We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes Fawlty Towers look inviting” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pyrgos Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pyrgos Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pyrgos Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Pirgou 1, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 54 Specialty lodging in Malia
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Makes Fawlty Towers look inviting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Awful apartments which were dirty (we did more cleaning then the alleged cleaner - sand lay on floor for 4 days), 6 days before we got clean towels and in desperate need of a maintenance person. Cleaner left doors open on the balcony - so not secure. The tiniest shower area I have ever seen with a broken shower rail so you had to hold the showerhead for the whole time. We had ants in our room and they would be in the bed and all round the 'kitchen area'. Self catering facilities were a joke - a room for 2 people but only one knife and fork! 2 ringed cooker had a broken cable which was live. Most of the shelves and compartments were broken in the fridge. Couldn't lock the door from inside so meant one person couldn't go out without the other. Furniture consisted of two hard kitchen chairs and a wardrobe - no drawers or comfortable seats. Expensive air con 40 Euro a week. Whole place had no hot water for 2 days. Security man disappeared after 1 week and a Blackberry was stolen from another room. Staff unfriendly - manager was rude and avoided us, only interested if you wanted to drink at the bar all night. Only pay phone and television broken in 'reception'. No were secure to leave your luggage when leaving.

Room Tip: 2nd floor balconies so small had to re-arrange furniture everytime you wanted to open or shut the do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    7
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

When we first got there, it was amazing! right on the beach front, even though the beach is rocky, there was a sandy one next door. The pool was excellent and the rooms were clean! overall, the hotel was really well looked after and was a 3 min walk to the strip!
The only thing that we had trouble with was the security gaurd and the bar man - eric. They both tried to hit on my friend, pulling her clothes and telling her to strip for shots. which is really worrying since the security guard had keys to every single room! they were such perverts!! its disgusting! my friend was shaking from where they tried to grab her but luckily enough a few of us returned in time to get her away.
apart from that, the hotel was really nice

Room Tip: get a ground floor room! you will have a terrace right on the pool front and its great to meet new p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Stayed there august 9th till 27th, group of 9 girls. Such a nice hotel, very welcoming and far enough off the strip to not hear all the quad bikes, but close enough to walk there and back. Would come back here next year for sure! The food was very reasonable priced, and we had breakfast there every morning and not one complaint. All the rooms we had were clean and were cleaned everyday. Room 206 is the best room, has two balcony's! This hotel made my stay in malia.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

this apartment is brill rooms are small and basic but very clean. so what your on holiday and only time your in ya room is when your asleep or getting changed. staff are lovely friendly and very helpful and would o anything for you! on the plus side ya 10 mins away from strip so you dont get to hear all noisy boozers. bar is open all day which is good for when you want a lazy day by the pool. me and my mate had a brill time that where going back x x x x

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

My friend and I (both 21 years old) stayed here for one week and loved it! The apartment is basic but very clean and the staff are always ready to help out. There is a 24hour bar and delicious food is served until 6pm which is perfect for lazy days at the pool. There are 2 security guards who patrol the hotel at night to keep guests safe who are also really friendly!!
It's about a 5-10min walk to the main strip but the road is quite isolated at some points so we got a taxi home at night (about 7 euros) since it was only us 2 girls.
Also check-out time is between 10-12 in the morning but we paid an extra 20 euros to keep our room till 6pm as our flight was not until 11pm. (More pool time!)
Would go back here in a minute!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

After me and three friends booked a end of exams holiday to malia, we really didnt know what to expect. We got to the hotel and it was down a long road and we thought where the hell are we staying... it turned out to be the best holiday of my life. The hotel is about 300m from the main strip and it doesn't take long to walk there at all. I would recommend this hotel for any young groups going to Malia, not for couples or families unless you a young vibe around the pool. The food at the bar is a reasonable price around 5 euro for a main meal and there pretty filling and most of the bar staff are really friendly! The only bad thing about the hotel is the cleaner, she didn't give us clean towels for four days. If staying in a room of four ask for room 302 because its the best room in the hotel and you have two private balconies and they are great to have a drink and relax on at night! Overall I think they hotel was perfect for what a 18 - 25 holiday, and it wasn't right on the strip so you could get sleep in the day! Planning to visit again next year!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We have stayed here 4 times and every time had a fantastic time. We made some great friends here who also came back too. It is a little basic but great value for money. Tula and the two tonys work very hard to do everything to help and the food is good too. The pool is very clean ( but cold LOL ) and the beach is right at the end of the garden. 10 minutes from the strip , red lion and mollie malones a must ,

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pyrgos Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pyrgos Beach Hotel

Address: Pirgou 1, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 54 Specialty lodging in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pyrgos Beach Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pyrgos Beach Apartments are in a peaceful and quite place in the East side of Malia. The apts are beside the sea and between two graphic old churches Jesus Christ church and St. Spirit church. The distance from the beach road, that is full of shops, bars and restaurants, is about 10 minutes walking. The beach in front of the apartments has his own wild beauty, there is a nature small lake made by rocks. On the right side of the hotel about 20m there is Sandy Beach named Pyrgos Beach. Including the facilities of the hotel there are a parking place, a pool with a pool bar, sun terraces with sun loungers and parasols, satellite TV and guest’s PC. The pool bar is open every day and you can find there a variety of snacks, salads, drinks and cocktails. The building’s shape is U that’s why the apartments have view in three sides East, West, and North. In the North is the sea, in the North-East is the graphic old church St. Spirit and Malia port and in the North-West is the bay of Malia with the Jesus Christ church. There are 31 apartments and studios all of them surrounded by garden. The studios are about 25 m2, for 1, 2 or 3 persons and the apartments are about 40 m2, for 2, 3 or 4 persons. Every room has his own kitchenette with 2 cooking rings, fridge and kettle, air-conditioning, safe box, bathroom and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Pyrgos Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pyrgos Apartments Hotel Malia
Pyrgos Beach Hotel Malia, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pyrgos Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.