We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place with great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milos

Milos
G. Lapidis 9 | Old Town, Malia, Crete, Greece
28970 33150
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 61 Restaurants in Malia
5.0 of 5 stars 154 Reviews
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
1 review
“Lovely place with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Never had a better meal in Malia than at mylos! Great atmosphere and the best lamb and fish you will ever eat in Greece!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    17
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Loved everything about Milos, from the food to the service and the atmosphere. I've actually been learning how to recreate the dishes I ate there

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A disappointing night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We were really looking forward to eating here based on the reviews and the rating on trip advisor. We booked three days in advance to make sure we had a table. On arrival we sat for 10 minutes before anyone brought a menu and it was another 15 minutes wait before we had a drink in our hands. We think that a 25 minute wait for service, at a table that was booked in advance, is too long...
The food was fine (we had a traditional mezze). The atmosphere is fine. We both felt 'done to'. It's hard to say why... the waiter was friendly but was definitely giving us the same spin he gave everyone else which gave us the impression of being on a conveyor belt. We wouldn't eat here again - there are much better places in Malia.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best taverna in Malia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Very good starters (we went there three times and tried almost all of them), especially dolmadakia! I loved the green salad with dill and fried sardines. The fish menu is quite limited but we realized Malia is not a great place for fish. Summer evenings on this little terrace full of flowers was just a pleasure!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Reviews don't do it justice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Read the reviews. But, frankly, they don't do this place justice! Excellent. We took the very friendly waiters advice on what to order and it was just superb! Sweet pepper with feta starter (served with complimentary bread) was excellent. I had the lamb slow cooked in the oven. Heaven! Great combination of tastes and my wife had aubergine stuffed with mincemeat and topped with melted cheese. Again the combination of flavours was superlative. Add the excellent local white wine and a side serving of vine leaves with lemon and olive oil and, honestly, it adds up to one of the best restaurant meals we have ever had!

Value was also excellent. We received free fmelon chunks and chocolate dessert, and the total bill came to 31 euros! Outstanding! Sure you can get burger and chips in Malia for 6 or 7 euros but this is a culinary experience not to missed.

TIP : restaurants in Malia old town are quieter and better quality than the livelier parts of town. Try and sit inside or on the terrace beside the building rather than at the front because the road outside can be quite busy. But if only the front is available, go and try it anyway. You will NOT be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milos also viewed

Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Milos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.