We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it !!! Would go back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stelios Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Stelios Apartments to your Saves list
Stelios Apartments
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Megali Ammos Beach, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 96 Hotels in Malia
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Loved it !!! Would go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed at the Stelios apartments Stalis in August with our 5 children in two rooms . We arrived in the middle of the night and the man on the desk i would say needs to be more polite . We stayed in the self catering block and the rooms were great lots of room for all of our children . Our rooms overlooked the sea too which was a bonus and the was a childrens play area right next to us . There were two pools one for the apartments blocks and one for the all inclusive rooms which was ten times better this is the one you see advertised and yes it looks out over the sea idilic! Only one bar open the one for the all inclusive guests not that this bothered us we went to stalis most nights which is a very pleasent walk about 10 minutes away. The bars and resterants in Stalis are fantastic easily enought to eat somewhere different every time . Malia is not within walking distance well at least not with children it took us the best part of the day to walk there back and eat in between ! It looks like its round the corner on the map . The lack of buses in the resort is shocking they have a scenic train that would take you to the three resorts but this would have cost us the best part of £60 and we think england is expensive . Overall Stalis is a lovely place to visit and the people were really really friendly . The hotel / apartments is a great place to stay if visiting Stalis .

Room Tip: Try to stay in block c overlooking the sea .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    9
    7
    15
See reviews for
15
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We travelled to these apartments with our two children aged 19 and 16 yrs expecting good value for money and a friendly hotel, we were not disappointed at all. The location is great as it is only a 15 minute walk to the main street which offered some lovely tavernas and restaurants.I wouldnt recommend it for people who dont enjoy walking and have trouble with walking up steps as there are a few on the path to stalis. You also have to carry up cases if you are on the first of second floor of the apats.If you are in the hotel there are lifts.We ate twice at the hotel which was very nice but the buffet for the AI looked a bit unappertising.The pools were lovely dont be put off that they are salt water they were very clean and after a day at the beach very refreshing.There were mainly germans and polish and some english but this did not cause us any problems at all.The rooms were large and very spacious and cleaned every day. If you dont have enough crockery or towels then i recommend that you write a list and put please and thank you as this was very appreciated! The overall experience of the holiday was fabulous please do not be put off by some of the bad reviews it does not deserve it.We are planning on returning next May or June.

Room Tip: We were in block B with a side sea view which was lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bb11 lancs
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

my husband and i have just returned from the stelios stalis apts. This was our third time and i must say we were very disappointed and won,t be going back.
The bar was shut so you couldn,t get a drink unless you walked round to the Horizon. There was no atmosphere, I had one warm shower in the two weeks we spent there.
The shop had barely anything in for essentials.
We was told by some who were all-inclusive that the spirits weren,t included. You had to pay 4 euros and that included a 30% discount.
So that is it for us, we,ll be staying elsewhere next time we go to stalis.

Room Tip: rooms 210 - 215 have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

felt i had to leave a review after reading what the last post said.i have been to these apartments 3 times now and have left money, jewellery,cameras and phones lying about in the apartment and not once have anything gone missing.the cleaners are great.it isnt miles away from the centre of stalis.just a10-15 mins stroll.we always go self catering.why go to another country and only eat in one place.people i spoke to said the food was fine.also there are two pools,one neat the horizon block and one near the stelios block so not far from anywhere.there is also a small childrens playground.the apartments are clean,maids came every day.the mini market is a little expensive but ok in an emergency.we used to get few bits in stalis.the staff on reception are really friendly and helpful.the one after midnight can be a bit abrupt but we found him fine.the barmen are really nice but i think they get a bit fed up of the scuffle at the bar caused by those on AI trying to get as much as they can before they have to start paying.we find these apartments good value for money.some people pay 3 star prices and expect 5 star accommodation

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne and wear
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

very dissapointed with this apparently 3* plus hotel. this hotel was miles away from the centre of stalis, and you have to hike up a steep bank to get to it. all inclusive option was very poor and does not cater for children. hotel staff very rude and unhelpful. maids stole shoes and money from the room and i was made to feel like i had made it up!!! the pool and bar was quite a walk from our room, so not ideal if you have chldren and have to trail back and forth several times a day. very expensive supermarket also. hotel entertainment almost non existent. very boring and we could of gone to disney land for the amount we paid to go here. never ever again!! we were told this was a hig rated, family friendly hotel which catered well for children with lots of activities and near all ameneties - load of rubbish. we were gladwhen or final day arrived!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

we stayed here in aug 2011 for my 40th birthday. found the apartments to be very basic but clean. the family that run it are quite strict to keep everyone happy. they know that you are on holiday and the younger people get plastered but wont put up with any disruption. due to the place being rather small everyone gets to know each other around the pool during the day. this is a great place to stay if you like to make new friends. we did. its location is in the old town witch is beautiful. 5 mins from the main strip if you want to party but away from the noise if you want quiet. would gladly stay there again. no frills but a great place to be. loved it. thanks to lida and van for making us welcome. wayne and joanne. xx

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

I stayed in the Stelios apartments which you can book in the Olympic brochure. This is the second time I have taken my teenage daughter and I was not disappointed. This stay is good value for 2 people In august (£883 total) for a studio apartment. Although they say it has an inland view, on both occasions our room has faced the sea and our view has been lovely of Stalis bay. The apartments were independent until 2 years ago and now the hotel next door is par of the resort (Horizon) therefore you can now enjoy all the facilities of the hotel but still self cater.

On arrival you pay 40 euros for a control unit to keep your air conditioned bedroom cool during the evenings, small TV in the room with BBC world Service and your own shower room,balcony and kitchen area. There is also a third bed in this area so 2 adults could take young child .

I paid for inflight meal each way and my daughter liked these and I also managed to get an alternative flight home at 6pm this time as last time we had to sit out until 3am in the morning until the coach picked us up. This flight was offered on olympic booking site so look for it.

Stalis is a lovely town and very close to walk. The beach and waves are also great. 6 euros a day each to hire beds and umbrellas but a lot of people took towels for the beach. Lots of lovely beach bars and food was reasonably priced this year. 3 course meals for 2 for around 35 euros including drinks. I thought this was good value.

We also used the hotel to book trips,hire cars,all reasonable and not as expensive as going through Olympic. The pirate ship trip to Sissi was a lovely day out.

Rooms are cleaned nearly every day and new towels even though it's rated 3 star.

Room Tip: Take a studio apartment as they only have a few and they mainly have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stelios Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stelios Apartments

Address: Megali Ammos Beach, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 96 Hotels in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stelios Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stelios studios is a group of six studios and one flat. The studio is for 2-3 persons and the flat is for 2-6 persons. The Stelios studios are 750 meters away from the port of Skiathos and 110 meters from Megali Ammos Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stelios Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stelios Apartments Malia, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stelios Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.