We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GO HERE, IT'S FAB” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yiannis Manos Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yiannis Manos Apartments
Malia, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 54 Specialty lodging in Malia
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GO HERE, IT'S FAB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Yiannis Manos is by far the best budget hotel in Malia; the staff are really friendly, the two pools are huge and there are more than enough sunbeds for everybody by the pool. We travelled as a group of four 18 year olds, on our first girls holiday, and we were not disappointed with this hotel, AT ALL! The staff are soo friendly, and the food is delicious and cheap too - they basically close the bar when the last person leaves, so if you fancy another drink when you're home from the strip, it is not a problem. There are always people around too - George is a babe, and isn't as scary as everyone makes him out to be, he's actually really chatty and a right laugh once you've had a drink! It's 25 euros to bring somebody back to the hotel, and George is strict on who comes back to Yiannis Manos which is a bit annoying, but other hotels on the strip (which aren't as nice) aren't that bothered with who comes back with who. Before we hit the strip, we always had a drink at the hotel bar (which is right by the pool, so perfect to get cold drinks from when you have a raging hangover the next day haha!), and the drinks are cheap - we always got fishbowls which were amazing - and you could actually taste the alcohol! On the strip, they tend to water everything down, so it's hard to get drunk. The rooms are pretty basic but that is what you have paid for - the beds aren't the comfiest but they're clean and fresh (the towels and sheets are changed every two days) and the equiptment to cook with in the room was easy to use too. The shower floods easily, which is the only downside, but the hotel staff know this, so don't panic if your bathroom ends up underwater! GO TO MALIA, it was such an amazing week, wanna go back sooo badly! We loved Cloud 9, Candy and REFLEX, the 80's bar - you get free shots for doing the most stupid dancing haha! Excursion-wise, we went to Water City and did the Booze Cruise (we travelled with Olympic, who were great). The water park was awesome once you got there, but there was a bit of a journey there (took almost 2 hours) which we weren't told about as the coach goes round almost every other hotel in Crete to pick people up. but it was fine as the coach was air-conditioned. I would TOTALLY recommend the Booze Cruise - it was such a laugh, the reps are hilarious and the games are so funny, get involved with everything you can on it. The rave at the end was really good fun too. OOH AHH MALIA, it's an amazing 18-30's destination, go here, you won't regret it AT ALL!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    36
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
13
33
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
york
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

stayed here at the beginning of july for a week with four of my girlfriends. The apartements are basic but what you would expect for a 3 star. the hotel itself is very clean and tidy. definately one of the better hotels in malia. it has two large pools and plenty of sunbeds around the pool to catch those rays. the food and drink in the hotel bar is lovely as are the staff! :) music plays around the pool during the day and there is a pool party with the djs from malibu club once a a week which was brilliant. we also went on the olympic pool party but would say save your money and just enjoy the party at yiannos manos! :) hotel is safe and secure with security guards on when you return from the strip, george and valentino are lovely and just trying to make sure that everyone is safe! the strip is about ten to fifteen minutes away from the yiannos manos. wouldn't recommend walking back from the strip alone but in a group it was fine was also nice to be able to relax during the day as the hotel is that perfect distance from party central. our favourite bars on the strip were Malibu, candy club and Bananas! had a fantastic holiday here, would defiantely recommend to the 18-30's crowd as the hotel was full of groups of young people looking for a good time! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed here at the end of July for a week with two of my girlfriends. The apartments are basic but fine, with clean sheets and towels changed every couple of days! The bathroom isn't great, not that clean and the shower floods and so do the drains, it just becomes a wet room which you get used too.

They provide you with one toilet roll on arrival so you do have to buy your own. When you walk out of the hotel, when getting to the end of the road, instead of turning right towards the strip, turn right and there is a shop there which sells everything you need. 6 bottles of water are only 3 euros. There is also an amazing Greek restaurant near the shop which I recommend.

The hotel is aimed at 18 - 30 year olds, although some of the groups there looked barely 16. There were a few families there but I really don't think it is a family hotel or resort!! Every week there is a pool party which is awesome. The entertainer Koran is so funny and gets everyone going. Lorraine (scouse lady) who works during the day is lovely. The breakfast and food generally in the hotel is really good and so cheap.

George the security guard is a character, I wouldn't get on the wrong side of him. While there, there weren’t any thefts or rooms broken into and I haven't heard that there has been either. If you want to bring someone back to the hotel good luck, I heard many stories of people trying to sneak someone in and George going ballistic (nothing gets past him). If you do want to, it will cost you 25 euros lol, I'd say that's a form of prostitution :o). Greece is strict as a rule and I'd be careful with how you act out there, have fun but behave to a degree!!

The strip is a 10 minute walk away down a long road; it goes quick when you are with a group. Be careful of quads going hell for leather down the road. All bars out there are good, are favourites were zoo, bananas, Malibu and road house.

We didn't have time to go on excursions so can't comment. The beach is lovely though and I recommend star beach!

I love the holiday and met some amazing people. I am mid-twenties and did find it really young out there but still has a banging holiday and the weather was hot hot hot!!

I'd recommend the Yiannos Manos :o)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

such a good week, i went with a group of 7 girls but we had another group of friends in a different hotel which was soo bad compared to ours. Out of all the hotels i saw while i was out there yiannis manos was 100% the best. There's 2 big pools, one is more chilled and the other one is more lively. There's music playing non stop and a pool party in the middle of the week which is v good. The rep's do try and sell you a bunch of trips like booze cruise and malia splash, but we thought they were very overpriced so didn't go on any and still had an amazing week. Hotel is very safe and secure, we had no worries that anything would get stolen or anything and you can get aircon for your room for 60 euros for 1 week BUT if you have more than 1 room only get aircon for one of the rooms as the remote for it works in more than one room. The walk to the strip is about 7 minutes but it's literally just down 1 road so it seems really short. i wouldn't get quad bikes because they don't tell you when you get them that insurance is 200 euro. But we just got lifts on other peoples quad bikes. The beach is very nicee and about the same distance from the hotel as the strip and has loadsa water sports etc which are well priced and you can bargain with them to get cheaper. We ate alll of our food at the hotel bar because it was nice and pretty cheap, you can get most meals for 4.50 euro ish and they have a 2 for 6 euro drink deal at night so we tended to pre a bit on our balcony and then go get a few drinks at the bar before walking to the strip. We usually didn't walk to the strip till around 1/2 but some people did go earlier. Rooms are spacious and bathrooms are fine just make sure you put a towel down on the bathroom floor after you've showered because it gets verrrrry wet. each room has different appliances, we only had a stove and fridge but others had microwaves etc. the fridges work well though which is very good for ice cold drinks as it is veeeeery hot in the day. You aren't allowed to take your own food and drink down to the pool so just buy a bottle of water (for 1 euro) by the pool and then fill it up with water from upstairs to save money. We went for a week and most of us took around 300/350 euros which was the perfect amount. I wouldn't get your money on a travel debit card as one of us did that and it costs 2.50 euro each time you get money out which doesn't sound much but adds up if you go every night and sometimes the atm's didn't work so then you're left with no money. in some hotels it's probably a good idea but at yiannis manos it's very safe so i wouldn't worry. we liked zoo bar, banana and apollo the best but the best places i think depend on when you go/who is there/ what you like but the strip is realllly good in general. if you get ill there's a med centre on the strip so you'll be fine. Personally we didn't have any problems with the greeek children but others did so be careful, they apparently try to mug you. Cleaners bring fresh towels and sheets etc but it's not a 5 star spring clean, but you don't need that, make sure if you have more than one room and take towels etc into each others rooms that you bring them back or you will get charged. All bar staff were really really nice and friendly. Overall was literally one of the best weeks of my life, an amazing holiday and if i was to go again i would 100% choose the same hotel. it's definitely the best hotel out there, unless you're looking for a quiet chilled family holiday and early nights - in which case i don't think you'd be satisfied with anywhere in malia. If you're looking for a fun amazing weeek with your girls/lads then i definitely recommend it :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

What a great hotel to stay at, looking at other hotels by the strip made us all pleased we'd chosen to stay at Yiannos Manos.

Entertainment was very good, had a pool party while with live DJs from a nearby club.

Before coming I had read bad reviews about George the security guy, don't let this worry you at all. He is a really sound guy, and its nice to know that nothings going to kick off in the hotel or get belongings stolen.

Food was pretty good and the bar staff were very friendly and helpful.

It was a fantastic holiday and would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Malia. However, I can't stress this enough - Malia is not for families or children!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Couldn't of asked or found a better hotel in malia. All the staff are lovely, but make sure you dont get on the wrong side of the greeks they can be scary. I went with a group of 16 girls and we were all happy with our rooms which fitted 4, they were very spacious had a large balcony and two of the rooms had two balconys. The dj/entertainer Corin is the funniest man alive and gets everyone in a good mood before they head to the strip. The hotel bar has good deal on all cocktails 2 for 6 euros between 9pm - 1 am. The food in the hotel is also really good and cheap. The walk to the strip is about 5-10 mins, which sounds long, but when your drunk and with a group of people it seems about 1 minute long. I would definatley recommend Yiannis Manos for young people who are going to malia for a lively holiday. I had the best week of my life

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

what a lovely hotel couldn't fault it a short walk into the nightlife but far enough to get some sleep absolutely ideal

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yiannis Manos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yiannis Manos Apartments

Address: Malia, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 Specialty lodging in Malia
Also Known As:
Yiannos Manos Apartments Hotel Malia
Yiannis Manos Apartments Malia, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yiannis Manos Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Yiannis Manos Apartments to your Saves list