We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Beach Hotel & Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander Beach Hotel & Village to your Saves list
Alexander Beach Hotel & Village
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Malia, Crete 70007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My stay at the resort was from 6/14/2013 to 6/20/2013. I am 24 years old and planned on hitting the Malia strip. This resort was the perfect distance away, allowing a short distance to get to the bars via ATV, yet providing a nice quiet and relaxing vacation environment. My overall impression of the resort would definitely be for couples looking for a romantic getaway. The beach was great and just steps away from my hotel room which was the smallest they had, but was still very roomy! Outside of the hotel, the streets are lined with super markets, pharmacies, restaurants, and gift shops. This is by far the best hotel/vacation experience I personally have ever had. I would recommend this hotel to singles, couples, and families alike. The only thing I didn't like about the hotel, was that at the pool bar, beach bar, and the bar at the front of the hotel, all had the same food/snack menus. I would have liked a little more of a variety, but then again a 5 min walk I could pass 5 restaurants with assorted menus. Overall, staff was friendly and accommodating, the amenities were plentiful, but the location did it for me!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    72
    16
    9
    4
See reviews for
73
74
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This review is a little late, stayed here in August 2009 for 2 weeks as I was getting married in Aghios Nikolaos. I can not praise this hotel and the staff enough. On arrival we were driven to our room with our cases in a 4 wheel buggy. We were pleasantly surprised to find a large bowl of fruit and a bottle of wine waiting for us. We had a free upgrade with a sea view, the view was out of this world. On our wedding night, we returned to find that the staff had decorated our hotel room with petals, hearts and candles, we were speechless. The staff really went to great lengths to make our stay as special as possible and the hotel and grounds were breath taking. Thank you to everyone, especially the manager at the Alexander beach hotel for making our stay a holiday we will never forget. If we were to return to Crete, I would not stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Sea view is absolutely amazing, especially on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Featuring low storey buildings and bungalows in impressive gardens, this award-winning resort stretches out along a beautiful sandy beach with clean blue water.
Located 32 km east of Heraklion, the hotel is situated betwen two little villages Malia and Stalis .
Good service, quiet location, friendly staff, cleanliness.
Relaxing pools, a small sandy beach.
We had half board.
In Crete I recommend you all inclusive. Because, otherwise, prices are inflated.

Room Tip: rooms with sea vue
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurles Ireland
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

After spending a fortune on this 14 day holiday half Board basis, I was hugely disappointed with the Hotel accommodation. The room I stayed in was certainly not four star rating. The shower kept going hot and cold. The beds & pillows were awful. The decor outdated. I never felt comfortable in the room. The food was average, the staff wonderful, the gym facilities limited. Drinks in the Hotel very expensive and Stalis Resort over priced. The Hotel caters mainly for German speaking guests so if you are English be advised. This Hotel does not warrent a four star rating.

Room Tip: make sure you have a choice be advised you will be charged extra for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was our most expensive stay in Crete out of a 2 week long tour along the island. However in comparison to the other resorts this was the best value! This was the second time we come here. It is a proper resort with beautiful pools and beach. There is even a quiet pool area. We picked the half board package and food was good lots to choose from but the best was the baklava desert! Rooms seem a bit dated however and our unit ac was really not strong at all. The fridge was doing some weird noises as well.

All the staff was professional and helpfull except for the reception staff which made a mistake charging us when we already paid online.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I visited Malia as a PhD student for a conference that was held there. I stayed Alexander with 2 collegues in a 3-bed room but at arrival we found out that the third bed was actually a small couch and our room was semi-basement. Furthermore there was a constant sense of mold in the atmosphere. On top of al that we encoutered bugs and specifically cockroaches in our room. The cleaning service was totally inadequate as returning to our room - although supposably already cleaned - we found the ashtrays full, the garbage not emty, and even the bugs we killed were still on the floor!! The parking of the hotel is very small (about 20 parking seats) while the rooms are far more than that! As a result, sometimes people had to park their cars outside the hotel! On the TV there were only German channels without even the option of subtitles in any language.. The stuff was quite polite to us except the reception where we were spoken rather ingnorantly. We are not used to stay in very luxurious hotels but we know very well what 4 star hotel means and that was not the case at Alexander. All in all, for the price paid I found the hotel totally not worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This was my second year staying in the hotel, which tells you how much I enjoyed my previous stay! The hotel supplies everything, including pool towels and has it's own beach area. There are sufficient sunloungers scattered around the pool, gardens and beach area and you can always find your own space. The hotel is run very efficiently and all meals are well organised with a great buffet selection. It is so relaxing and the staff are wonderful. I really enjoyed my cocktail before dinner on the veranda watching the sun go down and pleasant chat with the lovely bar staff. I will go back.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are brighter and airier
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Beach Hotel & Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Beach Hotel & Village

Address: Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Malia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Malia
#8 Family Hotel in Malia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alexander Beach Hotel & Village 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alexander Beach Hotel & Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Beach Hotel And Village
Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Malia, Crete
Alexander Beach Resort Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Beach Hotel & Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.