We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Mare Monte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Mare Monte to your Saves list
Villa Mare Monte
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Kondylaki 2, Malia, Crete 70007 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An Excellent Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The staff here will meet your every need and make your dream holiday come true.They have the balance of care whilst respecting your privacy perfect. We were half board and the food was quality produce cooked to perfection. Buffet breakfast until 11am with enless filter coffee whilst you read & plan your day, 3 course evening meal whilst a set menu the staff accommodate your tastes and kept my 3 teenage boys full!
If you hire a car and you like a hike make a day of Sarakina Gorge near Lerapetra it's spectacular and deserted, be prepared to get your feet wet as you climb up the rivers boulders. Another day trip not to be missed is 'The Valley or the Dead' in Zakros again a beautilful and quiet 4 hour walk, wooded at the top before the stream dries up further down.Ha gorge is another good climb, if you start at the 'Asassins Creed' style village of Monastiraki and follow the E4. Many more walks can also be found on the Lassithi Plateau or alternatively nearer by the caves at Milatos are a must. The Villa Mare Monte also has its very own walk to Mohos, once you have negotiated your way round to the top of the cliff you pick up the path which is beautifully cobbled further along.
Whilst this villa is perfect for an 18-30 holiday in Malia as the night life is only a 10 min walk away and the staff will mother your children on their first holiday alone, there exists a courtesy and respect between guests and we were undisturbed by them and so it also provided the perfect accommodation for a family walking holiday with a few days off beside the very clean pool with plenty of loungers of course!.
A big thank you to all the staff who genuinely care and are like an extended family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    31
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
76
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were later than expected when we arrived but Mandy who works in the evening had saved food for us which was lovely. Next morning Sharon explained hotel details when we had our breakfast. Spent a relaxing day by the pool which was not crowded and met Linda who works after lunch. At the evening meal Koula the owner who is very friendly came over to make sure everying had been explained and that we were happy.

We paid extra for air conditioning as our room was very hot at night (Room 18) it was well worth it. Our room was spacious with two bedrooms but the double room was very very hot we decided that the adults would have the twin room and the kids had the two very comfortable sofa beds in the living area. The kids then had Air con and we did in the twin room. The rooms were clean and linen and towels changed regularly.

Food - we were half board and had a good choice at breakfast with great coffee! dinner was different each night and as Greek as possible when the menu was posted if you did not like what was being served then the cook would do you something else as long as you gave notice.

The hotel is outside Malia and for us that was a real plus however we did have a small car to get about. I will not comment on Malia as it is not a place for us but we were not bothered by being well out of the town at the hotel.

Fantastic for us but not great if you dont want to walk a bit (if you dont have a car) not great for party animals that being said there were groups of girls and lads here who were party types but can honestly say they did not bother us and we were told by Koula if there were any noise issues to let her know.

I would be happy to return

Room Tip: We were upstairs room 18 great for us but double room would have been unbearable for us to sleep in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

At Villa Mare Monte, we had our best holiday experience:

1.perfect location, the sea and the mountains are the main view from the hotel, close to the central part of Malia but at the same time, we could fully enjoy the quietness , 2. friendly environment and great hospitality by each member of the staff whose core purpose is to make you feel like home, familiarizing you with Greek culture and customs,
3. super hygienic environment
4. irresistible homemade cuisine
5. no money waste

I must admit that the fresh, high quality, traditional food we tasted made us the biggest fans of Greek cuisine. In Crete that is full of food diversity and rich in traditional tastes, Mare Monte cuisine challenges outdated Greek dishes but at the same time it remains faithful to Greek flavors, aroma and quality. What was really impressive was the fact that we could find organic, vegetarian, semi vegetarian, low fat, detox and diabetic dishes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport pagnell
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Fantastic location away from the strip but close enough. You can be sure great advice any help from the owner and staff. Please use this site and do not listen to any bad report.Good luck to all at villa hope too see you again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

we have just stayed for two weeks in july in what was a very pleasant room with super views,incredible service with rooms cleaned and changed what seemed daily.The location is quite remote and a good 25 minute walk to the nearest shop so in heat can be exhausting.The staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you so overall should tick all boxes, however i am at pains to say anything negative about the hotel it does suffer from at times from some very rowdy very young guests with what seems the vast majority of guests being under 20 years of age who come back in various states of drunkenness between the hours of 1 am to 7.30 am thus making it impossible to sleep without all doors and windows closed and air conditioning on. We booked this holiday from coop travel who describe it as a quiet hotel who cater for families ,this is not the case and at times we felt uncomfortable as it appears an extension of a youth club.
If you are happy to sleep in an air conditioned room all night to avoid the noise then the hotel is fine however take plenty of cash for taxis as the walking can be exhausting just to get to restaurants etc.
I would like to EMPHASISE all the staff are wonderful,will try to accommodate all your needs to ensure a pleasant stay especially the owner KOULA who went out of her way to please us
unfortunately we may have stayed at the wrong time of the year and we would never have booked if we knew the age of the guest at the time we went.

Room Tip: use air con and have plenty of cash for taxis
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Villa Mare Monte. Myself and three friends stayed at the location for a week and I can honestly say non of us had any complaints. The staff are very friendly and helped us out a lot with directions. It is situated in a fab location, 10 minutes maximum walk to the supermarket and the beach. Couldn't have asked for a more welcoming reception and the rooms were lovely. If i returned to Malia I would choose to stay at Villa Mare Monte again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We went to Crete to see the wonderful Spring flowers. We were not disappointed, and were delighted to discover another treasure in the Villa Mare Monte.
This is a beautifully situated family run hotel on the slopes of the mountain overlooking the town of Malia and the sea. It is close enough to access the town easily and yet peaceful too with just the mountain behind it. The accommodation, food, and facilities are excellent and the owners and staff are warm and welcoming and take great trouble to make sure you have everything you need to enjoy your holiday. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a very happy holiday. If you want to stay in a very friendly, professionally run hotel set in peaceful and beautiful surroundings in a good location for exploring Crete you could hardly do better. We will be coming back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Mare Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mare Monte

Address: Kondylaki 2, Malia, Crete 70007 , Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Mare Monte 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Mare Monte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mare Monte Hotel Malia
Villa Mare Monte Malia, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Mare Monte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.