We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Mare Monte” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Mare Monte

Save Saved
You added Villa Mare Monte to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Mare Monte
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Kondylaki 2, Malia, Crete 70007 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 54 Specialty lodging in Malia
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mare Monte”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We have not stopped thinking and talking about our memorable stay we had Mare Monte, and can’t wait to come back next year.
Firstly we want to thank you all for making us feel so welcome to your wonderful family run holiday accommodation in Malia on the beautiful island of Crete, we couldn’t of asked for anything more perfect for both of us to enjoy.
The location of your villas in the mountains made our stay very private and relaxing, away from the hustle and bustle of “ The Strip”. But with the advice of Sharon we hired our quad which allowed us explore the very stunning surroundings you have right on your doorstep ( we are jealous).
Our room was very clean and had an amazing view of the sea so we were able to sit and relax and take it all in as the sun was going down each evening.
The grounds were very well kept with beautiful trees and plants…lovely to see.
We enjoyed our breakfast each morning by the pool, with lots to choose from and as much as we wanted.
But most of all your hospitality and kindness made our holiday one not to forget…ever!!!!!
You truly are a very lovely family and all work very very hard, and that’s what makes Mare Monte so Amazing.
We were so sad to be leaving, but have our memories. We were delayed 24 hours on our outbound flight but it still did not spoil our holiday.
We will keep in touch, and let you know when we have found some flights for early September 2012.

Thanks again your one in a million.

Much love
Richard & Zoe
xxx

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    29
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
23
65
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

My partner and I stayed a week at the Mare Monte in September 2011, and we did very much enjoy our stay. We had a nice, clean, relatively modern but basic apartment with a balcony overlooking the hillside and the sea. Having a fridge is always a bonus, so a quiet evening beer on the balcony before dinner quickly became a nice little ritual.
The bathroom could have done with some minor work and was the only part of the apartment that let it down a little, but it was kept clean and really wasn't a problem.
The breakfast was basic but ok. Essentially bread with cheese, ham and different vegetables, plus a few other things. However, it could have been far better with something simple like a hard boiled egg.
The breakfast/bar/pool area is very welcoming. Kept perfectly clean at all times, it also has a pool table, a small mini golf course and an internet area which also offers free wifi.
The staff are great and provided all the help and information we needed, including letting us keep the room for an extra day for free.
With regards to the location, we are both in our thirties and enjoy sampling local culture wherever we go. We rarely use a hotel as more than a base and a place to sleep, and the hotel location is not fantastic. However, we were fully aware of this before booking, and we decided that the general standard of the hotel was more important than a few minutes of walking. The beautiful Stalis beach is about a 15 minute walk down the hill, and restaurants and bars are about 10 minutes away. Be aware however, that the walk at night is on a dark and empty back road, and I really would not recommend females walking on their own. We were repeatedly harassed by a pair of teenagers on a moped one night on our way to a restaurant.
Thankfully this was outside of the 18-30 season, as we quickly saw that the main town of Malia is everything we hate. Full of tacky bars with English names, serving British food and playing loud Europop. However, and this is the sole reason we still decided to give Malia a go, the old original village is really lovely! Narrow streets, traditional Greek houses and several excellent local restaurants. One highlight for us was a late night in Gianni's Bar, a great little traditional bar with so much charm you never want to leave. In addition to a good selection of drinks and very generous measures, he also has a seemingly endless supply of free raki to accompany whatever you buy.
The only negative thing about the old town was the bloody mopeds that are absolutely everywhere in Malia. You really have to be careful, as there don't seem to be any traffic rules or restrictions at all.
I'd gladly recommend the Villa Mare Monte, but as mentioned, you must be prepared for a fair bit of walking, or to spend money on taxis, which we were told were about 7 Euros from Malia to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Just got back from a fab week at Mare Monte, staff extremely friendly and helpful as well as other guests being very nice! (massive thanks to our friends who helped us with our mosquito bites and saving us from the (lack of) Crete buses) Room was basic but clean and the pool/ grounds were lovely and well kept. Breakfast was very nice, fresh bread, ham, feta, melon, grapes,,, everything! Including a very friendly Sharon & Mandy & Koula & Oulga and others :) meals and snacks were good too, enjoyed ourselves at the hotel BBQ, which was very good food and value for money. Old Malia was good, Petrionos, San Georgios and Zorbas (for Pizza) were all good restaurants. Overall had a fab time and caught a few rays so leaving very happy! Pefect for families or couples, however not for Inbetweeners style Maila!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Wonderful relaxing atmosphere in a lovely setting amongst birds and trees, we were also visited every night by a couple of badgers. The management is excellent and so friendly we felt like we were at home, fabulous choice for people that want a really chilled out experience near to fabulous beaches and night life if wanted.

Room Tip: Sea view is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Where do I start...Don't be disheartened when your transfer drops other tourists off at posh looking, neon fronted, marbled reception halled hotels, boasting 5 star luxury and accommodation because where you are about to stay far exceeds any of these for comfort, tranquillity, style and the personal touch.

Villa Mare Monte is for me me one of the best places you could hope to stay when Visiting Crete, around the region of Malia. Nestled in amongst the foot of beautiful mountains with panoramic views of the Crystalline blue Aegean Sea these apartments are spacious, comfortable and well maintained. Our room (No. 12) had views over the sea from the large and private balcony to the rear, and our entrance opened up to a lovely mature Cypress pine standing Majestically amidst a beautifully manicured lawn.

The pool was fantastically clean and of ample size and close proximity to the bar (always essential), with cool music played at a suitable volume to float along too. There is a small crazy golf course and pool table to pass away some idle time if the sun becomes too much and the bar area is shaded also, providing suitable refreshment and traditional Cretan cuisine, expertly produced by Olga (the Slouvaki Pita is highly recommended). The Wi-Fi is also free for those who need it.

The location will require you to put some effort in as regards walking up and down hills, to and from the beaches, bars, restaurants and supermarkets but hey there are always taxis, quads, hire cars, buses and push bikes!!! And it doesn't hurt to burn off a little of that gorgeous tzatziki you're about to have.
Situated 10 mins from Old malia with it's traditional bars and restaurants (Petrino's is a must), you can be assured not to hear the noise and craziness of the 'strip' in Malia resort, which caters for the club 18-30's. Easily reached if you want the madness and mayhem but don't be fooled by the 5 vodkas + 5 Rakis' for a Euro, it'll strip the varnish off your yacht let alone your stomach lining!!

There is a good array of beaches, souvenir shops and organised trips to take advantage of, Potomas beach is probably the best 45 mins walk or 10 mins on a bus (€1.60 single). Sharon your Lady of the Valleys will help with any trips you may want to go on, whilst you enjoy your breakfast. There's plenty of local history and culture tours to enjoy, as well as shopping and boat trips (the BBQ Cruise is great).

As mentioned above for my wife and I it was the personal touch that helped make our holiday as close to perfect as possible. From the minute we arrived and where greeted we couldn't have been more looked after. Koula the owner is exceptionally friendly and gracious, she made sure any problems we had where dealt with and even extended our check out time 'on the house', which was a huge help. Thanks again Koula!!! & Georgious too.
Sharon made our mornings and our trips special with her lively, welcoming enthusiasm and knowledge of the surrounding areas, serving us breakfast with a smile and sparkle in her eye.
'Mandy Oh Mandy' (you could make a song out of that!!) Thankyou especially for looking after our liquid requirements :), providing good advice, intellectual conversation and a keen wit, offering a 'good ear' to our ramblings at ungodly hours when all you wanted to do is go home to your dogs!! Oh and lots of Raki too.

Visiting in September meant that we not only had the wonderful temperatures of 30+ degrees but we often had the pool to ourselves. What we found rare though was the few wonderful couples we did share the pool & bar with, and with whom we hope to stay in touch. Prash & Bejal, Mike & Anne, Jill, Ken & Geoff! It was a pleasure to get to know you all, thanks for the laughs and chats and hikes up the hillsides, not to mention the incites into the area from Jill, Ken & Geoff who have been visiting for the last 25 years (that tells you something about the place).

To sum it up please please go and stay here as often and as long as you can afford to...it will suit any with taste for rest and relaxation, good company and positive outlook on life. Families and couples, youngsters and the wiser generation!!

Go Book now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 12 has a great bed and lovely views - Room 18 you'll have to book before Jill, Ken & Ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Villa Mare Monte has been set in a wonderful location between the sea & the mountains (as the name of the Villa suggests) providing superb scenic views! With a warm welcome from the owners, Koula & George, to the friendly management team of Sharon, Mandy & Olga, they will ensure you have a thoroughly great holiday throughout your stay. The apartments are clean & comfortable. The gardens & pool area is brilliantly maintained - the best pool side we've been to! The nearest restaurants are located in Old Town Malia which are only a 10 minute walk away providing good local cuisine & entertainment. Villa Mare Monte is ideal for those who want to be away from the chaotic, noisy crowd of new town Malia. For relaxation, friendly atmosphere, beautiful views to wake up to & good accommodation...Villa Mare Monte ticks all these boxes.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Spent two amazing weeks relaxing at the Villa Mare Monte in Malia. The whole accommodation is spotlessly clean and the staff are extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and always have time for a chat. Rooms are well decorated and spacious, internet access is available. The food served here is of good quality and value. We were aware of previous TripAdvisor recommendations for Koula's BBQ but she also held a Meze evening and on another evening served Keftiko all of which were fabulous and not to be missed. The location of the Mare Monte allows for easy access to Malia Old town and Stallis, both a 10/15 minute walk away and the frequent bus service to either Ag Nic or Iraklion is at the bottom of the road. I cant remember the last holiday I had that after 2 weeks I wasn't ready to go home, but I really didn't want to leave the Mare Monte, felt so chilled when I did return home that a week later I still feel in holiday mode, lol. Don't book the Villa Mare Monte if you want loud music, lots of action, drunks, screaming kids etc. If you want a relaxing time with good company, plenty of laughs,a great location for exploring with lots on your doorstep if you want it and peace and quiet if you don't then this is the place for you! ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT AND WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND. Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful holiday your hard work is very much appreciated xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: stayed in room 17 a 1 bed apt with sea view, ground floor with patio and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Mare Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mare Monte

Address: Kondylaki 2, Malia, Crete 70007 , Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Specialty lodging in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Mare Monte 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Villa Mare Monte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mare Monte Hotel Malia
Villa Mare Monte Malia, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Mare Monte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.