We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for families with young teenagers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kyknos Beach Hotel & Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kyknos Beach Hotel & Bungalows to your Saves list
Kyknos Beach Hotel & Bungalows
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Malia, Crete 70007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 96 Hotels in Malia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ideal for families with young teenagers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We were a family of five who stayed a week during half term holidays in October. Thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and were pleased we were on half board basis. Location is superb and beaches were clean and not busy. Hotel is basic but linen and towels changed every day. Food was a little repetitive and bland but was plentiful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    71
    33
    11
    15
See reviews for
67
53
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here in Oct 2012 and we were very happy with the hotel. The rooms were spotless and laundry changed regularly . The food was well recieved by my two fussy eating 10 and 9 year olds girls ,the salads and soups were lovely but only complaint I would have is that the food should be kept warmer (invest in some heat lamps/burners). The pool is lovely and family really enjoyed the pool bar with ice cream and drinks on constant supply (all inclusive) .The staff were really friendly especially Fotis who is a credit to his profession . Would recommend this to anyone with a young family .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

the service in the hotel was verry good. the food is was wanderfool. a lot of difrent chioces of food. the hotel was verry clean the pool was good. and i have a wanderfool holiday. i am sure came again.
danny walder,israel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have recently come back from a stay at The Kyknos Beach Hotel & Bungalows and could not rate it highly enough.
I travelled alone for the first time ever as I was visiting my Son who was works in Malia in the Summer seasons and was very apprehensive about staying in a Hotel alone.
I needn't of worried because I couldn't have been made more welcome if they tried.
All of the staff were so friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for you.
The Hotel and outside areas are kept spotless.
The service is excellent and the staff should be commended on that.
The Owner and Manager always took time out of their day to acknowledge you and make sure you had everything you needed and that you were enjoying your stay there.
George the pool barman was a real character and will always brighten your day with a chat.
I met people at the bar who used to always stay at Kyknos Beach and have now bought a pkace out there but still come back to visit the Hotel everytime they're out there.
My son and his friend used to come over everyday to see me and they were both made very welcome at the Hotel too.
Some Hotels you visit you can be there for a week and by the end of your stay you don;t feel as if you know any of the staff much but here every member went out of their way to acknowledge you and make you feel very welcome and you felt like you knew them all.
The Barbecue night is a must with excellent food in abundance. A great band. Greek dancing to join in with . Topped off with fireworks and the staff coming in with the dessert on fire. My son was allowed to attend this too and we had such a good night.
I would thoroughly reccomend this Hotel to anybody if they want a comfortable,clean, friendly personal Hotel with excellent service in lovely village of Stalis.
Top marks to everybody there and Thankyou for making me so welcome and making my stay such an enjoyable one.
Will hopefully see you all again soon.
Lisa Kavanagh
Kent

Room Tip: All rooms good but maybe a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just returned from Kyknos Beach and cannot recommend it highly enough. The accommodaton is basic but very clean and satisfactory, yes only one english channel on TV but you ARE IN GREECE!! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was good with plenty of choice, yes there were chips for breakfast but they were very tasty chips! My husband has to have gluten free food and the chef made a point of meeting him every evening and going through the food which did not contain wheat flour with him and I must say he had an excellent choice. The location is good with a short stroll in either direction into Stallis or Malia, lovely friendly beach bars providing sunbeds on the beach or by the swimming pool if preferred and clean toilets. We hired quads and a jeep and went up into the mountains and explored the local villages where once again the people were very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed at Kyknos beach hotel in August with my boyfriend and it was unforgettable.
First of all because it was in Greece. I have been in many hotels in Greece on different islands but this hotel bit them all.
Always friendly and helpings staff. The room was impeccable, modern furniture and clean toilete.
The hotel has beautuful green area all around. The most memorable thing about the hotel was the view of the pool at night. We loved spending time at the hotel with my boyfirend when hotel organised special events.
The hotel had versatile choise of food from genuine greek to western style.
Not to mention the location which was great weather you are traveling with a family (children`s pool and children`s day care) or if you are a couple or single and looking for a party (close to crazy Malia nightlife).
I would like to thank to the whole staff for such a lovely stay.
Mojca and Luka from Slovenia

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel location is very good, right at the center of Malia's night life. We stayed now, at mid octobre which is off season so it was quite and nice. The room was nice with a balcony (no special view), although i must say the beds were not so comfortable and rigid (instead of a double bed we got 2 single beds attached together).
The food was nice although at dinner they charge extra money for the beverage (you can't ask for tap water). Moreover, you cannot bering your own beverages and food to eat by the pool, if you want something you have to buy it at the pool bar.

The stuff is really nice and welcoming so overall we do recommend the hotel! =)

Room Tip: The hotel is not by sea so don't pay extra for a view. Ask for a double bed and not two singles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kyknos Beach Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyknos Beach Hotel & Bungalows

Address: Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Malia
#6 Family Hotel in Malia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kyknos Beach Hotel & Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel was designed and built by the owner/architect Georgios Tsamandouras in 1990. Now, 25 years later, his whole family is runing the business and it has adopted all needs of the modern traveller. In about 15,000 square meters of rich plantation, you will find our 135 rooms, the main building with the front derk, lobby, main bar and restaurant, 2 pools, children playground, children club, gym, free parking space and 2 tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kyknos Beach Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyknos Beach Hotel And Bungalows
Kyknos Beach Resort
Kyknos Beach Hotel & Bungalows Malia, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyknos Beach Hotel & Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.