We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Family friendly hotel in an excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Beach Hotel & Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander Beach Hotel & Village to your Saves list
Alexander Beach Hotel & Village
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Malia, Crete 70007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Superb Family friendly hotel in an excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights as a family of 5 with 2 teenagers and 1 pre-teen. The setting is fantastic, overlooking a beautiful sandy beach and the low rise apartments are attractive and set in beautiful gardens adorned with bourgainvilla, hibiscus, quince and lime trees laden with fruit. Our apartments were tastefully furnished and very clean with a welcome pack of wine, fruit and Greek pastries which I thought was a lovely touch. The beds were comfortable and not as hard as others which was a bonus. The third bed in the three bed apartment is shorter than a normal bed so best for a child 12 or under.
The food was excellent - I am not usually a fan of buffet style dinners but the choice was phenomenal and the quality of food excellent and had enough options to satisfy my fussy 13 year old son.
Would thoroughly recommend this for families with children, particularly pre-teen.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    72
    16
    9
    4
See reviews for
73
74
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I travelled alone with my 3 year old who is full of energy.

This is a big hotel which occupies a large stretch of beach in Malia. Our fellow holidaymakers were very nice and fun people, 50% were with children so my little girl had lots of company.

The staff were extremely attentive, the variety and quality of food was absolutely excellent. The head chef takes great pride in his craft and everybody tried their very hardest to make sure that we had a good time.

The resort has a kids club that keeps kids entertained - they have a great pool with slides and fountains (ask for the fountains to be turned on). Also, no need to carry any sand equipment as they have huge cartons of the stuff. The childrens' evening entertainment is fab - they have a "kids disco" basically, the entertainer, Reka puts on popular children's songs and leads the dancing for the kids.

Adults are also well catered for: the spa is great as are the 4 pools and the tennis court (too hot any time after 8am in summer). The evening entertainment is one of the best I have seen in a long time. The aqua-aerobics was great too.

The staff were also very accommodating as I asked for an extended stay (our flight was a late evening one) and they kindly obliged.

For a fun, family holiday - it would be hard to surpass this resort.

Room Tip: Must have a sea front room - they are the best. 223 was great. Try to get a dinner table from which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had a wonderful family vacation at Alexander Beach Hotel. Our children are 2 and 5. Lots of family activities, a great kids club and the staff was really friendly. The rooms are clean and spacious. The beach is a sand beach with plenty of chairs and umbrellas. We loved it so much, we'll definitely book again for summer holidays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

hey, we spent a week in Alexander Beach Hotel. Couple with 2 yrs old child.
The staff was extremely friendly, smiley and helpful.
Rooms clean and nicely done (we had a room with small garden facing see - paid a bit extra but it was worth the convenience of getting to the see and pools).
Very tasty food, with OK variety - even some Bio products were there.

The only thing we were missing is a sort of a walking area, where could just had a longer walk with the pram. Simply the location / city doesnt have such option.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My stay at the resort was from 6/14/2013 to 6/20/2013. I am 24 years old and planned on hitting the Malia strip. This resort was the perfect distance away, allowing a short distance to get to the bars via ATV, yet providing a nice quiet and relaxing vacation environment. My overall impression of the resort would definitely be for couples looking for a romantic getaway. The beach was great and just steps away from my hotel room which was the smallest they had, but was still very roomy! Outside of the hotel, the streets are lined with super markets, pharmacies, restaurants, and gift shops. This is by far the best hotel/vacation experience I personally have ever had. I would recommend this hotel to singles, couples, and families alike. The only thing I didn't like about the hotel, was that at the pool bar, beach bar, and the bar at the front of the hotel, all had the same food/snack menus. I would have liked a little more of a variety, but then again a 5 min walk I could pass 5 restaurants with assorted menus. Overall, staff was friendly and accommodating, the amenities were plentiful, but the location did it for me!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This review is a little late, stayed here in August 2009 for 2 weeks as I was getting married in Aghios Nikolaos. I can not praise this hotel and the staff enough. On arrival we were driven to our room with our cases in a 4 wheel buggy. We were pleasantly surprised to find a large bowl of fruit and a bottle of wine waiting for us. We had a free upgrade with a sea view, the view was out of this world. On our wedding night, we returned to find that the staff had decorated our hotel room with petals, hearts and candles, we were speechless. The staff really went to great lengths to make our stay as special as possible and the hotel and grounds were breath taking. Thank you to everyone, especially the manager at the Alexander beach hotel for making our stay a holiday we will never forget. If we were to return to Crete, I would not stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Sea view is absolutely amazing, especially on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Featuring low storey buildings and bungalows in impressive gardens, this award-winning resort stretches out along a beautiful sandy beach with clean blue water.
Located 32 km east of Heraklion, the hotel is situated betwen two little villages Malia and Stalis .
Good service, quiet location, friendly staff, cleanliness.
Relaxing pools, a small sandy beach.
We had half board.
In Crete I recommend you all inclusive. Because, otherwise, prices are inflated.

Room Tip: rooms with sea vue
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Beach Hotel & Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Beach Hotel & Village

Address: Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Malia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Malia
#8 Family Hotel in Malia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alexander Beach Hotel & Village 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alexander Beach Hotel & Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Beach Hotel And Village
Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Malia, Crete
Alexander Beach Resort Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Beach Hotel & Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.