We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Holiday!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newcastle Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Newcastle Studios
Save
You added Newcastle Studios to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Malia, Crete 70007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Malia B&B and Inns
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Holiday!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

After reading reviews online, our group of 7 girls (17-18) were a little anxious about our stay at the studios, however on arrival we were greeted by Yolanda who was very welcoming and were shown our rooms. Yolanda was always happy to help with any questions or requests, as were the daughters that helped out in the pool bar.
The snacks served in the bar were cheap, tasty and would fill you until you went for an evening meal - also, the milkshakes that are served are amazing!! The pool area was always clean and you were able to either listen to the music chosen by George and Yolanda or you could ask to plug your iPod in and play your own music!
Our rooms were petite but had everything we needed and more; the kitchenette had a fridge with small freezer space, 2 cooking rings, a kettle, toaster and cutlery (pans, plates, forks etc). The bathroom was typically Greek, small but again has everything you need!
While staying here, I and my roommate managed to break a shower head but it was replaced without fee as we were told it was an old one so this was a pleasant suprise as we had read a review saying all breakages had to be paid for! The beds were comfortable and the rooms were cleaned every 2/3 days and the maid was always very friendly! Overall the apartments were clean, comfortable and very inviting
Malia strip is about a 10/15 minute walk away once you know how to get to it, which makes it very easy to get to but far enough away to have a peaceful rest during the day. I would DEFINITELY recommend the studio owners bar 'Brits Bar'. George is a lovely man who will welcome you with open arms, giving people who stay at his studios and respect them deals on drinks! He was always smiley and welcoming towards us and made our holiday brilliant!!
We are hoping to return next summer to Newcastle Studios, fantastic accommodation!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    8
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Just back from my stay at Newcastle Studios/Apts. Our initial expectations were low but when we arrived the room was extremely clean and had all we needed even a toaster, kettle fridge and stove! It's very basic if you are looking for a small place to stay if you just plan on sleeping and partying but has enough moveable space, a petit shower room/toliet and a balcony which suits the younger gen! The studios are run by a lovely family who also own 'Brits Bar' on the strip that was definitely worth the visit for some great drink deals for only 5€!! The studios snack bar and pool area was also very clean, spacious and served great food like my favourite cheesy chips! My personal recommendation! We had no problems with George the owner nor his wife or 3 daughters they were all very friendly and helpful. I would say thou if you piss about and break things or disrespect your room or studio area be expected to be shouted at and or forced to pay a fine to George are he does not stand for that as expected, George works as security at both the bar and when coming home to apts so there's no avoiding him if your going to make a nusense! He was very laid back with us about visitors staying although there is CCTV so do watch out! And if you fancy one last drink on the way home Bella Elena the neighbouring apts have a 24 bar which is definitely worth a visit when returning home at 6am and need a last minute top up before bed!! All in all lovely stay and reccomended!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just returned from another visit to newcastle studios. Yolanda, George and their daughters always give us a warm welcome. I have stayed here several times over the last 5 years and consider them all as our friends,

All facilities on site are just spot on, clean and working as they should be (I've stayed in some dire places in Malia!)
.
This time the apartments were full with groups of younger guys and gals, but none of them were particularly rowdy,mostly too hungover to be rowdy!!!!!
As for the noise you mostly hear in the early hours, its mostly just normal comings and goings, opening and closing of doors (of course you usually get someone who will run up & down shouting & bawling, but hey, this is Malia, if it carries on too long just tell em to shut up!!!)

The only advice I can pass on to you party revellers is if you go paint balling, take part in body painting in the clubs or even have henna tat's, please shower when you get back to your rooms before going to bed, the paint/henna stains the sheets and it wont come out, which then means they have to buy new, and, unfortunately for you guys the cost will get passed to you.

Enjoy!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Newcastle Studios is amazing and I would definitely recommend to young party people. It has such a wonderful atmosphere and the owners are lovely. Upon arrival, Yolanda was very welcoming and gave us our keys to our rooms. The rooms were brilliant, simple but very clean and were equipped with everything we needed. We met George the next day and he was so lovely and told us about his bar (BRITS) on the strip which became one of our favorites. George will give you a good deal! Newcastle Studios is situated in the Old Town, therefore away from all the noise and busy nightlife which means you can actually have some sleep. It is close to multiple mini supermarkets which have all the basic things you will need, and Spar is only a short walk away at the top of the strip. Everything is close by and there is some lovely restaurants, including the amazing pizza place. The cleaner visited about four times throughout the week, she was very friendly and polite. The pool area is brilliant, there are lots of sunbeds to soak up the sun and a shaded area with pool tables. They also have a snack bar and the food there is great, the milkshakes here are excellent. The walk to the strip is not far, around five minutes. Newcastle Studios is located in a perfect area. Malia has a lot to offer and I would love to go back to Newcastle Studios again next year to see George and all his family. My holiday here was amazing and could not fault it at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This time last week, I was staying in Newcastle Studios in Malia and I would definitely recommend staying there. There were 7 of us all together, all females aged 18 and the facilities were fantastic. The rooms were fairly spacious and had everything we needed, including a safe which was very reassuring and worth the extra 15 euros. The cleaner was lovely and polite and her job was very well done. The pool area was bigger than expected and we spent the majority of our time there where there are areas in the sun and shade. The music was good and the bar and snack dining area was fantastic; all the food was lovely and the service was fast. All the staff were friendly and happy to help and I am definitely planning on staying there again. George is a lovely guy who made us laugh and was very helpful, his bar (Brit's bar) on the strip is also a recommendation and you are likely to receive a great deal at the bar if you're staying at Newcastle Studios. We met lots of other people staying in the hotel and they all had the same positive experience as we did, as far as I am aware, no-one we spoke to had any problems. Newcastle Studios is located just a 5 minute walk from the strip which was perfect for us because it meant we weren't far from the action but we could also sleep without all the noise! George, if you're reading this, I can't wait to see you next year! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Me and 6 girls have just got back from our week at Newcastle studios and we miss it so much!! The family who own it (George, wife and daughters) are so lovely and welcoming especially George who also owns Brits bar on the strip. The pictures really do not give it enough credit because it is so clean and lovely, the view is amazing and the old town is just wonderful. Not a bad walk from the strip an not too close to be disturbed by the night life. Would definitely go back there again next year because we had such a good time, I could not recommend Newcastle studios more!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I recently just returned from staying here and it was perfect, quick but calm walk to the strip past a great pizza place and the guests all get along, was full of people the same age so it fitted what we wanted. Clean and great facilities. The owner George was so ice and welcoming and his bar (Brits Bar) was lovely, I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Room 302 is just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newcastle Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Studios

Address: Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Newcastle Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Newcastle Studios Hotel Malia
Newcastle Studios Malia, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newcastle Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.