We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early season stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kastro Beach Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kastro Beach Apartments to your Saves list
Kastro Beach Apartments
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dimokratias 143 Beach Road, Malia, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 97 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Early season stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Me and girlfriend went early season which was a great time as was our first holiday together.
Nikos and Hercules are great barmen and the bar is well stocked and great value for money!!
Few tiny problems with the room but where sorted strait away no questions asked!!
Great location, two seconds from the beach and the shortest of walks to the strip .
Great pool area which was great to meet the other guests!!
Awesome time! Definately reccomended to anyone after a cheap stay and a great time!!
Cheers guys for an awesome stay! See you again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    31
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
23
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Hotel is located just 2 minutes from the beach. Our room was spacious and it looks like just renovated. Only flaw was with mattresses in our beds, they were very uncomfortable. Staff and hotel owners are very nice and friendly people. I can recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay within budget and not looking for some very fancy place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed here on the 7th may until the 14th, such lovely staff who make you feel so welcome! Really close to the beach And a 2 minute walk away from the strip! I honestly would advise you to go here! I gutantee you will feel so very welcome!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Myself and a friend went really early in the season (May 1st) as we wanted more of a beach break, having all the bars and clubs was just a bonus! We couldn’t believe how nice the apartment was especially for the price we paid. There was a fully functional kitchen, huge room and a lovely bathroom. The place was spotless with plenty of clean towels. Down stairs is ‘Charlies Bar’ where we were given an amazing welcome cocktail. The prices at the bar were so cheap and every drink we had was amazing. The front of the apartments is a 1 minute walk from the beach to the left. On the right you join the stip. Next door is a store to buy water and any essentials and the Red Lion ‘pub’ is close buy where you can get amazing food and drinks. Out the back is the pool with loads of sun beds.

Nikos and his family were so welcoming and there in a second if you needed anything from taxi numbers to sorting out and issues you had with the room (we only had 1 when our key stopped working which was sorted in seconds). We spend 45 Euro getting a taxi from the airport to the apartments (which was cheaper than the optional transfer) but nikos told us about the bus that left from the top of the strip for the way back which only cost 7 euro for both of us! Couldn’t have asked for anything more and we are looking forward to our second visit in September!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The best part about this hotel is it's location. Right on the strip and a few steps away from the beach. It is always busy around the pool and in the adjoining bar, so if you wanted something a bit more chilled out, then you should probably look elsewhere. Kastro Beach is perfect if you want the excitement that people usually seek when holidaying in Malia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My friend and I (both 23) stayed here in mid-October 2013 as the final stop on our European vacation & I am SO glad we did. For anyone looking to visit Crete in low season you should definitely consider visiting Malia & staying at the Kastro Beach Apartments! While the strip was mainly closed down we still had an AMAZING time - Nikos & his family made sure of it! We could not believe their hospitality from beginning to end! We took the public bus to Malia (from Chania) and while walking to try and find this hotel we managed to walk in the complete opposite direction! Luckily Nikos brother came to pick us up and take us to the hotel so we wouldn't have to drag our luggage there ourselves! Unbelievable! Upon arrival we received a welcome drink (which was delicious!) & were shown our room. The room was updated, clean, & had everything we needed for a perfect stay. We ate most of our meals at Charlie's bar, all were excellent! Although it wasn't very busy in Malia at this time, we met new friends on the beach (which was a 30 second walk from the hotel!) and everyone partied at Charlie's Bar each night. We took a $10-15 euro taxi to the "New York" club a town over, which was a blast. On our last night Nikos & his family held the BBQ, all of the food was delicious & everyone had so much fun! My friend & I would not hesitate to return for another stay at the Kastro Beach Apartments in the future!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Started our 4day hen break with some beautiful complimentary drinks upon arrival, Nikos gave us a very warm welcome and the most easiest and quickest check in ever.
Rooms are spacious and well designed, we didn't have to pay extra for access to room safes which is a bonus, bathroom and rooms were so clean and spotless that it helped overcome my anxiety of unhygienic areas. The view of crete's stunning hills overlooks the lovely pool area which leads out onto the bar/dining area.
This is a family run and owned hotel, from breakfast-lunch-dinner we never tired of the variety of Greek and british food served by mama... She is an amazing cook.
Nikos et all are amazing bar/ entertainers who introduced us the new drinks and games never tried or tested before. The 9 of us had an amazing time in Malia and would def recommend and go back and stay at Kastro apartments.
The most memorable thing about this hotel was the hospitality shown to us all, there is a special and personal touch where Nikos invites us behind the bar to get involved in making drinks, playing pool, setting up playlists for music and joining us for drinks etc.
our last night involved an amazing BBQ, a spread of tasty food was put on which we all went back for second helpings.
We wish the resort all the best and hope to visit u again in the near future, can't wait to try the sniiiiiiiiiif drink again and send our love and hugs with this review.
Nikos and family u are all amazing xxx

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kastro Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kastro Beach Apartments

Address: Dimokratias 143 Beach Road, Malia, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Malia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kastro Beach Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kastro Beach is a great place to stay during your holiday in Malia. It is a family owned complex of apartments and studios. Having the greatest location on beach road, we are 1 minute away from the beach and a few steps from all the bars, clubs, restaurants and shops. An enjoyable 10 minute walk from our hotel will lead you to the Old Town of Malia where you can find more traditional taverns and cafes.Kastro Apartments offers a warm welcoming atmosphere for a pleasant stay. Each unit includes a balcony and has access to all our facilities such as swimming pool, pool bar, and 24 hour reception. In front of our complex your can enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner, and cocktails at Charlie’s Bar. You can also watch all sports live and big selection of new movies. Nikos’ cocktails, games and smile are a perfect way to begin your evening in Malia. Our pool area offers a relaxing atmosphere and a pool bar where you can order food, snack, coffee or drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kastro Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kastro Apartments Hotel Malia
Kastro Beach Apartments Malia, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kastro Beach Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.