We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent holiday destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Heights Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Heights Resort to your Saves list
Royal Heights Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pezoula, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 96 Hotels in Malia
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An excellent holiday destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We spent 12 days half board at Royal Heights: the apartment was large enough for the 2 adults and 2 teens (who shared the sofa-bed) in our party. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Evenings included drinks sitting over the pool in the coastal breeze watching sunsets over the hills and excellent meals. We wanted to eat out occasionally, and the Maitre D' switched our half-board to lunchtime on those days.

Only drawback for us was the open pool policy, which meant noisy Brits coming up from the Malia Strip: bad language and football games disrupting the peaceful ambiance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    33
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
47
103
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have spent three nights during August 13. The hotel is highly recommended if you have proper transport (car rental). spacious and very well maintained rooms and amenities. great for kids as well. The staff (especially George, Evelina and Tula) is the friendliest we've encountered in a long time. Michael.

Room Tip: for view of the pool and ocean the second floor is imparative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our third visit in four years, staying in the presidential villa (they all look the same to me but its the one at the furthest end of the resort).

Some concerns before we arrived that standards may have slipped, due to a) the crisis/possible financial cutbacks and b) Julia has left. All such concerns were unwarranted as everything is as well maintained, if not better, than ever (with one exception):

Housekeeping: comprehensive, every day and always done between 9.30 and 14.00
Bed linen changed: daily
Hand towels changed: daily
Bath towels changed: daily
Pool towels changed: daily
Pool cleaned: daily except Sunday
Garden tidied and lawn watered: daily except Sunday

The bar/restaurant is as charming as ever and the A la carte menu provides very good food at a reasonable price. All the bar/restaurant staff are terrific and deserve special praise for making our holiday one to remember.

On the plus side there now seems a policy in place to keep the Malia riff-raff to one side of the communal pool area and resident guests to the other. I still feel allowing these people in does RHR no favours at all and it again meant we did not use the big pool.

I would not hesitate to recommend RHR to people who want to stay somewhere smart. comfortable and quiet, where the privacy of your own villa/pool is worth paying extra for. However, somewhat grudgingly, I am not giving all five stars on this review because throughout our entire ten day stay there was no Wi-Fi at all in the villa and in fact no connectivity at all on the entire site except at the bar. This was a major hassle for work requirements and also meant any chance to sit out of the sun indoors and use ipads etc was impossible.

It finally came on around 1am on our last day (we set off for the airport at 8am) and when I mentioned it on checking out I didn't even get an apology. We had been lucky enough to bump into Julia during our stay and she had mentioned there had been an upgrade to the wi-fi system in the previous year but whatever they have done, it didn't work at all while we were there, so check it out before you book if this is something you need to have.

Room Tip: villas with pools are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The convenient two story villas spreaded on a high hill looking down on Malia are an excellent location. Great view. Nice breeze in the evenings - no humidity - contrary to our expectations. The villas are very well maintained: everything is proper, new and functioning. Gardens are maintained on a daily basis. Excellent service: the villa is cleaned and tidied up twice a day. Bed linen and towels changed every day. Friendly staff. Respectable breakfast.
Not recommended with children under 3 years old: The stairs in the villa are dangerous, no available baby chairs in the villas (we asked for one but there wasn't a chair to give us), no fence around the private swimming pool - easy access for babies.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We rented 4 standard rooms which are very close to the swimming pool compared to the villas . In my experience a private pool will have you stay in your villa and it would be a pity to miss the wonderful common pool . Contrary to other reviewers we were not bothered at all by the young crowd from Malia who behaved themselves and clustered in the remote part of the property .

The gym also is particularly well equiped as it service outside members . Unfortunately , it does not open before 9am which is inconvenient when one wants to exercise before breakfast which ends at 10h30 . I runned outside but inside the resort following the circonvolutions of the road up to the parking lot , a circuit of 1,3 km which provided good exercise but beware of the sun which is shining merciless even at 8 am .

We also loved the panoramic terrase were drinks are offered at a very reasonnable price (6,5 euros for a mojito or any cocktail or 5 for a virgin mojitos for the kids ).
The food was a disapointment after reading all the good reviews , we were HB and had to choose an appetiser, salad and main course from a special menu (extract from the main menu). We did not enjoyed the food at all compared to all the tavernas we had eaten in after and before. Dessert was extra as was fresh orange juice and hot chocolate at breakfast . Breakfast was average , avoid the croissant and egg station (overcooked despite all my requests) .
There was a cretan night which resulted in a poor level of service , the staff being overworked and the dancers were really annoying, carrying on until 11pm and insisting on constant aplause and participation in the dances . asking is ok, insisting is not

The service was excellent everywhere but especially at the bar (pool and panoramic) where the staff bent over backward to accomadate our requests. Merci Kostas
We booked from Sunday to thurday and thus avoided the weddings that a lot of reveiwers complained about . Reception told me that on the previous week they had weddings on Thursday, Friday and Saturday .

It is true that Malia is a wild town but one has only to turn one’s back to the sea and drive 5 km toward the lassithi plateau to find the authentic Crete. For the beaches , the main one is overcrowded but tehre is a quiet one close to the ruins . Reception will provide a helpful map . This part of Crete is not windy or much less than the South and East.

There is a laundrette on the main street close to the church with the hotel sign
To reach the hotel , turn towards Malia when you see the sign on the new road . Drive until you enter the city proper until you come across the big church , there is a sign on the side street that will lead you to the hotel

All of our party of 9 adults and teenagers are planning to return next year

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Villas hotel, exclusive and expensive.
The place for families, spacious villas. Great private pools.
Excellent and friendly service.
If you go rent a car, location 2 km from sea front and 1 km from Malia.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed in a villa with a big private pool. The Villa was magnificent, equipped with everything we needed and beyond. It was ver clean and looked as new. The view from the garden was amazing - like from an airplane height, the streets of Malia and the ocean. Breakfast was delicious with great variety of local and international food. The service was very warm, friendly and efficient. The gym and spa are very nicely equipped and maintained. In short - highly recommended hotel. I hate to ruin the perfect impression but have to be honest, the only issue was with the Internet it didn't work for most of the time we were there but still it didn't change our mind of the great vacation this place offers.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Heights Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Heights Resort

Address: Pezoula, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Malia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malia
#2 Family Hotel in Malia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Heights Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Heights Resort is situated in Malia area-Pezoula on an amazing privately-owned hill consisting of 60 acres of land with breathtaking views of the beautiful Cretan Sea. Located just 2 minutes away by car from the amazing beaches of Malia and just a 20 minute drive from the international airport ‘Nikos Kazantzakis’ in Heraklion and five minutes from the golf of Herisonnisos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Heights Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Heights Hotel Malia
Royal Heights Resort Malia, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Heights Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.