We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kastro Beach Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kastro Beach Apartments to your Saves list
Kastro Beach Apartments
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Dimokratias 143 Beach Road, Malia, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 96 Hotels in Malia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Best possible place to stay in malia, for a lads holiday anyway, the owner Nokis is great and was so helpful when we first arrived. The waiters/waitresses are also very good and very nice. Overall I great week

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    31
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
23
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yateley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I went on my first girl's holiday from 24th to 2nd July and chose Kastro after reading the great reviews. My 3 friends and I arrived exhausted at 1am and were immediately welcomed and given a drink despite the Greece playing in the World Cup. The staff were great and after waiting for a few minutes whilst the game finished we were shown to our room. The room was lovely with two beds, a small kitchen unit with a hob and sink and a bathroom then a partition leading to another room with the wardrobe. Everything in the room was clean and the cleaners came every two days to change sheets and bring fresh towels. We chose to eat out every night as restaurants were reasonable (about €10 for a meal and drink) however there was equipment to cook with.
The hotel had 2 reps who were brilliant as they didn't try to sell you things but were great for getting games going in the evening in the bar and giving you useful information about when it go out and which clubs to go to. Charlie's, the hotel bar, had a brilliant atmosphere and great cocktails and drinks as well as serving really well-priced food all day. The hotel has a pool shared with the next door hotel however there were always sun beds available and staff often came round to bring you food and drink to the pool.
The hotel is also very well located 2 minutes from the beach and only a few minutes from the strip which was very convenient when walking home in the early hours of the morning. You are able to leave your keys in the hotel overnight and there is a security guard who was always very welcoming and made us feel really safe in the hotel. Furthermore, there are two well-stocked supermarkets and an ATM directly next to the hotel.
The staff at Kastro are fantastic. They were very welcoming and endlessly helpful. I asked to borrow the phone to confirm out transfer and they called them for me instead! Also, they have a brilliant BBQ on a Monday night which we attended and I am vegetarian so asked for some more salad instead of the meat; instead they cooked me a whole plate of different food including eggs and onion rings so I had a really decent meal!
We could not have asked for better from this hotel. The staff are fantastic, the atmosphere is great and I would never stay anywhere else in Malia. Highly recommended especially for a girl's holiday!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldeburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here early June for 1 week, myself and 2 friends. The location is perfect, 2 mins from the beach and 5 mins from the strip, although near the strip it is very quiet! We stayed in a pool view appartment which we were amazed with, very clean and modern! Good for the price they charge! The rooms have everything you need to cook (hob,toaster,kettle,cutlery,saucepans)

All staff are so friendly, and they all make you feel welcome and comfortable. There is also night porter after hours which is very reassuring. You also get 10% off food if you dine at Charlies Bar which is a bonus, only down point is we ate there twice and our food order took 30mins and was incorrect both times, so 1 of us was always watching the others eat!

Pool area is lovely, plenty of room/sunbeds and music is always playing which we all liked. Staff come round and ask if you would like drinks or food which you are allowed to have by the pool.

Definitely the best value and place to stay in Malia, we would all highly reccommend!

Thank you Nikos and all staff for looking after us!

Room Tip: Ask for pool facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Me and my mates stayed here in the middle of June, we arrived not really knowing what to expect but we quickly learnt what an awesome place the Kastro is, they have something for everyone. Having just turned 30 we appreciate a decent nights sleep, good food and friendly staff aswel as having a good time and we weren't disappointed, noise is kept to a minimum at night and the security guard does an amazing job both at keeping the noise down and making the place feel safe as and secure as home, always friendly and keen to help you out. We ate here 7/8 times and whatever we had we were never disappointed, the same can't be said about most of the restaurants around town so definitely worth having a bite to eat at Charlies Bar before you head out. Free drinks, BBQ night, card games, football on every night during the World Cup, what more can you ask for, we started every night at Charlies Bar.

Rooms were decent size and cleaned every other day, new towels, bedding etc and the pool area was a decent size and no problem getting a sunbed as most people didn't rise until the afternoon. Nothing is ever too much hassle for them and they really do treat you as part of the family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

I'm just home last night but couldn't help myself from writing. I loved it here so friendly and helpful. Great lively place great food and drink! Everyone is so lovely! I'm considering coming back in August and this is defo where I will be staying! Loved it! Thanks for an amazing holiday xx

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Me and girlfriend went early season which was a great time as was our first holiday together.
Nikos and Hercules are great barmen and the bar is well stocked and great value for money!!
Few tiny problems with the room but where sorted strait away no questions asked!!
Great location, two seconds from the beach and the shortest of walks to the strip .
Great pool area which was great to meet the other guests!!
Awesome time! Definately reccomended to anyone after a cheap stay and a great time!!
Cheers guys for an awesome stay! See you again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Hotel is located just 2 minutes from the beach. Our room was spacious and it looks like just renovated. Only flaw was with mattresses in our beds, they were very uncomfortable. Staff and hotel owners are very nice and friendly people. I can recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay within budget and not looking for some very fancy place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kastro Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kastro Beach Apartments

Address: Dimokratias 143 Beach Road, Malia, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Malia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kastro Beach Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kastro Beach is a great place to stay during your holiday in Malia. It is a family owned complex of apartments and studios. Having the greatest location on beach road, we are 1 minute away from the beach and a few steps from all the bars, clubs, restaurants and shops. An enjoyable 10 minute walk from our hotel will lead you to the Old Town of Malia where you can find more traditional taverns and cafes.Kastro Apartments offers a warm welcoming atmosphere for a pleasant stay. Each unit includes a balcony and has access to all our facilities such as swimming pool, pool bar, and 24 hour reception. In front of our complex your can enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner, and cocktails at Charlie’s Bar. You can also watch all sports live and big selection of new movies. Nikos’ cocktails, games and smile are a perfect way to begin your evening in Malia. Our pool area offers a relaxing atmosphere and a pool bar where you can order food, snack, coffee or drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kastro Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kastro Apartments Hotel Malia
Kastro Beach Apartments Malia, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kastro Beach Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.