We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th time to these apartments and not as good as previous stays!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stelios Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Stelios Apartments to your Saves list
Stelios Apartments
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Megali Ammos Beach, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 96 Hotels in Malia
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“4th time to these apartments and not as good as previous stays!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We had previously stayed at these apts in September 2006, August 2007 and August 2009 so had no hesitation in returning here in May 2011. We stayed 24th May - 7th June.
We knew from our last visit that the owners of the Stelios had bought the Horizon next door so we wondered what affect this may have in the long run.
When we arrived we collected our keys from the reception in Horizon and were told about the safety deposit boxes and air con - we didn't have either.
We made our way round to the Stelios side and we were in room 209 which is in block b (the previous times we had always been in block c) this was because block c was not yet open but towards the end of our 2nd week it was open.
The apartment itself was big enough for the 2 of us. Straight in to the kitchen area which had fridge, two ring hob, kettle and enough cups, glasses and tableware for us and also a table and 4 chairs. There were also 2 single beds.
The bedroom was large and had a double bed, which was great as we usually ended up with 2 singles pushed together, a small dressing table and a tv.
The bathroom was smaller than we'd had on previous stays and felt a bit cramped but was sufficient for us.
We did have a nice balcony and if you looked out over the corner then you could see the sea and into the town but there was no chance of chatting to neighbors as we were right on the corner.
There was still only the 1 pool open on the Stelios side which we used 4 or 5 times as it was a quieter pool, although while we there it did look as though the 2nd smaller pool between block b & c was being cleaned up to be used again??
The bar on the Stelios side was never opened during our stay and appeared to be being used as a training base for new Olympic Holiday reps.
We did go round to the big pool on the Horizon side but it was very busy so not much chance for a swim although the views from the pool area are very, very good.
The cleaning, bed linen and towel changing was ok although we did have to ask once for clean towels.
Overall it wasn't as good as our previous stays and we felt like the Stelios side wasn't being looked after as well as the Horizon side with regards to the pool and bar areas.
We've always got a good price on our holidays here and if we decide to return to Stalis in the future and the price is good then we would consider it as the location is very good.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    9
    7
    15
See reviews for
15
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bolon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

lovely apartmants- we had to go to the horizon around the corner if we needed anything but it was at the end of season!! it is lovely and clean and the staff are so nice and helpful.
it was quiet a lovely place for familys. it is near to the main strip in stalis a 10 minute walk. would come again lovely!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed at the Stelios apartments Stalis in August with our 5 children in two rooms . We arrived in the middle of the night and the man on the desk i would say needs to be more polite . We stayed in the self catering block and the rooms were great lots of room for all of our children . Our rooms overlooked the sea too which was a bonus and the was a childrens play area right next to us . There were two pools one for the apartments blocks and one for the all inclusive rooms which was ten times better this is the one you see advertised and yes it looks out over the sea idilic! Only one bar open the one for the all inclusive guests not that this bothered us we went to stalis most nights which is a very pleasent walk about 10 minutes away. The bars and resterants in Stalis are fantastic easily enought to eat somewhere different every time . Malia is not within walking distance well at least not with children it took us the best part of the day to walk there back and eat in between ! It looks like its round the corner on the map . The lack of buses in the resort is shocking they have a scenic train that would take you to the three resorts but this would have cost us the best part of £60 and we think england is expensive . Overall Stalis is a lovely place to visit and the people were really really friendly . The hotel / apartments is a great place to stay if visiting Stalis .

Room Tip: Try to stay in block c overlooking the sea .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We travelled to these apartments with our two children aged 19 and 16 yrs expecting good value for money and a friendly hotel, we were not disappointed at all. The location is great as it is only a 15 minute walk to the main street which offered some lovely tavernas and restaurants.I wouldnt recommend it for people who dont enjoy walking and have trouble with walking up steps as there are a few on the path to stalis. You also have to carry up cases if you are on the first of second floor of the apats.If you are in the hotel there are lifts.We ate twice at the hotel which was very nice but the buffet for the AI looked a bit unappertising.The pools were lovely dont be put off that they are salt water they were very clean and after a day at the beach very refreshing.There were mainly germans and polish and some english but this did not cause us any problems at all.The rooms were large and very spacious and cleaned every day. If you dont have enough crockery or towels then i recommend that you write a list and put please and thank you as this was very appreciated! The overall experience of the holiday was fabulous please do not be put off by some of the bad reviews it does not deserve it.We are planning on returning next May or June.

Room Tip: We were in block B with a side sea view which was lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bb11 lancs
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

my husband and i have just returned from the stelios stalis apts. This was our third time and i must say we were very disappointed and won,t be going back.
The bar was shut so you couldn,t get a drink unless you walked round to the Horizon. There was no atmosphere, I had one warm shower in the two weeks we spent there.
The shop had barely anything in for essentials.
We was told by some who were all-inclusive that the spirits weren,t included. You had to pay 4 euros and that included a 30% discount.
So that is it for us, we,ll be staying elsewhere next time we go to stalis.

Room Tip: rooms 210 - 215 have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

felt i had to leave a review after reading what the last post said.i have been to these apartments 3 times now and have left money, jewellery,cameras and phones lying about in the apartment and not once have anything gone missing.the cleaners are great.it isnt miles away from the centre of stalis.just a10-15 mins stroll.we always go self catering.why go to another country and only eat in one place.people i spoke to said the food was fine.also there are two pools,one neat the horizon block and one near the stelios block so not far from anywhere.there is also a small childrens playground.the apartments are clean,maids came every day.the mini market is a little expensive but ok in an emergency.we used to get few bits in stalis.the staff on reception are really friendly and helpful.the one after midnight can be a bit abrupt but we found him fine.the barmen are really nice but i think they get a bit fed up of the scuffle at the bar caused by those on AI trying to get as much as they can before they have to start paying.we find these apartments good value for money.some people pay 3 star prices and expect 5 star accommodation

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne and wear
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

very dissapointed with this apparently 3* plus hotel. this hotel was miles away from the centre of stalis, and you have to hike up a steep bank to get to it. all inclusive option was very poor and does not cater for children. hotel staff very rude and unhelpful. maids stole shoes and money from the room and i was made to feel like i had made it up!!! the pool and bar was quite a walk from our room, so not ideal if you have chldren and have to trail back and forth several times a day. very expensive supermarket also. hotel entertainment almost non existent. very boring and we could of gone to disney land for the amount we paid to go here. never ever again!! we were told this was a hig rated, family friendly hotel which catered well for children with lots of activities and near all ameneties - load of rubbish. we were gladwhen or final day arrived!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stelios Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stelios Apartments

Address: Megali Ammos Beach, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 96 Hotels in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stelios Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stelios studios is a group of six studios and one flat. The studio is for 2-3 persons and the flat is for 2-6 persons. The Stelios studios are 750 meters away from the port of Skiathos and 110 meters from Megali Ammos Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Stelios Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stelios Apartments Malia, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stelios Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.