We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take me back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kastro Beach Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kastro Beach Apartments to your Saves list
Kastro Beach Apartments
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Dimokratias 143 Beach Road, Malia, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 96 Hotels in Malia
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Take me back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Me and my friend stayed at kastro beach apartments for 11 nights and couldn’t fault it! From the minute we got there we were made to feel so welcome by Nikos and all the staff and that continued throughout our whole holiday. The atmosphere of everyone in the hotel made it so easy to make friends and Charlies Bar was definitely the place to start the night. We were never tempted to try any other bars before heading out to the strip which was practically on our doorstep.

The rooms were in great condition and kept really clean thanks to the lovely cleaner, you definitely need to purchase the air con though!

Thankyou again for making our first time in malia so amazing :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    31
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
23
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

we all had an awesome time and i will definitely be recommending it to my friends. me and my friends had such a good time and it was such a clean and welcoming enviroment. the bar was very friendly and good value for money. the location was perfect for our needs as it was half way between the beach and strip, so neither were a long walk. it also has a supermarket and cash machine next door so everything you need is in one place. A very goo holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed in Kastro apartments for a week. The location was perfect (2 minute walk to the beach and 5 minute walk to the strip). The staff were so helpful and Charlie's bar was great. We had no major problems with our rooms. It was a very safe hotel and i would recommend it to everyone who goes to Malia

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Me and my Mrs stayed 2 weeks here and had a corker!!! A young party atmosphere was present at all times and it didn't take us long here to feel right at home!! The bar staff were always overly helpful and were always up for a bit of a laugh. The food at the restaurant was second to none and always served with a smile. The rooms were spacious, had good air conditioning and were cleaned on a daily basis without fail!! Hard to say a bad word about Kastro and Charlie's..definitely recommending this one to friends!!!!! WHOPPPA!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I've been to Malia 4 times in the last few years staying at a different hotel each time. Kastro was by far the best hotel that I have stayed in Malia! It's located just at the bottom of the strip, close to the beach and near the restaurants. Will take you 2mins max to walk to the main bit of the strip. So perfect location.

This year I went with 3 other girls and we had the best time at Kastro and Charlie's bar. Not one single complaint! Nikos and his family were so friendly and welcoming and it made the hotel have a really nice feel. The bar staff in Charlies bar were amazing, Danny, Andy and Yazmine made sure that everyone was getting involved and enjoying themselves. We ended up pre-drinking in Charlies until 2/3am each night as most people did and the atmosphere was so good.

Andy served you food and drink all day around the pool. He never complained and nothing was ever an issue. Great guy who really made the hotel even better

The food served in Charlie's bar is so cheap. And considering how cheap it is, we really couldnt have any complaints with the food! We ate lunch there everyday and always enjoyed it! I also tried a different option each day and all of it was fine. The waiter was lovely and friendly- just like everyone at Kastro. My friend had her daily large chocolate milkshake which she swears by as a great hangover cure. On one of our last nights Nikos and his family hosted a BBQ for everyone on Charlie's bar- the food was really nice and everyone enjoyed it.

As for the rooms- you get more than you paid for. Considering you're probably paying around £40/50 for the hotel for a week, what do you expect? The room was a good size, rooms were clean and they had everything we needed in it. Bathroom was absolutely fine- its Malia not some hotel in London. The cleaner was fantastic! We were quite a messy group of girls and every two days she made our room lovely and clean with fresh sheets and towel. On a couple of occassions she even folded all my clothes up on my bed for me! She also did all our washing up which was so sweet- so we definitely left her a nice tip at the end for putting up with our mess!

All in all, all four of us absolutely loved our time at Kastro. If we do return to Malia next year we wouldnt need to even consider anywhere else as Kastro has it perfect.Thanks to Nikos and all his staff for making our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

From the 5th till the 19th of August 2012:

10 to 10 about the staff, rooms and location (beach and main street very close).

5 to 10 about internet service provided

At the end (I've been in Malia 2 times) if you are planning to go to Malia, there is only one option: Kastro Beach Apartments!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed in Malia for 2 weeks. Although we did not come across Charlie bar till our 4th day it was the best decision we made... Also gutted we never stayed at kastro apartments. Nikos the owner was kind enough to show us of the apartments all I can say wow beautiful rooms... Nicely laid out and spacious, and clean. Everything you need for your stay oh and the bathroom I feel in love with it was lovely and the shower was massive you could easily fit 2 people in it... I can't wait for next year to stay at the kastro apartments... Charlie's bar that is part of the complex was great place for a good drink and a laugh not only with nikos but with all the people staying there and even speaking to them they all had amazing things to say about the apartments, Charlie's bar and nikos... Oh and they also make fantastic cocktails... This place is a must and would recommend it 100% and can promise you will not be disappointed as it truly is the best place in Malia... Also sun lovers will be be happy as the beach is on your doorstep... So you can roll out of bed and lie in the sun... Then head back to Charlie's to start your night although it's hard to leave as it really is that amazing.... This has been our best holiday ever and looking forward to 2013 huge thank you to nikos and the staff of Charlie's for making my holiday one never to forget!!! :))

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kastro Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kastro Beach Apartments

Address: Dimokratias 143 Beach Road, Malia, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Malia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kastro Beach Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kastro Beach is a great place to stay during your holiday in Malia. It is a family owned complex of apartments and studios. Having the greatest location on beach road, we are 1 minute away from the beach and a few steps from all the bars, clubs, restaurants and shops. An enjoyable 10 minute walk from our hotel will lead you to the Old Town of Malia where you can find more traditional taverns and cafes.Kastro Apartments offers a warm welcoming atmosphere for a pleasant stay. Each unit includes a balcony and has access to all our facilities such as swimming pool, pool bar, and 24 hour reception. In front of our complex your can enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner, and cocktails at Charlie’s Bar. You can also watch all sports live and big selection of new movies. Nikos’ cocktails, games and smile are a perfect way to begin your evening in Malia. Our pool area offers a relaxing atmosphere and a pool bar where you can order food, snack, coffee or drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kastro Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kastro Apartments Hotel Malia
Kastro Beach Apartments Malia, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kastro Beach Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.