t too expensive. We bought some plastic disposable plates too so that the cats didn’t have to eat off filthy plates which were a permanent feature of the cat café, and a set of plastic forks. We found some ham at the supermarkets too and the cats thoroughly enjoyed it!

My only slight negative is the table service around the bar area at night. It dropped to an unacceptable level, we would wait for ages for a drink but were encouraged not to come up to the bar to be served. It was clear that more staff was needed, both behind the bar and taking orders.

So back to the hotel and the holiday overall – 10/10. We can’t wait to back and if we could we’d be back this year! We can’t thank the staff enough for the efforts they went to to make our stay such a memorable one.

Room Tip: Bungalows rooms are away from the main hotel building but within close proximity of everything &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Where do i start, simply awesome,food fantastic, staff friendly always smiling.beach sheer bliss. Always got a sunbed and unbrella on beach and swimming pools whatever time of day no problems so able to stay in bed and get up without the usual early rush to secure a bed. Get up 9 go and eat breakfast then stroll down to beach or pool at 10ish and just relax for rest of day.Never had to wait more then 10 minutes to be served anytime during the day or night, Total relaxed and enjoyable holiday. The only bad point is the animationtotally rubbish and not worth bothering with. Just do as we did and sit inside around the bar and get to meet the staff and fellow guests and have a giggle every night.The aircon aint that good but ive never found a hotel that has good system yet.One of the staff members Stafis, (he works at greek restaurant and beach bar)has his own bar in the old town. its called his and hairs, and is truly a beautifull bar with the coldest aircon i have witnessed.The man is truly funny and a great host so i would highly recommend going and spendind an evening at his bar.Never witnessed any preference to service because of room numbers, we were in a bungalow starting with a 2 and friends we met were in a room above restautant and agian they had no problems either. i would give this hotel 9 out of 10 and it would have got a 10 if the animation had been any good. Go relax and soak up the sun. This hotel is the best, most relaxing, peacefull,beautifull gardens, lovely beach i have stayed in.

Room Tip: bungalow garden view nice. not worth the extra for anything else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Overall the hotel is lovely, has brilliant facilities including the pool,beach & resteraunts etc. but the service of the staff was always poor everynight. Nearly every night we were forced to wait half hour to 45 minutes to just place our order, then nearly an hour to be served our drinks. The rooms were also lovely but had many faults, these were the air con, which made no difference to the temperature of the room, forcing us to wake up mid-way through the night sweating. The bathroom was good looking and neat but the shower was far to small for the three of us staying in the room, which sometimes caused the bathroom to flood. But apart from these faults the hotel is a beautiful respectable place, which includes many events and nightly entertainment, I'm not a one to inforce my thoughts of the hotel on the reader of the review but these faults do ruin the hotel in a full.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Only hotel that I've been to that deal with the issue of cats. They positively encourage guests not to feed the cats as they have a feeding area. Food excellent, although drink service a bit slow in the restaurants. Rooms are a bit dated as well as bathrooms, but the beds really comfy. Evening entertainment is poor because the animation team have to do this. We were all inclusive but did go out to eat at some local tavernas. Quality of drinks very good, but evening service on the terrace extremely slow due to having to order through only one waiter. We had a pleasant stay, obviously Malia is a dump, but we hired a car just outside the hotel and explored. Crete is a lovely island and we will be returning but to a different area to explore more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Just got back from an amazing week at Cretan Malia Park. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted with a glass of champagne which was a nice touch. On getting to our room we were pleasantly surprised to find it to be a 2 bedroomed suite with 2 balconys overlooking the pool & sea. Suite was of a high standard extremely spacious, tv, fridge, loads of wardrobes and storage and a nice touch a bottle of wine and bowl of fruit as a welcome. They also provide a mosquito plug in for room which was in dressing table draw which we didnt notice till we checked out. everyday they change the beds and towels which include bath towels, hand towels and beech towels-there hairdryer is rubbish so take your own. We stayed all inclusive and have to say the food was amazing-the first holiday ive never had an upset stomach. plenty of choice, plenty to go round-no fighting for food or going hungry. Breakfast served 9-11 in main restaurant, lunch in a le carte restaurant by pool 12:30-4pm dinner in main restaurant 6:30-10pm. You can get drinks all day at the beech bar and pool bar and main lobby. Cocktails really nice (some charged as not included) They have a cat cafe in the hotel which i think is a lovely touch-they have taken in many stray cats and kittens and had them spayed/neutered and they live in the grounds. they are round you in the restaurants begging for food which you are not allowed to feed them (i did lol) only in the designated area at front of the hotel. like me many people were putting left overs in napkins for them or you could buy a can of cat food from shop inside hotel for 1 euro. Plenty of sunbeds for everyone at the pool and beech. The resort is 80% german, 15% italien and sadly 5% english so bare this in mind-we were english and only met 10 others but to be fair didnt have problem with language barrier. Yiannis the waiter in bar was the best member of staff in the resort, after 1st night he knew our room number and exactly what we drank and kept us entertained singing and dancing throughout our stay(he should be the entertainment he was fab)

BAD POINTS

Entertainment was by far the worst i have ever seen on any holiday ive been on in past 12 years. you had 5 people a german girl, a polish girl, a italien girl, a latvien guy and lastly Nico the greek. The shows were an hour long and they spent the whole time miming to songs really badly, putting on wigs and the boys stripping down to boxer shorts baring in mind its a family resort. There version of grease was awful and left me so disappointed, poor dance routines if you can call them that, miming the script and songs badly and lame costumes, then the next night we had mama mia which was worse-the only highlight was as they did not have enough people to play the charactors they got a guy who was on holiday to join in and he was by far better then them and got the biggest cheers, there so called comedy night was diabolical-again the men trying to get cheap laughs stripping to boxers. the latvien guy was dreadful and clearly in the wrong job-no enthusiasm, couldnt dance or act. Nico was clearly the leader but has no talent. One night they had some professional greek dancers come in and they were fab-had us all dancing in and joining in (what you would expect in a 5* resort) i really think they need to look at the entertainment factor and get people in that can sing and dance and put on a show.

To sum the whole holiday up it was a beautiful resort, good food & drink. good location 25 minute walk or 7 euro cab fare to main strip in malia which i definatly recommend best bars & clubs ive been too. only thing that lets this down is the animation team. would definatly go back again but hopefully they will have sorted the entertainment.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

My husband and i travelled here for a relaxing week in June. We arrived to a warm welcome from the reception and we were impressed immediatley by the grounds of the hotel and its location on the beach.
Beach-The beach is lovely and the hotel provides free sun loungers with umbrellas, a beach bar and free pedalos and canoes. We went all inclusive and there are a huge range of drinks to choose from at the beach bar ( the same menu as the hotel bar) from milkshakes, non alcholic cocktails, cocktails, juices, bottles of water, alcholic drinks and a range of teas and coffees. You can also get Cheese and ham toasties from here if you dont feel like moving from your sunlounger. It tended to be the same bar tender each day,he was hit and miss really, sometimes pleasant sometimes verging on rude. ( This was the only problem we had with all the staff)
Food - The food was excellent overall. In the daytime you would have a buffet breakfast in the main dining room with a huge selection of cereals, fruits, pastries and cooked breakfast. For lunch there was a buffet by the poolside which again was varied each day with lots of fresh salads, fish and meat dishes. And then back to the main restaurant for the eveining meal. There was a Cretan corner with local specialities, various cooked fish and meat dishes and there was always show cooking with a meat or fish dish. Overall the food was of a really high standard.
Rooms- The rooms are clean and have some nice touches like fruit and wine on arrival. We had a pool view bungalow room and it was very peaceful and relaxing. The hairdryers in the room are rubbish so take your own.
Bar- There is one main bar in the evening where you can sit in or outside. The bar menu is extensive and we went through all the different cocktails throughout the week. The bartenders are fab and after the first night they knew our room number and our drinks!

Entertainment /Animation team - Considering the hotel is in a quiet location (a good 20 minute walk to bars) you would expect there to be some decent entertainment in the evening. Well think again, they are AWFUL. I have stayed in 100 s of hotels and this is officially the worst animation team i have ever seen. On the first night we were subjected to a "Comedy" show. The head entertainer Nico was trying to do impressions and stripped to his underwear to try and get a cheap laugh but it didnt work. I have never felt so uncomfortable sitting among a full terrace of people with not one person laughing. It really is dreadful and is the main point that lets the hotel down.
Cats - There is a "Cat Cafe" at the front of the hotel where you can feed the local cats in a certain area of the hotel. There are signs all over the restaurants asking guests not to feed the cats outside the cat cafe area. Some people obviously ignored this ( as we witnessed) and this meant that whenever you sat in the main restaurant ( outside) or the pool restaurant to eat you had cats round you watching you eat,brushing past your legs and on one night one jumped on our table. I dont mind cats but they did start to get annoying. If you dont like them, you will hate this hotel.
Overall a lovely relaxing hotel with excellent food, service and grounds but it has a bit to go to be a 5* in my opinion.

Room Tip: Book a bungalow pool view room and you ll be closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cretan Malia Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cretan Malia Park

Address: PO Box GR, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malia
#4 Family Hotel in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cretan Malia Park 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cretan Malia Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cretan Malia Park Hotel Malia
Cretan Hotel Malia
Cretan Malia Park Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cretan Malia Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.