We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spartacus!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George and Dragon

George and Dragon
Malia, Crete, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 61 Restaurants in Malia
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
2 reviews
“Spartacus!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted to this restaurant by the PR Spartacus, very funny guy had us in stitches the whole time, we couldn't get crepes anywhere for breakfast and he asked the chef to prepare them for us even though they weren't on the menu! Very nice food! Would recommend!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Would certainly go back their”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Me and my sister went to malia 1st sept 2013 the first place we saw was George and dragon witch was seconds from hotel it is so cheap and was such nice food such good staff Spartacus was lovely and the good looking Newcastle guy was amazing and would defo wanna see him again I would reccomemd to everyone that goes malia go their

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth a visit - but get a deal!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The strip in malia is so packed with food outlets there is so much competition for your custom, many of them have reps standing outside to try and entice you in, sometimes they can be rather pushy and the George and Dragon near the top of the strip is no exception, the guy here had tried all week to get us to eat in there and eventually left us alone, so we decided to give the place a chance! We had a chat with him and eventually agreed on free garlic bread and icecream/cocktail for all of us (party of 6) - so a 3 course meal for 6 with large soft drink each was 65E!, the food was nice enough, a good varied menu with typical pub style dishes, prices are very reasonable and portion sizes were ample enough, free wifi, pc's avaiable for use, big screen TV's, service was good, a tad slow but that seemed to be the norm in crete!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We were originally brought into the restaurant for breakfast by the rep outside, the old greek fella who called himself zeus. Slightly sceptical, we ordered our food and it was served pretty quickly and for just €2,90 we got ourselves a "bargain breakfast". We came back every day, and even had dinner there a couple of times aswell. Superb service, superb restaurant/bar, and superb atmosphere. Highly recommend to anyone travelling to Malia!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

there wasn't a lot of traditional variety for vegetarians, but it was a grill and we found lots of side dishes to fill us up! The meals came out quick and the staff were amazing! I'd definitely eat here again on my next trip to Malia!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George and Dragon also viewed

Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to George and Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George and Dragon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.