We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Stelios Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Stelios Apartments to your Saves list
Stelios Apartments
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Megali Ammos Beach, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 96 Hotels in Malia
Wexford IRl
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not a hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just returned aweek ago from 7 night stay at Horizon. Having read all the reviews here it was a toss up whether to choose this accomodation. Before departing I had double checked with my travel agent that my accomodation was "in" the hotel and not the apartments.This was confirmed.On arrival we were checked in to an apartment quite a distance from the hotel.The followin morning we were promised a nice room at the hotel 2 days later..This did not materialise as the alternative offered was another apartment the same distance away.My impression of this establishment is that it is at most a 2 star "facility"."The" most basic of rooms and the food barely edible.MY advice --- Dont go here !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    9
    7
    15
See reviews for
15
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

dont waste your money on this flea ridden discusting hotel we have just returned from the worst experience of a week we have ever endured dirty filthy room dirty beds bitten to death by fleas mosies save your money and dont go here x

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Just came back from Malia with a group of lads. The apartments we stayed in was a great location and only 2 minutes away from the strip and brassier a restaurant around the corner which was the best place we eat and went there 9 nights in a row, amazing! Anyway, the apartment rooms were very basic, bed placed right beside the cooker and sink with a rock hard mattress. Other room had 2 beds very close together. The bar at the apartment was expensive. The main reason however why I wouldn't go back to this place is the rep for this apartment. His name is andy, when we first arrived here he ignored us and the first thing he said to us which was on the 4th day was to eat at the bar or you will be threatened to be kicked out. He also caused a lot of arguments with another group that was there and even kicked a boy out for arguing over a ham and cheese toastie! This guy is a horrible person and have heard he has had many complaints. Hope this has been useful!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at Stelios Stalis/Horizon Hotel 3 years ago in the apts and loved it so was very happy when we arrived in Crete and were told we'd been allocated these apts, Unfortunately things have changed.
When we arrived the reception was friendly, the apt 107 was groundfloor in the 2nd block, it was on the walkway that people used to get to the Horizon which gave a constant noise of the ''flipflop brigade'' going back and forth at the set meal times, also there was a storage room at the side of us so we had all the noise from staff and deliveries from 5am, Luckily we don't cook or eat in the room or we would have had to share cutlery and there was only 2 of us in an apt to sleep 4! the bathroom was rather grubby, but towels and bedding were changed twice during the week, I think 40 euros for a weeks air-con is rather steep.
The pool nearest the apts now has no bar or snack facilities
Heaven forbid you should get robbed while you sleep as we did, because the staff turned from friendly to not speaking to us! the luckily the Olympic rep came out and helped us
We were going to get married there, I'm so glad we stayed before arranging anything, I'm so saddened by the change with it as it's ideally situated for Stalis and the main bus route
Please note these are also come under the name Horizon Stelios

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We had previously stayed at these apts in September 2006, August 2007 and August 2009 so had no hesitation in returning here in May 2011. We stayed 24th May - 7th June.
We knew from our last visit that the owners of the Stelios had bought the Horizon next door so we wondered what affect this may have in the long run.
When we arrived we collected our keys from the reception in Horizon and were told about the safety deposit boxes and air con - we didn't have either.
We made our way round to the Stelios side and we were in room 209 which is in block b (the previous times we had always been in block c) this was because block c was not yet open but towards the end of our 2nd week it was open.
The apartment itself was big enough for the 2 of us. Straight in to the kitchen area which had fridge, two ring hob, kettle and enough cups, glasses and tableware for us and also a table and 4 chairs. There were also 2 single beds.
The bedroom was large and had a double bed, which was great as we usually ended up with 2 singles pushed together, a small dressing table and a tv.
The bathroom was smaller than we'd had on previous stays and felt a bit cramped but was sufficient for us.
We did have a nice balcony and if you looked out over the corner then you could see the sea and into the town but there was no chance of chatting to neighbors as we were right on the corner.
There was still only the 1 pool open on the Stelios side which we used 4 or 5 times as it was a quieter pool, although while we there it did look as though the 2nd smaller pool between block b & c was being cleaned up to be used again??
The bar on the Stelios side was never opened during our stay and appeared to be being used as a training base for new Olympic Holiday reps.
We did go round to the big pool on the Horizon side but it was very busy so not much chance for a swim although the views from the pool area are very, very good.
The cleaning, bed linen and towel changing was ok although we did have to ask once for clean towels.
Overall it wasn't as good as our previous stays and we felt like the Stelios side wasn't being looked after as well as the Horizon side with regards to the pool and bar areas.
We've always got a good price on our holidays here and if we decide to return to Stalis in the future and the price is good then we would consider it as the location is very good.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

lovely apartmants- we had to go to the horizon around the corner if we needed anything but it was at the end of season!! it is lovely and clean and the staff are so nice and helpful.
it was quiet a lovely place for familys. it is near to the main strip in stalis a 10 minute walk. would come again lovely!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed at the Stelios apartments Stalis in August with our 5 children in two rooms . We arrived in the middle of the night and the man on the desk i would say needs to be more polite . We stayed in the self catering block and the rooms were great lots of room for all of our children . Our rooms overlooked the sea too which was a bonus and the was a childrens play area right next to us . There were two pools one for the apartments blocks and one for the all inclusive rooms which was ten times better this is the one you see advertised and yes it looks out over the sea idilic! Only one bar open the one for the all inclusive guests not that this bothered us we went to stalis most nights which is a very pleasent walk about 10 minutes away. The bars and resterants in Stalis are fantastic easily enought to eat somewhere different every time . Malia is not within walking distance well at least not with children it took us the best part of the day to walk there back and eat in between ! It looks like its round the corner on the map . The lack of buses in the resort is shocking they have a scenic train that would take you to the three resorts but this would have cost us the best part of £60 and we think england is expensive . Overall Stalis is a lovely place to visit and the people were really really friendly . The hotel / apartments is a great place to stay if visiting Stalis .

Room Tip: Try to stay in block c overlooking the sea .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stelios Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stelios Apartments

Address: Megali Ammos Beach, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 96 Hotels in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stelios Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stelios studios is a group of six studios and one flat. The studio is for 2-3 persons and the flat is for 2-6 persons. The Stelios studios are 750 meters away from the port of Skiathos and 110 meters from Megali Ammos Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stelios Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stelios Apartments Malia, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stelios Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.