We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a party holiday with your mates” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yiannis Manos Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yiannis Manos Apartments
Save
You added Yiannis Manos Apartments to your Saves list
Malia, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Malia
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for a party holiday with your mates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

I visited the Yiannis Manos in July of this year (2013) with a large group of friends, my stay couldn't have been more pleasant. The staff were friendly and very helpful and made you feel very welcome. The rooms are average and cleaned regularly and our balcony overlooking the pool was lovely. Yiannis Manos really gets you in the party spirit and has regular events on such as a Thursday pool party which is free of charge, a BBQ party and 2 for 1 drinks every evening. The only downside to the Yiannis Manos is that it is quite a walk to the strip which can be annoying when you are eager to get out, however when you are on your way home after a night out the 10 minute walk feels like nothing and you are pleased that your hotel is away from the hustle and bustle on the strip like other hotels that are closer to the strip. Good and drink at the hotel are fairly cheap and the food is genuinely very good, we had breakfast every morning, I would definatley recommend the full English! They have a big menu full of lots of different things so you could easily have breakfast lunch at dinner here if you didn't want to travel to restaurants etc. Security at the Yiannis Manos is very strict, the main Security man George is very scary and will not let you bring anyone back to the hotel without paying for their stay. The yiannis manos has 2 lovely pools, 2 bars, lots of sunbeds and a big seating area. Overall I would definatley recommend staying here if your looking for a fun, friendly atmosphere whilst on a girls/lads holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    41
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
21
39
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Loved every minute staying here, in a quiet enough area during the daytime that you can recover and chill out. Drinks are awesome including their 4 pint tower which is ice cool and ideal for the daytime. The pool party here was actually better than the ones you'll find travel company reps trying to sell you. The staff are all friendly, I forgot to pay for my food most days but every time I remembered they found it amusing when I did pay. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good holiday surrounded by great people, its about a 10 minute walk from the strip but that goes in no time after a few drinks

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed at Yiannis Manos for a girls holiday for two weeks and had such an amazing time. The staff were extremely friendly and were there to meet our every need. The hotel and rooms were spotless, comfortable rooms with loads of space. The bar prices were very reasonable and the food was incredible, especially the BBQ that coupled with the extensive selection of drinks on offer and stunning pool we were living the high life! We ended up eating at the hotel restaurant nearly every night as the food was so good. I had heard about the Yiannis Manos pool parties, as they have gained a legendary status throughout Malia, they certainly lived up to there name....best pool party EVER! Can't wait to visit again, planning on booking again for next year. Anyone looking to book a hotel within Malia should look no further than Yiannis Manos Apartments!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocklington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Me and the lads came here for our summer holiday this year, and this place made our holiday. We were on the coach from the airport, hoping our hotel was none of the run down/in the middle of no-where ones that people were getting off at. (Cliché, i know!) But the quality was better than we were expectingand were very impressed with the presentation of the place. Also the staff are AMAZING! THey are very interactive and engaging, even came out a couple of times with us! The onsite restaurant and bar are awesome too, hosting events and such, with a very good standard of food, at competitive prices. I didn't see a better set of appartments in Malia whilst there! From the LADs from near York. Will, Sean, Jordan, Jake, Karl and Semiiii!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

First of all, besides the grounds and accommodation quality, the service in this hotel is second to none. We we're greeted by all the hotel staff and nothing was ever too much trouble.
The room was very clean and comfortable with everything we needed, not to mention the lovely view with the mountains one side and the sea the other. The facilities in this hotel are excellent in my opinion, the pool is massive with a trendy little pool bar at the other end of it.
Yiannis Manos is renowned in Malia for throwing THE BEST pool parties on a thursday, and it didn't disappoint. Cheap drink deals, malia's best DJ's performing & 30 degree sunshine.. what more could you want!
Finally i have to comment on the food in this hotel. By far the best Lamb Kleftiko i have ever had!
I would recommend you look no further and book this hotel for your holiday, i guarantee you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: A room with an outward facing balcony will probably give you the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

i went to yiannis manos about 3 months ago and what a holiday it was appart from being left on my own as some of my friends was idiots! but the staff was very friendly and helpful, i wouldn't advise getting a quad bike out off the strip as they rip you off but apart from that it was a top holiday,the food was delicious from my old friend chef ;) rooms cleaned regularly, it was close to the strip.close to the beach the 2 pools in the hotel,they was smart and the pool party was wiked dj varski was the don! :D i would like to thank all the staff and security for putting up with us! but i would highly reccomend going there what a holiday it was its very eventful and probably the best hotel in malia great company.met some really nice people.once again thow id like to thank everyone for putting up with us thanks ps go on the boat trip! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were somewhat worried when we arrived and were told by Olympic that our hotel had been overbooked and they would be sending us elsewhere... especially when they said Malia. We'd very carefully chose a peaceful hotel in Gouves very close to the beach, with excellent reviews, particularly about the all inclusive food... however, initial impressions were very good. It looked BETTER than the 4 star we'd booked... the room was ok, two rooms with 2 singles in each - bit basic but clean - would have loved a double bed but apparently there are none in the hotel (think this is the case with a lot of Greek hotels though) and the bathroom was somewhat small and very basic - but again, expected for Greece. Another review said that the shower was just a hose attached to the wall. Well... yeah, pretty much, but the pressure was good and there was always hot water - what more do you want?

What really made the hotel though was the amazing staff - Iliana and Steve especially were great. They were so friendly and cheerful, all the time. Just don't play Iliana at Connect 4!! We were lucky too in the fact that Yiannos Manos isn't normally an all inclusive hotel, so we basically were able to choose anything off the ala-carte menu - and the food was great. Some reviews mentioned the receptionist being rude... she just seemed tired to us, she was friendly enough...

We were also lucky that it was the end of season, and being just outside of Malia (Malia Port), very quiet - which is what we wanted. Looking at the pics of the hotel during the season it looks mental - great if you're 'up for it' but we were just a couple (35 & 27) looking to chill, so timed it nicely.

A lot of the reviews complain about the inaccurate statement about it being 7 minutes to the nightlife - I think it actually says 7 mins to the main Malia road - although that still is a bit optimistic. A brisk walk got us to the McDonalds in 13 minutes. There's a few bars before that, say, with 10, 11 minutes walk. The main strip is probably 16 mins walk. It's not exactly far though and all level!

Some other reviews mentioned blood on the floor and trouble etc at night. But that can happen anywhere, especially if young Brits are on holiday 'getting messy'. When we were there it was immaculately clean.

There was wifi in the hotel which you had to pay for, didn't check how much; there were also some PCs for gaming and internet use at the side of the bar. Think it was something like 50 cents for 20 mins.

The beach was about 10 mins walk away, with a beach bar with free wifi, and use of the sunbeds if using the bar/cafe. It was a tad windy when we went (mid-end of Sept) but still quite pleasant; the pool areas were pretty shaded and very pleasant when it was 28 degrees - we had a little bit of sporadic cloud but can't complain.

Not sure about the aircon; believe you had to pay - it was cool enough in the evenings when we went not to bother.

In some reviews lads are complaining about security guards at night and having to pay to bring a 'guest' back - you'll find that's the case in most Greek hotels though, they're just covering themselves against the law/insurance etc.

Not sure what the review talking about one toilet roll was all about! We had plenty... I can only imagine there were drunk lads throwing it about/wasting it or something. Iliana is absolutely sweet but she won't take any nonsense either!

Some other comments were made about quads being everywhere... again, at the time of year we went, it was fine but there were a few and plenty of hire places, so I can imagine it being chaotic in peak season.

So, to summarise: you can have a great peaceful holiday here IF you come outside of peak season. If you're looking for a mad party then come in peak season. If you want a quiet holiday in peak season then I'd stay as far away from Malia as you can!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yiannis Manos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yiannis Manos Apartments

Address: Malia, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Number of rooms: 83
Also Known As:
Yiannos Manos Apartments Hotel Malia
Yiannis Manos Apartments Malia, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yiannis Manos Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.